Customer Reviews for

The Feud: The Hatfields and McCoys: The True Story

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

The nook book edition is now $2.99 that seems like a great deal

The nook book edition is now $2.99 that seems like a great deal :-) 

posted by Carollou3 on July 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I WON THIS BOOK FOR FREE ON GOODREADS FIRSTREADS GIVEAWAY This

I WON THIS BOOK FOR FREE ON GOODREADS FIRSTREADS GIVEAWAY

This was an interesting book. It covers the infamous feud between the Hatfields and McCoys during the 1800s. The author spoke with descendants of these families, so you get some of the family stories that were h...
I WON THIS BOOK FOR FREE ON GOODREADS FIRSTREADS GIVEAWAY

This was an interesting book. It covers the infamous feud between the Hatfields and McCoys during the 1800s. The author spoke with descendants of these families, so you get some of the family stories that were handed down through the generations. The way this feud was portrayed on television varies, on some important parts, from what the author actually found out through historic records and information from descendants. I gave it 3 stars, because I felt that, in certain chapters, there was an excess of information that didn't necessarily pertain to the actual feud or the families. Overall, I found this book to be an interesting read, especially if you are a history buff.

posted by Anonymous on May 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    The nook book edition is now $2.99 that seems like a great deal

    The nook book edition is now $2.99 that seems like a great deal :-) 

    6 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    What?

    This rating is to counteract the other readers giving the book and therefore the author only one star because of something beyond his control. The author cannot have any impact on the function of the Nook listings. Come on guys, play fair!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    This book is a great combination of painstaking research and for

    This book is a great combination of painstaking research and forceful prose.

    I have been in many of those hollers over the years, but never with much thought of the early, pre-coal, history of the place. The feud is often mentioned. Everyone knows about it, but no one seems to know much about it. This book fills that gap and is a great, hard-to-put-down read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    I liked this book very much. It was very interesting and moved


    I liked this book very much. It was very interesting and moved along at a good pace. I had long heard about this feud and often wondered exactly what it was about. Obviously, being in a war changes people, and they live with the buried emotional baggage of killing other people for a long time without realizing what strong emotions and reactions stem from trying to rid oneself of the damage. Not that war is not often necessary. Enslavement would be worse. A map would have been nice, though with this narrative. It was hard to keep the locations straight when following the interaction of the people and their relatives and friends.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Wonderful historical account

    Unlike other books written of the famous feud this one delves further into the history of the two clans. There was a time when the two families were friends and lived companionably until the misunderstanding which led to the lengthy feud. Great piece of American history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    This book's chronological order helps the reader understand the

    This book's chronological order helps the reader understand the before, during and after of the Feud by painting a picture.  Dean supports this picture with facts from many sources.  The quotes from interviews with people who lived during and after the feud coupled with the stories does an amazing job of making the reader feel like he understands the times and those involved.  I love the personal connection through the words of the eyewitnesses.  This separates the reality from rumor.  Dean also found previously unearthed evidence and never before heard stories that help everyone understand more than just the feud but what occurred at the end of the feud and after the feud. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite Dean King, author

    Reviewed by Anne Boling for Readers' Favorite

    Dean King, author of The Feud: The Hatfields and McCoys: The True Story, digs deep into the history of the feud and both families to find the truth behind the legend. The legend begins much like Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet. Rosanna McCoy and Johnse Hatfield were attracted to each other but their families were filled with hatred. The irony in this story is the similarity in character of both families. They lived in the Appalachian Mountains and they had little use for the government. While the legend depicts love as the cause of the feud, in reality that had little to do with the animosity between the two families. I’m not sure the Hatfields or the McCoys knew why they hated each other. They were willing to murder in a dispute over a hog, burn cabins, and execute young men including a mentally handicapped male. It seems that in the mountains there is a different type of law and justice, one mandated by the most accurate shot and bitter hatred.

    Over the last few years there has been a lot of interest in this mountain feud. Say the word 'feud' and many people think of the famous feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys. We’ve taken fact and romanticized it into legend when in truth it was a bloody nightmare. Dean King takes the romance out of the story and stands on the facts. The Feud is one of the best researched and most comprehensive books on this topic. The author has stated the facts without taking sides. Kudos to Dean King.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    I have read many books on the Feud over the years and there is n

    I have read many books on the Feud over the years and there is no question that this is the best book hands down on the reasons for the blood shed. All of the information is backed up with notes for reference. If you have ever wanted to read about the Hatfield and McCoy feud this is the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    This is well-told history. The material has a natural drama to i

    This is well-told history. The material has a natural drama to it. King wisely preserves this tension in the primary and secondary sources while adding a sprinkling of his own refinements. He enlivens the history without sensationalizing it--a tough balance. So many biographers and historians nowadays spoil the soup with too many spices.

    Several other narrative techniques recommend King's latest book.

    For one, he chooses his paragraph breaks wisely. They preserve clarity while driving the story forward.

    Second, his word choice is masterful. He chooses words from the Anglo-Saxon word bank and includes local slang and kennings. These give teeth and authenticity to the writing.

    Third, he aptly balances quotes from the feud principals with his own descriptions. The quotes are inserted in the scenes where they are most informative and punchy. Also, King refrains from interrupting his set pieces with interpretation. Interpretation happens selectively, inviting the reader to render his or her own judgments.

    Fourth, the frequent gunfighting is told realistically. Fear on both sides of the feud is in evidence. King brings it a sense of loss to the legend, too. There is a sense of wildness, fertility, and danger in the landscape.

    Finally, the book works as an entertaining group biography. Devil Anse Hatfield stands out from the pages. He is a a regular folk legend like Davy Crockett or Daniel Boone.

    I look forward to more works from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    This book is a must for those who enjoy fleshed out history!

    So different when compared to the movie. These people doled out their own kind of justice. Vicious and opportunistic killers. I doubt honor had much to do with this feud. I think most of the violence was due what the Civil War (North and South home guard) did to each others families.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    You always here about the Hatfields and the McCoys whenever there is a dispute. However, I had no idea the extent to which it really went to. Or, that in 2001 it was still kind of going on and only put on hold by an agreement both families signed to honor those who died on 9/11. It's amazing the way the Hatfields held off law enforcement and impacted local and state elections to their favor. This book is well written and gives a great account of incidents from both families point of view along with those documented in court papers and goes behind the scenes to search for the truth of stories printed in the papers both local and national.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    U. Grant Browning┬┐well, more accurately, I am Ulysses Grant Bro


    U. Grant Browning…well, more accurately, I am Ulysses Grant Browning, aka the great, great-grandson of Devil Anse Hatfield.  Our version as to how Anderson Hatfield was assigned the non de plume of “Devil” was because, as a captain in the confederate army, he and his band of Logan Wildcats, although greatly outnumbered, won a battle at “Devils Knob” and was forever after called “Devil Anse.”
    As his great, great-grandson, I have read every book I could find about the feud, and Dean King’s book on this subject is the best written and fairest treatment of this subject by far.  It is not like the writer who wrote an unbiased history of the war between The North and the South from a Southern Point of View.
    Dean’s book is painfully fair to the descendants of both the Hatfields and the McCoys.  This book is a history book which reads like a novel.
    Thank you, Dean, for finally bringing to us a basis from which we may continue pursuing this subject from a sound foundation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Hatfields and mcCOYS

    It says its been reduced from 14.99 to 2.99 ,but still has 14.99 to buy. What the heck!

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    A thorough and riveting history of America's most famous feud.

    A thorough and riveting history of America's most famous feud.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    I WON THIS BOOK FOR FREE ON GOODREADS FIRSTREADS GIVEAWAY This

    I WON THIS BOOK FOR FREE ON GOODREADS FIRSTREADS GIVEAWAY

    This was an interesting book. It covers the infamous feud between the Hatfields and McCoys during the 1800s. The author spoke with descendants of these families, so you get some of the family stories that were handed down through the generations. The way this feud was portrayed on television varies, on some important parts, from what the author actually found out through historic records and information from descendants. I gave it 3 stars, because I felt that, in certain chapters, there was an excess of information that didn't necessarily pertain to the actual feud or the families. Overall, I found this book to be an interesting read, especially if you are a history buff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    his book was wonderful. I thought it was excellent. Very informa

    his book was wonderful. I thought it was excellent. Very informative. I have always been interested in the Hatfield/McCoy feud since I was a kid. I was surprised there was even a few pictures! Highly recommend!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2014

    I have heard about the feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys

    I have heard about the feud between the Hatfields and the McCoys since I was little. Until now, I had no real appreciation of that event or how it impacted the history of Kentucky and West Virginia. Dean King takes the reader through the events that lead up to the death of one Hatfield and the revenge killing of three McCoys and how events spiraled out of control as authorities tried to gain control of—or profit from—the violence.




    Dean King draws upon years of original research, using previously unknown evidence and interviews with surviving relatives to separate fact from fiction about the most famous feud in American history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Interesting facts!

    It's interesting to read about the various facts of the Hatfields and McCoys! However, I felt that the book goes off on some unnecessary side stories. They're interesting to learn, but I felt they weren't necessary to the overall story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    A good read.

    This book reads like a history book. Lots of names and dates but the content is excellent depicting how the feud most likely started and continued through many years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    highly recommended, great read

    Great investigation into previously unknown facts.
    Wish there had been maps and better identification
    of locals.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3