Customer Reviews for

The Fault in Our Stars (B&N Exclusive Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 5835 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4808)

4 Star

(521)

3 Star

(217)

2 Star

(96)

1 Star

(193)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

561 out of 644 people found this review helpful.

A Fantastic Book and Green's Best.

Let's face it: Cancer is a popular topic among the literary world, both in fiction and non-fiction. For years, authors have penned the tumultuous lives of those affected by cancer, as well as the lives of those who know people with cancer. I have been following Green's ...
Let's face it: Cancer is a popular topic among the literary world, both in fiction and non-fiction. For years, authors have penned the tumultuous lives of those affected by cancer, as well as the lives of those who know people with cancer. I have been following Green's work for several years now, and I have been consistently impressed with the work he has done. However, his previous novels have always fallen short of excellence, something that has changed with the Young Adult author's newest outing. The Fault in Our Stars is wonderful. Plain and simple. Too often "cancer books" are downtrodden with overemotional drama that saturates the reading experience with misery. Fortunately, this book changes that. The tone of the book is primarily humorous, as is Green's specialty, and does not dwell excessively on drama. That does not mean, however, that the severity of the characters' situation is ignored. Rather, the cancer is more of a supporting character, always hovering around our narrator, but never entirely interfering with the flow of the story. The cancer simply exists, and while it makes itself known, it does not do so loudly. This offers a nice change of pace for those accustomed to the achingly detailed books about cancer and hospice they might have read in the past. Most importantly, the characters are not the wise and all-knowing cancer kids that is common in many stories of young people suffering with the disease. They offer their perspective, but they are scarcely blatant about it. Hazel, our narrator, offers often amusing observations about the world she lives in as well as the situation she has found herself in, but she is not and does not claim to be an all-knowing book of infinite knowledge. The same is to be said about Gus, our heroic best friend. While the story lacks extravagance, that doesn't stop it from becoming one of the best novels I've read in recent memory. It is a stubborn little book, and will not be easily forgotten like so many other books lining the bookshelves of the present. The prose is quiet and minimal, while still retaining a sort of muted beauty. The dialogue is sharp and witty. The characters are well-drawn out, and you might even find yourself wanting to hug the venerable (and fictional) author Peter Van Houten by the end of the book. In conclusion: Whether you have enjoyed Green's previous works or are familiar with his on-going YouTube phenomenon, you will certainly enjoy The Fault in Our Stars. It's a fantastic book filled with fantastic characters, and is written by a fantastic author. This is destined to be one of the best books of the year, and should not be missed.

posted by Shaun_Rice on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

Good but not great

I am truly puzzled by the consistent 5 star ratings on this book. Perhaps I am not familiar with Green's writing, but I found it both difficult and annoying to read such unintelligible dialogue, such as the obnoxious overusage of the word 'whatever,' mixed with the pola...
I am truly puzzled by the consistent 5 star ratings on this book. Perhaps I am not familiar with Green's writing, but I found it both difficult and annoying to read such unintelligible dialogue, such as the obnoxious overusage of the word 'whatever,' mixed with the polar-opposite of far too advanced vocabulary of his 16 and 17 year old characters. I kept revisiting with the feeling that they were walking and talking dictionaries who would sometimes relapse into a state of stupor. It is this factor that made this book honestly hard for me to read. However, putting that aside, the book did have some amazing and epiphanous moments.

posted by 10928927 on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5837 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 292
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    A Fantastic Book and Green's Best.

    Let's face it: Cancer is a popular topic among the literary world, both in fiction and non-fiction. For years, authors have penned the tumultuous lives of those affected by cancer, as well as the lives of those who know people with cancer. I have been following Green's work for several years now, and I have been consistently impressed with the work he has done. However, his previous novels have always fallen short of excellence, something that has changed with the Young Adult author's newest outing. The Fault in Our Stars is wonderful. Plain and simple. Too often "cancer books" are downtrodden with overemotional drama that saturates the reading experience with misery. Fortunately, this book changes that. The tone of the book is primarily humorous, as is Green's specialty, and does not dwell excessively on drama. That does not mean, however, that the severity of the characters' situation is ignored. Rather, the cancer is more of a supporting character, always hovering around our narrator, but never entirely interfering with the flow of the story. The cancer simply exists, and while it makes itself known, it does not do so loudly. This offers a nice change of pace for those accustomed to the achingly detailed books about cancer and hospice they might have read in the past. Most importantly, the characters are not the wise and all-knowing cancer kids that is common in many stories of young people suffering with the disease. They offer their perspective, but they are scarcely blatant about it. Hazel, our narrator, offers often amusing observations about the world she lives in as well as the situation she has found herself in, but she is not and does not claim to be an all-knowing book of infinite knowledge. The same is to be said about Gus, our heroic best friend. While the story lacks extravagance, that doesn't stop it from becoming one of the best novels I've read in recent memory. It is a stubborn little book, and will not be easily forgotten like so many other books lining the bookshelves of the present. The prose is quiet and minimal, while still retaining a sort of muted beauty. The dialogue is sharp and witty. The characters are well-drawn out, and you might even find yourself wanting to hug the venerable (and fictional) author Peter Van Houten by the end of the book. In conclusion: Whether you have enjoyed Green's previous works or are familiar with his on-going YouTube phenomenon, you will certainly enjoy The Fault in Our Stars. It's a fantastic book filled with fantastic characters, and is written by a fantastic author. This is destined to be one of the best books of the year, and should not be missed.

    561 out of 644 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I am still crying!

    This book is not only for the young set. There is great benefit to all who read this. It’s not only about two teens battling cancer; it’s about a lesson to all of us to live our lives every day, every minute. We should be thankful for this time especially if we are lucky enough to find love and be capable of giving. This story is beautiful, funny, heartbreaking and poignant. Gus and Hazel made me laugh, cry, laugh all over again, and cry yet again. I’m still crying!

    308 out of 336 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    I prolonged reading this one. I knew it was going to be good - n

    I prolonged reading this one. I knew it was going to be good - not only because of the rave reviews I'd been hearing, but also because the subject matter was a tough one to tackle. And yet, I let it sit in my TBR pile for three months, while I stalled and read other books.

    cancer touches many lives, and everyone deals with it differently. cancer touched my life in June of 2006, when my mom was diagnosed with late-stage hepatocellular carcinoma (cancer of the liver). It was predicted she'd have anywhere between four to six months, and that was with all the surgeries, chemo, and whatever else they could throw her way. Proving the doctors wrong and opting out of all Western medicines and treatments, she gave us four wonderful years.

    In exactly two weeks from today, it will have been two years since my mom passed away. And maybe it's the timing, that caused me to finally pick up THE FAULT IN OUR STARS and start reading the first page of a book, I secretly think I'd been dreading to read all-together.

    But what I found amongst those pages, was an exceptional story - and while beautifully written, it was tremendously bittersweet. Anyone who has had even a glimpse into this devastating disease, can completely relate to how raw and heartbreaking this journey truly was.

    The relationship between Hazel and Augustus from start to finish, was nothing short of believable - full of emotion, yet flavored throughout with well-timed humor, as the two made their way through such unfortunate circumstances. Neither of them gave credit to their cancer - it simply was what it was, and they both dealt with the hand they were given, in the best way they knew how.

    You may have noticed (or not?) that I didn't capitalize the c in the word cancer, anywhere above - and that's because I don't believe it deserves that kind of credit or attention. One day we'll figure out how this horrible disease takes over the human body, metastasizes throughout, and ultimately, takes the ones we love. And we'll stop it. Until then, it's exceptional books like THE FAULT IN OUR STARS that makes you realize, it doesn't matter who you are or what your age is, in the end, cancer affects us all.

    John Green is a master at story-telling; a true artist in the way he delivered a journey that could have gone in a non-favorable direction, all too easily. A FAULT IN OUR STARS was an excellent read and a favorite YA contemporary for me - this is one I highly recommend to everyone.

    234 out of 264 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    YES.

    Dear John Green,
    Thank you so much for writing another book.
    This will be amazing.
    DFTBA.
    Sorry this is not an "actual" review.
    ....
    :D

    173 out of 480 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    my favorite book ever-- by far.

    i just finished this book. it was beautiful, amazing, wonderful, laugh-out-loud hilarious, sobbing-into-a-pillow sad, and just passed harry potter as my favorite book of all time. throughout the whole book i had this aching in my gut like i was being punched repeatedly. there were times that i was crying from laughter, and there were times i was sobbing from sadness. this was john green's best book by far and will be read and analyzed in english classes for years to come. DFTBA.

    171 out of 191 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Long Live The King of Nerdfighteria

    John, I love you. And that sounds very cliche and fangirlish, so I apologize. It's been amazing being a part of the insanity and brilliance that is Nerdfighteria, and as a bibliophile and lover of all things involving paper and ink, I so look forward to this book. Counting the days, John, counting the days... For now, DFTBA. Keep writing and inspiring us all, as well as making us laugh. :) You rock, John! -Erin, the hopeless nerdfighter.

    85 out of 143 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    TFIOS is my absolute favorite book, ever, and I am going to TR

    TFIOS is my absolute favorite book, ever, and I am going to TRY and explain why.
    A few months ago, I saved up money from Christmas and my birthday to buy books. Lots and lots of books, for me to read on my nook, that i also saved up for. The number 1 item on that list was TFIOS, only because I love the Vlogbrothers, not because I thought this was going to be some life-changing, epic read.
    So, i bought the book and my new nook. That day, i read the Lorien Legacies Series and finished The Hunger Games on the next. I saved TFIOS for a very unassuming Tuesday, a week or so after my raid of Barnes and Noble.
    Since 2nd grade, I have always wanted to become and author. I wrote stories on these little booklets i made of paper, and my friend colored them in. However, being in 8th grade, people you meet have a habit of asking the same annoying question: What do you want to be when you grow up? People said authors didn't make any money, its a hard field, whatever. Anyways, I definitely started thinking that I would have to find a new aspiration. But then, I read The Fault In Our Stars. That Tuesday, I had Glee Club practice until 5, and I had dinner at my neighbors home, once you factor in homework, i was not free until 8:30 or so. My neighbor was still over, drawing pictures of a character in my own stories, when i finally picked IT up. Needless to say, IT was amazing, and I kicked my neighbor out ( sorry Tulsi!). That was when i read TFIOS. I cried. I laughed. I called my mom at nearly two in the morning, admits crazy tears, to tell her that i loved her. The next day, I fell asleep in class, and I dreamed of my heavenly boyfriend of TFIOS, Augustus Waters. I couldn't explain to my friends why the book was so amazing. It simply wasn't enough to call it the best YA novel i'd ever read. TFIOS was beautiful. I wanted everyone to know how beautiful it was. But, I didn't want anyone to read it. I felt like my friends wouldn't GET it. I felt like it was mine. All of my, very un-literary, friends decided that they too would read TFIOS. i cringed inside. NOOOO! This book was too beautiful for them to butcher and not understand. I felt like my friends, as wonderful as they are, would not understand the complexity in the book. Like they would not understand it, and that they would read it but not see the value of every word. It is one of those books where i feel like, either everyone needs to cry over it because they are mature and smart enough to get it, or no one should read it at all, besides me of course! Anyways, I can't explain enough how wonderful this book really is. You should most definitely read it if you haven't, and please understand how meaningful and beautiful it really is, or else don't read it at all, because then i will shudder inside to think that you didn't appreciate it.
    Hazel of my head, I just want you to know that I too would have been driven nuts wondering where the poor hamster went.

    82 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Brilliant!

    I swear, if John Green were currently 16 I would confess eternal love to him. However, in the mindset of not appearing stalker-esque, I will simply state that he brilliantly captures the wittiness of life embodied through well-developed (and perhaps overestimatedly brillant) characters. It was truly a work of art. DFTBA! :)

    68 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Another Success!

    As a middle school teacher, 8th grade, I am always reading and searching for outstanding YA books to share with my students. The way Mr. Green writes is so enthralling that you are hooked after the 1st sentence. I love that his books appeal to boys and girls alike.

    The Fault in Our Stars is yet another outstanding read. Once i started I couldn't stop and read it from cover to cover in one sitting! Believe me, you will do the same!

    Thank you Mr. Green for another story I can recommend and share with my students!!

    55 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    OH MY GOD.

    Its JOHN GREEN. I MUST HAVE IT.
    If you haven't read any of John Greens books, heres all you have to know:
    THEY ARE AWESOME.
    John Green is more commonly know as one of the two 'vlogbrothers' from youtube. If you want further reason to buy this, go check out their channel.
    I have yet to find a book of his that I haven't thoroughly enjoyed. An Abundance of Katherines, Looking for Alaska, and Paper Towns... They all were just so well written and made you never want to stop reading.
    The first book of his you should read? Paper Towns or Looking for Alaska.
    The second book? Paper Towns or Looking for Alaska.
    The third book? An Abundance of Katherines.
    The fourth book? THIS ONE.
    Why is this one the fourth one?
    IT HASN'T BEEN RELEASED YET. You should be reading all the other ones while you wait for this one to come out.
    I can see it now... Pure genius.

    48 out of 83 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Pure heart-sagging awesomeness!

    This is coming from a guy: I have never realized I was still able to cry like a 2-year-old. Hence, this book is insanely good. So do read this.

    41 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    One of the best books of my life.

    Ever since I first started watching vlogbrothers videos, I was completely enamored by John Green. I read all his previous books and absolutely loved them! I borrowed my sister's copy of TFiOS once she was done and I could not put it down. I literally did nothing but read. It took me about 6 hours to read. I have never cried so hard in my life, and despite its downs, this book has an equal part of ups. I can't think of a book more appropriate to recommend, to anyone. This is a seriously perfect book and there was not fault in this star. :)

    DFTBA.

    39 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    DFTBA!!!

    Dear John (haha, punny)
    I am VERY excited to get your new book! I'm pre ordering NOW *clicks button* so I can get my signed copy.
    DFTBA!
    ~A loving NerdFighter

    29 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Touching

    Five years ago i was lonely. I met my best fiend "ben". Ben helped me get through the horror of fourth grade. In the beginning of fifth grade, Ben was diagnosed with stage four lung cancer. I was heartbroken. Every day I would bring him homework and we would talk and talk. Two months after his diagnosis Ben died in his sleep. I was lost. I cried for days and days. My parents didnt know what to do with me. His funeral was probably the hardest thing i have ever gone through. 5 days after the funeral I got a call from his mother saying he d left me a note. It simply said I Love You. This struck me as an amazing emotiin from a ten year old boy.

    Thank you, Mr. Green for bringing Ben back to life for me. This is truly the story ofsomeone who died too young.

    28 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Good but not great

    I am truly puzzled by the consistent 5 star ratings on this book. Perhaps I am not familiar with Green's writing, but I found it both difficult and annoying to read such unintelligible dialogue, such as the obnoxious overusage of the word 'whatever,' mixed with the polar-opposite of far too advanced vocabulary of his 16 and 17 year old characters. I kept revisiting with the feeling that they were walking and talking dictionaries who would sometimes relapse into a state of stupor. It is this factor that made this book honestly hard for me to read. However, putting that aside, the book did have some amazing and epiphanous moments.

    27 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Super Excited

    DFTBA

    24 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Anomonyous

    This book is terrible...
    JK haha i absolutley loved this book! Its about a girl with cancer, whomm wants nothing to do with her doomed life. Only obssesing over a book. But in an unexpected turn, she meets a cute guy ( sorry i cant say any more!) This book takes you on the emotional roller-coaster of a teenage girl with cancer. So if you do decide to get it. Buckle up and make sure you have plenty of time on your hands because you wont be able to put it down! I read the whole thing in 3 days then cried because i didnt want the book to be over! But seriously if you read this whole comment- your thinking too much. Get the book, you'll love it!

    PS I love you Jhon Green your book is absolutley amazing, thank you so much for following your dream and writing this because i defitinly needed this book ( i was running out of good books to read!) And i would really rate your book stars 7
    Thx!

    18 out of 100 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Exquisite Heartbreaker!

    Exquisite Heartbreaker! Beautiful, sad, loving, perposeful....Just right!

    18 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Veering from the stereotypical reaction

    My dearest apologies to all of you John Green fans. I am not a serial hater, this is new to me. All I have to say (if one would be kind enough to listen open-mindedly) is that this book was, simply, not as great as it is hyped up to be.
    It's about a girl who has cancer and falls in love with a boy who has cancer.
    Interesting premise. Promising ending (clearly one character would die, and also predictable from the moment one says "I want to be with you forever")
    But overall the writing was not outstanding. This book had nothing in it I hadn't read before and in no way blew me away. It actually makes me angry just how much people rave about it.
    Augustus dies.
    We know. Everyone knows. My grandmother knows.
    The details are shady, I feel like I never get a clear view on any of the landscape, and when I do, it's about confetti.
    CONFETTI.
    And no, writing dialogue like this:
    mom: even though you read one book repeatedly and have no high school education, you're still surprisingly extremely well spoken for a teenager.
    me: thanks mom, I am elated that you think my average way of speaking is exceptional.
    ...is NOT creative and witty. It's frustrating. It's not your signature, John Green. It's irritating.
    I guess I'm just mostly surprised at how many people are falling into the ever swirling pit of "I <3 TFIOS" instead of waking up and realizing how utterly predictable and poorly planned this book was. I hate to sound terrible here, but wouldn't the book have been "more" heart breaking if it ended like her favorite book did? In the middle of either her or Augustus's sentence? THAT would have been neat and might have made up for the rest of it. But instead, it ended on sort of a
    "...oh. Well.....that's over I guess"
    note.
    I'm going on a rampage. I need to stop. Thank you for your time and patience. Sorry if I just stabbed a hole in your fandom, but you should be thanking me for not continuing my rant. Maybe someday I might finish what I set out to tell the wor-
    ...
    ^see?

    17 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    can't wait

    I can't wait for the next book to come out. So excited!!!!!!!

    16 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 5837 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 292