Customer Reviews for

The Fear Index

Average Rating 3
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The story is well told with the exception of the biggest part. W

The story is well told with the exception of the biggest part. We are to believe that computer have taken over after the main character begins having a very strange day and murders a man who he supposedly hired to attack him. We are never told in any credible fashion ho...
The story is well told with the exception of the biggest part. We are to believe that computer have taken over after the main character begins having a very strange day and murders a man who he supposedly hired to attack him. We are never told in any credible fashion how this alternate computer universe came into being. Suggestions are made, but they do not support the conclusion. A variety of clandestine events had taken place, yet who put them into action? No credible answer is given. My vote is 3 1/2 stars, rounded up to 4. My computer gives it 5 stars!

posted by KenCady on March 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not his best but a decent read

The plot is one we have run into before: computer technology created by man becomes uncontrollable and runs amok - remember Hal? This book though adds a new twist by bringing in wall street trading. Decent enough book but the characters do things that are hard to fath...
The plot is one we have run into before: computer technology created by man becomes uncontrollable and runs amok - remember Hal? This book though adds a new twist by bringing in wall street trading. Decent enough book but the characters do things that are hard to fathom, like the main character's wife turning on him immediately when the computer acting as him does some bizarre things. In any event, I am a Robert Harris fan and didn't have any trouble finishing the book even though this one wasn't up to his other efforts.

posted by 4099271 on March 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The story is well told with the exception of the biggest part. W

    The story is well told with the exception of the biggest part. We are to believe that computer have taken over after the main character begins having a very strange day and murders a man who he supposedly hired to attack him. We are never told in any credible fashion how this alternate computer universe came into being. Suggestions are made, but they do not support the conclusion. A variety of clandestine events had taken place, yet who put them into action? No credible answer is given. My vote is 3 1/2 stars, rounded up to 4. My computer gives it 5 stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Not his best but a decent read

    The plot is one we have run into before: computer technology created by man becomes uncontrollable and runs amok - remember Hal? This book though adds a new twist by bringing in wall street trading. Decent enough book but the characters do things that are hard to fathom, like the main character's wife turning on him immediately when the computer acting as him does some bizarre things. In any event, I am a Robert Harris fan and didn't have any trouble finishing the book even though this one wasn't up to his other efforts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Page turner

    Intoxicating mixture of science, technology, greed, and the psychology of fear. I couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Interesting because current issue in society.....

    Really a sifi "story" because the author was "carried away" with the idea and gave the computer a "vendetta" persona ....

    Helpful insight to what goes on in the real world of high stakes finance.....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Nice read

    I thought the book was good overall. I love the stock market and the story had alot of stock market and securities examples that were really dead on.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    It was ok

    The book started well and a good pace. It had some points where one questions "whodunit", but for me, it had a disappointing ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    Fun to read

    Harris did a great job of keeping the suspense going, and the development of the main character was fascinating. I figured out how he might end the novel and was disappointed when I was right. The writing style is very compelling, and I thoroughly enjoyed the book. I would be intersted to read his other works based on the pace and suspense of this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    A good read

    I enjoyed it a lot.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Mediocre techno-thriller

    Such a letdown from the author of The Ghost Writer! The plot is labored, the characters are dull, the ending is flat, and the concept is both uninteresting and absurd. As one who is interested in Wall Street, the world of international finance, and espionage/thrillers, I was sorely disappointed.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Hooked from page one, I never once lost interest in the Fear Index. The perfect algorithm of money, murder and mystery resulted in a marvelous read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2