Customer Reviews for

The Feast of Roses: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Conclusion

    A wonderful conclusion to The Twentieth Wife. Once again Sundaresan has written an amazing story and really brings her characters to life. My only problem was I thought all the time spent on the English trading issues was kind of pointless and didn't really add anything to the story. I would have rather seen more of Khurram and Arjummand's story since there was so much mention of the Taj Mahal. But a wonderful story and I'll be picking up her other books soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2004

    Another Magical Novel By Indu Sandersan

    Once again, just like The Twentieth Wife, Indu Sandersan lured me into Mehrunnisas captivating life while introducing Arjumand, her niece and the inspiration to the Taj Mahal. If you want a book that will take you away to an amazing world full of excitement that would hold on to your interest from the beginning to the end, this is the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2004

    Beautiful storytelling!

    I loved this book. I felt as if I was living in the palace, breathing the same air and peeking around the corners of the harem. The scene that the book is named after was divine. I have recounted that one scene to quite a few people. Read this book- it will make you hungry for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    AWESOME!!!!!!

    I was absolutely entranced with this book, I couldn't put it down. As with the Twentieth Wife nothing got done until I finished this book. I didn't want it to end! I can't wait to see if Indu Sundaresan write anymore novels, if she does I'll be the first one in line.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2004

    Beautiful

    Once again Indu Sundarsan has done an awesome job with creating the unforgettable atmosphere of the Mugal Empire. Feast of Roses is the sequel to The Twentieth Wife, once again we all are introduced to the captivating Mehrunnisa (now known as Nur Jahan). With the introduction of some new and old characters, Sundarsan has made the daily hidden dramas within the walls of the Empire come into view. She shows so many emotions that a woman experiences throughout many situations. Once again the ¿love¿ is the focal point of the novel, but this time it has very little to do with that of Mehrunnisa and Jahangir. Now the story of Prince Khurrum (Shah Jahan) comes into view. We are now introduced to the reason to why and how the Taj Mahal was created. Once again this novel is awesome. It is the prefect sequel to The Twentieth Wife. Sundarsan is a great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Absorbing novel

    In the seventeenth century, most of India, that is those who would care about the emperor¿s harem, would expect that Jahangir¿s twentieth wife of twenty wives would be lower than an Untouchable. However, the Empress Nur Jahan, previously called Mehrunnisa, does not settle in her role as she breaks the tradition of royal life and the accepted behavior of females in the country. Mehrunnisa can get away with a lot more than say Jahangir¿s nineteen previous spouses, as she is the first woman he actually loves. The Emperor actually cedes her much power to run the country though her harem rivals led by scheming Empress Jagat plan to run her off and the court ministers refuse to have some upstart female steal any of their power.<P> Showing inner strength Mehrunnisa refuses to allow either of these two influential groups to stop her rise. She turns to her father, her brother, and the son of her husband for support. Though the fight is difficult and she and her daughter becomes estranged, through the love of Jahangir she never gives up.<P> The sequel to the delightful THE TWENTIETH WIFE, THE FEAST OF ROSES is an insightful look at the royal court of seventeenth century India. Though at times a bit slow, the story line is loaded with historical tidbits leading readers to conclude that Indu Sundaresan magically sent her audience back in time. Mehrunnisa is a strong lead protagonist, who quickly understands the balance of power and how to manipulate in a Machiavellian manner. The support cast provides insight into this protagonist. Ms. Sundaresan provides another Taj Mahal historical fiction.<P> Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2