Customer Reviews for

The Fermata

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    not for me

    I found this book a little too prurient for my taste. I don't consider myself a prude, though I can be somewhat old-fashioned. Perhaps that was my problem. I only got about 100 pages through this book before I decided there were books I'd feel better spending my time on. I did enjoy some of the writing style and perspective, but I was impatient with the lack of forward motion. It was highly anecdotal, and I couldn't see where it was going, and became less and less interested in finding out where it might go.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2000

    Intellecutal Erotica

    Although many reviewers dismissed the central premise of this book as a sophomoric misogynistic fantasy, Baker is able to make the protagonist someone who genuinely likes women. The prose itself is outstanding,(even the non-dirty parts), and the characters interesting. And 'the good parts' are so far and away the most erotic I have encountered. I introduced my wife to this book, and she in turn told several friends about it. Our copy is somewhat tattered from loaning out, but we always get it back, as everyone decides they need their own!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Nicholson Baker's The Fermata is a strange read . . . awkward an

    Nicholson Baker's The Fermata is a strange read . . . awkward and
    hard-to-categorize, much less review. It's comprised of equal parts
    literature, science-fiction, romance, comedy, erotica, and memoir. On
    the one hand, it absolutely deserves an five-star review for its sheer
    audacity, innovation, and mastery of language. This is a very clever,
    beautifully written novel that manages to deliberately meander without
    boring the reader. It's also a very humorous novel, not so much in a
    laugh-out-loud sort of way, but one which succeeds in delivering a smile
    (or more often a smirk) per page. When I allowed myself to become lost
    in Arno's voice, I quite enjoyed the read, even as I rolled my eyes and
    scoffed at his good-natured laziness. It's no wonder Baker gets far more
    attention as a purveyor of literature than as a genre author, but you
    get the sense that's entirely how he likes it. Having said all that,
    this is a book that struggles to earn more than a single-star review for
    its plotting, pacing, and story-telling. It's is a story comprised of
    musings, observations, and asides, in which very little happens to
    advance the plot. Being a fictional memoir does excuse the narrative
    struggle to some extent, but the 'fictional' element does demand
    something more. There's a great concept at the heart of the story, with
    Arno able to freeze time and manipulate those around him, but his own
    odd sense of morality and decorum won't allow him to exploit it, while
    his own laziness holds him back from maximizing it. Of course, Arno and
    his failings are, essentially, the story, so it's hard to find him at
    fault. Still, it's a read that frustrated me to no extent because it
    adamantly refused to explore the concept. If you're a fan of literate
    novels, one who favours concept over content, and one who appreciates
    narration over narrative, give The Fermata a shot. It is a fun read
    (taken in small doses) but the novelty does wear thin after a while. On
    the other hand, if you're at all intrigued by the concept, but (like
    myself) tend to lean more towards plot and characterization that
    storytelling showmanship, try giving Dean Koontz's Dragon Tears a read instead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    Inventive

    Inventive use of language to produce some very detailed descriptions. I bought House of Holes and The Fermata at the same time. I started House of Holes first which almost made me delete The Fermata without reading it. I'm glad I did because it is so peculiar, but I don't think I would bother with any more of Baker's stuff. I should sue him to retrieve the couple of hours of my life spent on House of Holes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2001

    Outstanding Mix of Humor and Erotica

    Other reviewers have said that this is a guy's book. While it is true that The Fermata undoubtedly has an innate appeal to men, I whole-heartedly recommend it for women as well, if for no other reason than to gain insight into the way men think. Which I think Baker has captured very well. I enjoyed this book so much that I immediately bought and read all of Baker's other books. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. None even came close to this excellent work, which is a terrific blend of humor and erotica.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Loved it

    Fun fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Awesome

    Tragically accurate. Well written. A genre transcending work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2001

    A diff'rent kind of enjoyable read.

    I really didn't know what to expect when I picked up this book. A friend had glowingly recommended it so I said, 'sure why not?' I've repeatedly thanked my friend ever since I finished it. This is truly a guy's book and while I've heard some criticism of the juvenile premise, we must not forget that most guys are pretty juvenile when it comes down to it. BRAVO Nicholson Baker!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2000

    Baker Rules!!!!

    I have read The Fermata, and I have read Vox as well. Baker, to me, is one of the only writers out there for real men (guy Guys.)My only complaint about Baker is that he writes a new book so seldom that I lose patience. The Fermata is a guy book. There is no man alive that hasn't pondered what he would do if he could freeze time. Baker illustrates what most of us have thought about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1