Customer Reviews for

The Fault in Our Stars

Average Rating 4.5
( 5704 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4709)

4 Star

(500)

3 Star

(212)

2 Star

(95)

1 Star

(188)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

549 out of 627 people found this review helpful.

A Fantastic Book and Green's Best.

Let's face it: Cancer is a popular topic among the literary world, both in fiction and non-fiction. For years, authors have penned the tumultuous lives of those affected by cancer, as well as the lives of those who know people with cancer. I have been following Green's ...
Let's face it: Cancer is a popular topic among the literary world, both in fiction and non-fiction. For years, authors have penned the tumultuous lives of those affected by cancer, as well as the lives of those who know people with cancer. I have been following Green's work for several years now, and I have been consistently impressed with the work he has done. However, his previous novels have always fallen short of excellence, something that has changed with the Young Adult author's newest outing. The Fault in Our Stars is wonderful. Plain and simple. Too often "cancer books" are downtrodden with overemotional drama that saturates the reading experience with misery. Fortunately, this book changes that. The tone of the book is primarily humorous, as is Green's specialty, and does not dwell excessively on drama. That does not mean, however, that the severity of the characters' situation is ignored. Rather, the cancer is more of a supporting character, always hovering around our narrator, but never entirely interfering with the flow of the story. The cancer simply exists, and while it makes itself known, it does not do so loudly. This offers a nice change of pace for those accustomed to the achingly detailed books about cancer and hospice they might have read in the past. Most importantly, the characters are not the wise and all-knowing cancer kids that is common in many stories of young people suffering with the disease. They offer their perspective, but they are scarcely blatant about it. Hazel, our narrator, offers often amusing observations about the world she lives in as well as the situation she has found herself in, but she is not and does not claim to be an all-knowing book of infinite knowledge. The same is to be said about Gus, our heroic best friend. While the story lacks extravagance, that doesn't stop it from becoming one of the best novels I've read in recent memory. It is a stubborn little book, and will not be easily forgotten like so many other books lining the bookshelves of the present. The prose is quiet and minimal, while still retaining a sort of muted beauty. The dialogue is sharp and witty. The characters are well-drawn out, and you might even find yourself wanting to hug the venerable (and fictional) author Peter Van Houten by the end of the book. In conclusion: Whether you have enjoyed Green's previous works or are familiar with his on-going YouTube phenomenon, you will certainly enjoy The Fault in Our Stars. It's a fantastic book filled with fantastic characters, and is written by a fantastic author. This is destined to be one of the best books of the year, and should not be missed.

posted by Shaun_Rice on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

Good but not great

I am truly puzzled by the consistent 5 star ratings on this book. Perhaps I am not familiar with Green's writing, but I found it both difficult and annoying to read such unintelligible dialogue, such as the obnoxious overusage of the word 'whatever,' mixed with the pola...
I am truly puzzled by the consistent 5 star ratings on this book. Perhaps I am not familiar with Green's writing, but I found it both difficult and annoying to read such unintelligible dialogue, such as the obnoxious overusage of the word 'whatever,' mixed with the polar-opposite of far too advanced vocabulary of his 16 and 17 year old characters. I kept revisiting with the feeling that they were walking and talking dictionaries who would sometimes relapse into a state of stupor. It is this factor that made this book honestly hard for me to read. However, putting that aside, the book did have some amazing and epiphanous moments.

posted by 10928927 on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 5706 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 286
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    Loved It!

    I read the book cover to cover on the day I got it, and it was amazing! I just couldn't seem to put it down once I started to read it. Congratulations to John Green for writing what will undoubtedly be the best book of 2012! If you want a book that will make you laugh the loudest, smile endlessly, and cry tears of sad happiness, get this one. I think it's safe to say that I now have a favorite book!
    DFTBA

    14 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    john green Continues To impress.

    it Is So great That after amazing Reads like katherines, paper Towns, And (especially To me) Alaska, that John green still has So Much More To write. There Is always Anticipation each Time He announces more amazing stories He has To tell. some authors Write A book And Do really well, But they then Cant live Up To It The Next time. john Green Is unique In That His first books Are remarkably meaningfuland well written, His compilation books With Other authors Are just As great. And Still his newest, the Fault In our Stars, does not fall short. i cannot Wait.

    14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

    Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars May 28, 2013 Title: The Faul

    Book Review: The Fault in Our Stars
    May 28, 2013
    Title: The Fault in Our Stars

    Author: John Green

    Genre: YA fiction

    Review: This brutally honest novel really throws life into perspective.  Hazel, the main character, is a teenage girl with cancer.  
    To her, life is pretty crummy at the moment and her mom is constantly nagging her to get a social life.  Hindered by her oxygen
     tanks and carts (her lungs suck at being lungs), Hazel often loses herself in books in her bedroom to escape reality.  That is,
    until she meets Augustus.

    Augustus is unlike anyone she has ever met.  He understands how she feels, being a cancer survivor himself.  
    He's witty, loves literature and quickly befriends Hazel.  Both Hazel and Augustus are characters you just want to
    connect with (okay, maybe not the whole having-cancer part, but you know what I mean).  Green truly brings his characters to life.  
    You grow fond of them.  You want to talk to them.  You want to meet them.  Okay...getting off track here...back to the review.

    As much as I loved the book, I have to admit that the theme was rather heavy if you think about it.  The fact is, everyone dies.  
    Death  is inevitable.  Also, reality can really hurt the soul too.  Augustus decides to spend his genie Foundation wish-gift on him and
     Hazel.  Thanks to the organization, they are able to travel to Europe and are given the chance to meet the elusive author of
    "An Imperial Affliction", Hazel's favorite book in the world. *****spolier alert*****  It turns out the author wasn't the man
    Hazel had painted him to be--he was just a grumpy, rude person who turned them away from the door.

    Having the book narrated from the point of view of a dying person (Hazel) is really eye-opening to me.  I mean, she doesn't
    treat the whole I'm-dying-at-such-a-young-age thing too seriously.  She uses sarcasm.  Actually, quite a bit of sarcasm and
    irony in her narration.  But there are also several scenes where you see the "serious" side of Hazel.  The part of Hazel
    where it shows that she's only just a teenage girl.  And it's during those scenes you just want to give her a hug simply be there for her.  
    Well, I guess Augustus already has the part taken care of.

    Favorite quotes:  "The world wasn't made for us. We were made for the world"

    Likes:
            *beautiful writing--John Green's eloquence is inimitable 
            *So many life lessons you can learn from this novel
            * a lot of unexpected twist and turns


    Dislikes:
                        ***spoiler alert****
                       * Augustus Waters, why do you have to die????

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    I did NOT like this book. The reactions of characters were incr

    I did NOT like this book. The reactions of characters were incredibly unrealistic. Yes, they did act angrily when they dealt with their illnesses but their reactions were too mellow. I have been around people who have cancer and there is no way all three of the main teens would be that positive and simple-minded. Also, this story is not easy to relate to. Many events were not common even among with children with cancer. It was just unrealistic.

    12 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    John Green is a genius. He's a genius that often does childlike

    John Green is a genius. He's a genius that often does childlike things-
    such as have a noodle fight with his brother, but he's still a genius. I
    got this book the day it came out, and avoided reading it for months
    because I was scared of how sad it would make me. And I did indeed sob
    for a long time reading the last part, but it was so worth it, because I
    left with a better understanding of my own life and what it means to be
    alive. I have since had family struggle with cancer, so I have not
    reread it, because I think it would be too much for me to take, but
    nevertheless, the book holds a special place in my heart. Thank you,
    John. DFTBA.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Brilliant.

    I am an adult and I never read anything by John Green before this book. I am also a nurse. This book was absolutely hilarious and emotionally gripping. I immediately thought "where have I been all this time?" after reading the first 20 pages. The prose is highly appropriate, and blatantly ingenious. Yes, this is a love story about two teens, but it is DEFINITELY a love story for everyone. Two teenagers who lived more than most adults. And I'd completely agree with Green (Augustus), "The marks humans leave are too often scars." Enjoy this read. You won't want to put it down.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    I'm not sure what book the 153 five star reviewers read, but it

    I'm not sure what book the 153 five star reviewers read, but it wasn't the same "The Fault in Our Stars" book I read! I thought this book was horrible! From page one I was disappointed. The characters were unbelievable from their speech patterns to their reactions to real world situations. Hazel was stiff and unbelievable. Agustus could have been a believable character but John Green ruined it by having him use the cigarette metaphor, etc. (Spoiler alert) His reaction in the airport was also totally out of character, as was Hazel's reaction when he admitted his reason for leaving her.

    I felt extremely disappointed while reading this book and have let everyone who will listen not to bother buying or reading this book. If you were wanting to show depth and emotion from the standpoint of two teens dying from cancer, John Green failed miserably. If he wanted to impress people with his use of $50 words (which the average teen or even college age person wouldn't use) then he succeeded ... only mildly. As for the moderator of the support group ... what the he**?? I don't know of any support group with a leader like him! Other than to have a reason/place for the two characters to meet ... I saw no worthwhile contribution of the moderator of the group OR the group itself in helping any character in the book. "Heart of Jesus"?? seriously? John Green needs to review the meaning in any religion as to how to truly use that metaphor in his writing.

    I truly felt that this book could have been written by someone who had no training in writing, nor any experience in death and dying ... especially from a fatal disease. All in All .... VERY DISAPPOINTING ... and if it were possible I'd give it a negative star review! I'm not even tempted to read any of his other books and will be donating (or burning) my copy of The Fault in Our Stars

    9 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Stop revealing the conclusion!!

    This may be a great book, but the idiots on here who like to tell the endings of books are jackasses.

    9 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    After years of hearing about the amazing John Green, I decided i

    After years of hearing about the amazing John Green, I decided it was time to see what all the rave was about. The Fault in Our Stars seemed to be one of the most popular, what with the rumors of an upcoming movie production. Now, I am a fifteen year old girl, so I mostly read young adult fiction. But this? This was complete and utter crap. Just another case of the wannabe hipsters getting excited about a book that isn't worth anyone's time. I know people with cancer, and they do not respond the way these characters did. They are dying, for crying out loud. When you're dying, you don't have time to be poetic and stick cigarettes in your mouth because it's a bold statement. Not to mention how utterly shallow the characters were. Honestly, watching paint dry would have been more interesting than reading this book. They were bland and lacked depth. There was nothing special about this story. Yes, they had cancer, but they were all so accepting of it that it wasn't even a real conflict in the story. And the "tragic ending" could be predicted within the first chapter. Seriously, DO NOT waste your time reading this. I was so excited, and I love John Green as a vlogger, but as a writer, he lacks any real skill. "Staccato bursts of humor?" Yeah right. It felt like it was written by a thirteen year old boy- with bland preteen humor included. This is the most overrated book I have ever read. The only reason I forced myself to finish it was because I spent so much money on it. THIS IS A HORRIBLE AND DISAPPOINTING BOOK.

    9 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    I really don't understand why there's so much hype about this bo

    I really don't understand why there's so much hype about this book. Before I bought it I researched the story, read the reviews, and I actually thought it might be one of my favorite books. I was completely wrong. This story is not (in my opinion) well written, original, or memorable. The book is slow with bad thirteen-year-old boy humor. The characters are whiny and pretentious and most of the time I just wanted to punch each and every one of them. The story is just another teenage girl fantasy that ends in tragedy. Most of the time its over dramatic and doesn't leave you wanting more. I didn't like this book and I don't recomend it. If you are looking for a good book that ends with you crying your eyes out, try Libba Bray's Going Bovine. The plot is actually original and not boring.

    8 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Well done once again, Mr Green

    Amazing book. Finished it without putting it down once. I havent cried this hard in years. Please take the time to read this touching novel.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    John Green is an amazing author!

    After reading 2 of your other books, I have decided this will most likely be another amazing, well thought out novel. I can not wait to read this! Best Wishes, DFTBA -Clara who looks Timelord

    8 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Amazing Book

    Dear John,

    You are an amazing writer and I am more than 100% sure that I will love this book. I hope that it's filled with the same hysterical dialog, unforgettable and relatable characters as all your previous ones! Pre-ordered it as soon as possible. Can't wait to do a video review of it on my channel youtube/thedasha92
    Thanks!
    -TheDasha92

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Reality

    In actuallity everyones like,"oh john the book is amazing im so glad i read it,"... SIKE! This book has made me relize things i didnt before. For example how much life actually sucks. And theres no escaping pure sadness. And that people die everyday and no matter how happy we are, life will come and slap you in the face and show you what its made of. I wouldnt reccomend this book to anyone who wants to stay naive.

    7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    The Fault In Our Stars

    Hello . Im sure since your reading this you either are looking into reading The Fault In Our Stars or have already read it and know how amazing it truly is . Well , im here to tell the people that are looking into readimg it that you should ! Its the kind of book that will make you laugh so hard you'll pee your pants and then if you turn a few pages you'll be crying your eyes out you'll run out of tears . If your the person who hates reading you probably have'nt even gotten this far into my review but i would still like to tell the ones who had the courtousy to read this far that this book is worth your time and it will make you find a passion for reading for the first time or again . Now for the people that had read this , of course , like me , you just finished reading this for the first time time or the millionth ( mine was the millionth ) i suggest you tell all your friends to read it and even people you dont know because the whole world deserves to know how amazing this book truly is . Sorry for how long this is and my thanks goes out to the people who read my very long , boring rant on how amazing The Fault In Our Stars is .

    7 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Sample

    Dont get the sample it only lets you read one page.... looks like a great book though!

    7 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    I hate you john green

    This disgustingly beautifull and ferociously moving story had me in tears. To the point where I had to put my nook down for fear of getting my tears and snot all over it. I was hesitant about buying this book but I'm glad I had the pleasure of going through this emotional roller coaster...that didn't only go up! I love this book but I definately won't be reading it again anytime soon...I'm still mourning.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    I just finished reading this book today and I am still in tears.

    I just finished reading this book today and I am still in tears. It is one of the most beautifully tragic love stories I have read since Romeo and Juliet (only better!). John Green has a talent for writing with humor as well as grace. This book is no different. I love that just as I am getting to feel really sad about something Augustus or Hazel or their parents or even Isaac crop up and say something that just makes my gut hurt from laughing so much. Definitely a book that will be read again and again until the end of time.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    Looking For Alaska is one of my all time favorite books, and I assumed that this book would be nothing short of perfect. I was extremely disappointed after reading this book. I saw each plot twist a mile away, and found that the characters tried way to hard be profound. The characters, I feel, are extremely pretentious and pseudo-intellectual. I would not recommend this book for someone of the college level.

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing

    John Green continues to to be one of my favorite authors. A beautiful and lovely book, I cried and smiled. Possibly tied for favorite with Looking For Alaska (: DFTBA!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 5706 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 286