Customer Reviews for

The Fault in Our Stars

Average Rating 4.5
( 6340 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5203)

4 Star

(585)

3 Star

(236)

2 Star

(106)

1 Star

(210)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

588 out of 679 people found this review helpful.

A Fantastic Book and Green's Best.

Let's face it: Cancer is a popular topic among the literary world, both in fiction and non-fiction. For years, authors have penned the tumultuous lives of those affected by cancer, as well as the lives of those who know people with cancer. I have been following Green's ...
Let's face it: Cancer is a popular topic among the literary world, both in fiction and non-fiction. For years, authors have penned the tumultuous lives of those affected by cancer, as well as the lives of those who know people with cancer. I have been following Green's work for several years now, and I have been consistently impressed with the work he has done. However, his previous novels have always fallen short of excellence, something that has changed with the Young Adult author's newest outing. The Fault in Our Stars is wonderful. Plain and simple. Too often "cancer books" are downtrodden with overemotional drama that saturates the reading experience with misery. Fortunately, this book changes that. The tone of the book is primarily humorous, as is Green's specialty, and does not dwell excessively on drama. That does not mean, however, that the severity of the characters' situation is ignored. Rather, the cancer is more of a supporting character, always hovering around our narrator, but never entirely interfering with the flow of the story. The cancer simply exists, and while it makes itself known, it does not do so loudly. This offers a nice change of pace for those accustomed to the achingly detailed books about cancer and hospice they might have read in the past. Most importantly, the characters are not the wise and all-knowing cancer kids that is common in many stories of young people suffering with the disease. They offer their perspective, but they are scarcely blatant about it. Hazel, our narrator, offers often amusing observations about the world she lives in as well as the situation she has found herself in, but she is not and does not claim to be an all-knowing book of infinite knowledge. The same is to be said about Gus, our heroic best friend. While the story lacks extravagance, that doesn't stop it from becoming one of the best novels I've read in recent memory. It is a stubborn little book, and will not be easily forgotten like so many other books lining the bookshelves of the present. The prose is quiet and minimal, while still retaining a sort of muted beauty. The dialogue is sharp and witty. The characters are well-drawn out, and you might even find yourself wanting to hug the venerable (and fictional) author Peter Van Houten by the end of the book. In conclusion: Whether you have enjoyed Green's previous works or are familiar with his on-going YouTube phenomenon, you will certainly enjoy The Fault in Our Stars. It's a fantastic book filled with fantastic characters, and is written by a fantastic author. This is destined to be one of the best books of the year, and should not be missed.

posted by Shaun_Rice on January 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

Good but not great

I am truly puzzled by the consistent 5 star ratings on this book. Perhaps I am not familiar with Green's writing, but I found it both difficult and annoying to read such unintelligible dialogue, such as the obnoxious overusage of the word 'whatever,' mixed with the pola...
I am truly puzzled by the consistent 5 star ratings on this book. Perhaps I am not familiar with Green's writing, but I found it both difficult and annoying to read such unintelligible dialogue, such as the obnoxious overusage of the word 'whatever,' mixed with the polar-opposite of far too advanced vocabulary of his 16 and 17 year old characters. I kept revisiting with the feeling that they were walking and talking dictionaries who would sometimes relapse into a state of stupor. It is this factor that made this book honestly hard for me to read. However, putting that aside, the book did have some amazing and epiphanous moments.

posted by 10928927 on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Veering from the stereotypical reaction

    My dearest apologies to all of you John Green fans. I am not a serial hater, this is new to me. All I have to say (if one would be kind enough to listen open-mindedly) is that this book was, simply, not as great as it is hyped up to be.
    It's about a girl who has cancer and falls in love with a boy who has cancer.
    Interesting premise. Promising ending (clearly one character would die, and also predictable from the moment one says "I want to be with you forever")
    But overall the writing was not outstanding. This book had nothing in it I hadn't read before and in no way blew me away. It actually makes me angry just how much people rave about it.
    Augustus dies.
    We know. Everyone knows. My grandmother knows.
    The details are shady, I feel like I never get a clear view on any of the landscape, and when I do, it's about confetti.
    CONFETTI.
    And no, writing dialogue like this:
    mom: even though you read one book repeatedly and have no high school education, you're still surprisingly extremely well spoken for a teenager.
    me: thanks mom, I am elated that you think my average way of speaking is exceptional.
    ...is NOT creative and witty. It's frustrating. It's not your signature, John Green. It's irritating.
    I guess I'm just mostly surprised at how many people are falling into the ever swirling pit of "I <3 TFIOS" instead of waking up and realizing how utterly predictable and poorly planned this book was. I hate to sound terrible here, but wouldn't the book have been "more" heart breaking if it ended like her favorite book did? In the middle of either her or Augustus's sentence? THAT would have been neat and might have made up for the rest of it. But instead, it ended on sort of a
    "...oh. Well.....that's over I guess"
    note.
    I'm going on a rampage. I need to stop. Thank you for your time and patience. Sorry if I just stabbed a hole in your fandom, but you should be thanking me for not continuing my rant. Maybe someday I might finish what I set out to tell the wor-
    ...
    ^see?

    23 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Anomonyous

    This book is terrible...
    JK haha i absolutley loved this book! Its about a girl with cancer, whomm wants nothing to do with her doomed life. Only obssesing over a book. But in an unexpected turn, she meets a cute guy ( sorry i cant say any more!) This book takes you on the emotional roller-coaster of a teenage girl with cancer. So if you do decide to get it. Buckle up and make sure you have plenty of time on your hands because you wont be able to put it down! I read the whole thing in 3 days then cried because i didnt want the book to be over! But seriously if you read this whole comment- your thinking too much. Get the book, you'll love it!

    PS I love you Jhon Green your book is absolutley amazing, thank you so much for following your dream and writing this because i defitinly needed this book ( i was running out of good books to read!) And i would really rate your book stars 7
    Thx!

    21 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    I did NOT like this book. The reactions of characters were incr

    I did NOT like this book. The reactions of characters were incredibly unrealistic. Yes, they did act angrily when they dealt with their illnesses but their reactions were too mellow. I have been around people who have cancer and there is no way all three of the main teens would be that positive and simple-minded. Also, this story is not easy to relate to. Many events were not common even among with children with cancer. It was just unrealistic.

    14 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    After years of hearing about the amazing John Green, I decided i

    After years of hearing about the amazing John Green, I decided it was time to see what all the rave was about. The Fault in Our Stars seemed to be one of the most popular, what with the rumors of an upcoming movie production. Now, I am a fifteen year old girl, so I mostly read young adult fiction. But this? This was complete and utter crap. Just another case of the wannabe hipsters getting excited about a book that isn't worth anyone's time. I know people with cancer, and they do not respond the way these characters did. They are dying, for crying out loud. When you're dying, you don't have time to be poetic and stick cigarettes in your mouth because it's a bold statement. Not to mention how utterly shallow the characters were. Honestly, watching paint dry would have been more interesting than reading this book. They were bland and lacked depth. There was nothing special about this story. Yes, they had cancer, but they were all so accepting of it that it wasn't even a real conflict in the story. And the &quot;tragic ending&quot; could be predicted within the first chapter. Seriously, DO NOT waste your time reading this. I was so excited, and I love John Green as a vlogger, but as a writer, he lacks any real skill. &quot;Staccato bursts of humor?&quot; Yeah right. It felt like it was written by a thirteen year old boy- with bland preteen humor included. This is the most overrated book I have ever read. The only reason I forced myself to finish it was because I spent so much money on it. THIS IS A HORRIBLE AND DISAPPOINTING BOOK.

    13 out of 66 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2014

    I'm not sure what book the 153 five star reviewers read, but it

    I'm not sure what book the 153 five star reviewers read, but it wasn't the same &quot;The Fault in Our Stars&quot; book I read! I thought this book was horrible! From page one I was disappointed. The characters were unbelievable from their speech patterns to their reactions to real world situations. Hazel was stiff and unbelievable. Agustus could have been a believable character but John Green ruined it by having him use the cigarette metaphor, etc. (Spoiler alert) His reaction in the airport was also totally out of character, as was Hazel's reaction when he admitted his reason for leaving her.

    I felt extremely disappointed while reading this book and have let everyone who will listen not to bother buying or reading this book. If you were wanting to show depth and emotion from the standpoint of two teens dying from cancer, John Green failed miserably. If he wanted to impress people with his use of $50 words (which the average teen or even college age person wouldn't use) then he succeeded ... only mildly. As for the moderator of the support group ... what the he**?? I don't know of any support group with a leader like him! Other than to have a reason/place for the two characters to meet ... I saw no worthwhile contribution of the moderator of the group OR the group itself in helping any character in the book. &quot;Heart of Jesus&quot;?? seriously? John Green needs to review the meaning in any religion as to how to truly use that metaphor in his writing.

    I truly felt that this book could have been written by someone who had no training in writing, nor any experience in death and dying ... especially from a fatal disease. All in All .... VERY DISAPPOINTING ... and if it were possible I'd give it a negative star review! I'm not even tempted to read any of his other books and will be donating (or burning) my copy of The Fault in Our Stars

    11 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    Stop revealing the conclusion!!

    This may be a great book, but the idiots on here who like to tell the endings of books are jackasses.

    10 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    I really don't understand why there's so much hype about this bo

    I really don't understand why there's so much hype about this book. Before I bought it I researched the story, read the reviews, and I actually thought it might be one of my favorite books. I was completely wrong. This story is not (in my opinion) well written, original, or memorable. The book is slow with bad thirteen-year-old boy humor. The characters are whiny and pretentious and most of the time I just wanted to punch each and every one of them. The story is just another teenage girl fantasy that ends in tragedy. Most of the time its over dramatic and doesn't leave you wanting more. I didn't like this book and I don't recomend it. If you are looking for a good book that ends with you crying your eyes out, try Libba Bray's Going Bovine. The plot is actually original and not boring.

    9 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    The Fault In Our Stars

    Hello . Im sure since your reading this you either are looking into reading The Fault In Our Stars or have already read it and know how amazing it truly is . Well , im here to tell the people that are looking into readimg it that you should ! Its the kind of book that will make you laugh so hard you'll pee your pants and then if you turn a few pages you'll be crying your eyes out you'll run out of tears . If your the person who hates reading you probably have'nt even gotten this far into my review but i would still like to tell the ones who had the courtousy to read this far that this book is worth your time and it will make you find a passion for reading for the first time or again . Now for the people that had read this , of course , like me , you just finished reading this for the first time time or the millionth ( mine was the millionth ) i suggest you tell all your friends to read it and even people you dont know because the whole world deserves to know how amazing this book truly is . Sorry for how long this is and my thanks goes out to the people who read my very long , boring rant on how amazing The Fault In Our Stars is .

    8 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Reality

    In actuallity everyones like,"oh john the book is amazing im so glad i read it,"... SIKE! This book has made me relize things i didnt before. For example how much life actually sucks. And theres no escaping pure sadness. And that people die everyday and no matter how happy we are, life will come and slap you in the face and show you what its made of. I wouldnt reccomend this book to anyone who wants to stay naive.

    7 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Sample

    Dont get the sample it only lets you read one page.... looks like a great book though!

    7 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    The fact that this cliche, sappy romance has a higher rating tha

    The fact that this cliche, sappy romance has a higher rating than classics such as Lord of the Flies is an utter insult to English Literature and proof right beneath our noses that taste in entertainment is slowly devolving. This is nothing more than a weepy teen cancer piece of trash filled with Mary-Sues and Gary-Stus. And the narration? Don't even get me started! We do not need CAPSLOCKS LIKE THESE TO MAKE A POINT because it makes Hazel come across as obnoxious, which she already is for being so rude to her parents who are keeping her alive with cancer! Nor do we need to Capitalize The First Letter of Every Word Like This for things that are only mild titles, not proper. And Augustus is one of those stupid &quot;dream boyfriends&quot; who spouts out philosophy that only comes out of Gandhi's mouth. I was actually quite happy when he died (Gee, who could have predicted he was going to die?) because it served as proper punishment for both Augustus and Hazel. And don't even get me started on the cigarette thing- nobody, may I repeat, nobody ever uses a metaphor like that in real life. Not even Gandhi. Furthermore, we are never even given a reason why he does this. Like, okay, we get that it's a cool metaphor. (Not really, I'd say it's a pretty dumb metaphor that has nothing to do with the plot of the book. But for this scenario, let's just say it is to prove that it's pointless either way.) But what's the point in acting it out? Self-content?

    Overall, I'm surprised Stephanie Meyer is belittled for her work when next to this extremely overrated, plotless story (literally, it's just like, &quot;We played video games, went to Holland, and then he died&quot;), it's like Brahm Stoker's work.

    6 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2012

    Perhaps this just wasn't my genre or perhaps this book just suck

    Perhaps this just wasn't my genre or perhaps this book just sucked. I'm not sure which it is. I was very excited to read this book after all the great reviews I read about it but was extrememly disappointed when I actually read it and found the characters to lack depth and the story to be very flat and uninteresting.

    6 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    I think that John Green is a decent writer but can't come up wit

    I think that John Green is a decent writer but can't come up with any good plots. All of his books (especially this one) had the stupidest and crazy plots I've ever seen. Also, most of this book's sales come from snotty white girls who want to be &quot;hipsters.&quot; My ex-girlfriend made me read this and she didn't speak to me for a week because I said I hated it. All in all, this book is an insult to American literature.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    Unpopular Opinion

    Honestly, this book is overrated and unrealistic. I found myself googling the definition of many words that either Hazel or Augustus used in a casual conversation which frustrated me because the vocabulary they use is nowhere near the average teenagers who has only completed limited highschool courses. I was also baffled that the majority of conversations between Hazel and Augustus consisted of deep, philosophical questions about infinities, while the averge human being does not have enough knowledge of infinities to even question them. Let's be honest, how many teens actually spend their free time pondering the meaning of the universe and using metaphors unnecesarily? Certainly no teenager that I know. In short, this book really doesn't deserve the attention it has received, it has an easy plot that anyone could have eventually come up with, and unrealistic characters so I do not reccommend this book to anyone who hasn't read it. (If there are any people who haven't read it still out there.)

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    cannot open

    The book does not open on my device, I Will be complaining and asking for my money back soon.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Disappointed

    Purchased and it showed but its not there just blank pages want money back!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    I am extremely angry that I received a damaged copy. What's wors

    I am extremely angry that I received a damaged copy. What's worse was that I actually ordered 2 copies, and only 1 copy came! I would want to refind it and the website says that refund details are on the packing slip, but I did not even get the packing slip! 
    I've ordered several B&amp;N Exclusive Editions already but this is by far the most horrible one I recieved, not because of the story (I love the story) but because of the book's poor condition.

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    Am I the only person who thought this book was terrible? I found

    Am I the only person who thought this book was terrible? I found the writing to be so obnoxious and the characters are so unbelievable as real teenagers, despite the terrible circumstances of their lives. What a disappointment, considering the rave reviews. If you're looking for some great books, have a look at my book blog- Black Bifocals.

    4 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    I HATED THIS BOOK

    the character agustus had no flaws. I therefore couldn't relate to him and whenever he was in the plot i didn't have a desire to find out what happens to him.

    4 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    the "FAULT" in this book!!!!

    It's sad when you can't cry when a character in a book dies!!! Unless of course the book is so short you cant become attached to the characters enough to cry when one dies! This is the first of Green's novels I've read and I'm sad to say it will probally be the last!!!

    4 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11