Customer Reviews for

The Fiddler (Home to Hickory Hollow Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

The Fiddler by Beverly Lewis is the first book in the Home to Hi

The Fiddler by Beverly Lewis is the first book in the Home to Hickory Hollow series. Amelia DeVries is an acclaimed violinist who has been secretly finding joy in playing under the pseudonym Amy Lee on the country music circuit as a fiddler. When her manager and boyfrie...
The Fiddler by Beverly Lewis is the first book in the Home to Hickory Hollow series. Amelia DeVries is an acclaimed violinist who has been secretly finding joy in playing under the pseudonym Amy Lee on the country music circuit as a fiddler. When her manager and boyfriend found out about her secret life, they are both horrified that she would sacrifice her career in classical music and her father's dreams. Driving home on a rainy night, she takes a wrong turn in the woods of Pennsylvania, and when her car gets a flat tire, she takes refuge in a small cabin. Michael Hostetler is also struggling with disappointing his family. As a twenty-five-year old man, he should have been baptized into the Amish faith years ago, and his father has given him an ultimatum: join the faith or get out. But Michael has been attending college and learning how to draw blueprints. He is drawn to the "fancy" life, and only his love for his family holds him back. When Michael and Amelia meet there is a immediate recognition that they are in similar places in their lives, and as they spend a quiet evening in the cabin waiting out the storm, they forge a bond that just might change their lives forever. I love how Lewis gently exposes the quiet chemistry between the pair without making it about physical attraction. These two souls feel right together from their first moment shared on the page. Lewis, as usual, portrays both the good and bad sides of being Amish and how the attraction of the Englisch world pulls on young people who desire something more out of life and refuse to believe that leaving the faith means leaving God. Michael and Amelia's relationship blossoms slowly and truly, making readers fall in love with them as they fall in love with each other. I look forward to the next book in the series.

posted by ChristysBookBlog on April 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It was good, just not as good as most of her other books. Did I

It was good, just not as good as most of her other books.

Did I enjoy this book: I did enjoy this book. It was a quick read that made me happy and left me with the warm, fuzzy feeling that I usually get after reading Ms. Lewis's books. I read this book every free chanc...
It was good, just not as good as most of her other books.

Did I enjoy this book: I did enjoy this book. It was a quick read that made me happy and left me with the warm, fuzzy feeling that I usually get after reading Ms. Lewis's books. I read this book every free chance I had.

I liked the characters. Amelia was sweet and I wanted her to be happy and pursue her passion. Michael was a guy I rooted for. I wanted it to work out for him...for him to make the tough decision that that would be best for his life. I also enjoyed the references to other characters from Ms. Lewis's past books. It was like hearing about old friends that you haven't talked about in awhile.

However, this was not one of my favorite Beverly Lewis books. It was good, just not as good as most of her other books. The Fiddler was a different story line from most of her other books. It was a nice change. It was not the Amish falling in love and questioning their future life as an Amish person. This was an English woman and an Amish man contemplating changing his life choice for her. The Fiddler was not as focused on religion as Ms. Lewis's other books either.

Would I recommend it: If you are a fan of Beverly Lewis, then I would absolutely recommend this book. However, I would not recommend this to be your first Beverly Lewis book because the others are much better.

Will I read it again: I will not but I will be anxiously awaiting the next book in the Home to Hickory Hollow series.

posted by Chrissy_W on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Another Great Read from Beverly Lewis!

    I have read every book that Beverly Lewis has written, and always anxiously await her new releases. This one, again, stole my heart. Wonderful story, read in just a few days. Would have liked to have seen a little bit more in the way of character development, but still loved the book. Will be excited to read book 2 in September!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Fiddler

    I have finished The Fiddler by Beverly Lewis. This is the first book in the "Home to Hickory Hollow" series.

    Englisher Amelia Devries finds herself lost in a rain storm when she is heading home after being one of the opening acts at a concert. She is a violinist but secretly plays the fiddle on the side. She ends up at a cabin in the woods where Michael Hostetler is staying. Michael offers shelter to Amelia. The two become friends as they talk over a game of chess, and Michael invites her to visit Amish country with him once the storm clears. Amelia enjoys her weekend staying in Amish country, makes new friends, and leaves with a changed perspective.

    Even though they live very different lives, they both are trying to live to meet the expectations of others. Michael feels the pressure to join the Amish church while Amelia lives with what her parents expect her to do with her life and her music. They both feel trapped and unhappy.

    I always enjoy the books written by Beverly Lewis. I enjoyed the encouragement shared by one of the characters Ella Mae and how Amelia used this in her life when she went back home. This book makes me look forward to book #2 in this series.

    Thank you to Bethany House Publishers for providing this book for my review.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed reading the new Beverly Lewis book The Fiddle



    I really enjoyed reading the new Beverly Lewis book The Fiddler. She did a wonderful job of blending two people from different backgrounds that were each at a crossroads in their life. Both are very hard working, goal oriented people that do not want to let their families down but at the same time feel smothered by what they are expected to do. I appreciate that Ms Lewis does not have them take the easy way out which would be to throw in the towel and do what they want when they want it. Instead she has them think it through, get counsel from various different people and then follow through with some previous obligations.<br />
    It is always refreshing to see an author show their characters with some depth, morals and values. I like when I read a book and the character remembers something that they had been taught but may not have been living to the fullest. This book shows with Amelia that she had not been living a life where she was being true to herself and honest with her family. She had forgotten the simple pleasures of some of the things that she had learned with her Grandmother, including talking to God and having a relationship with him. It all shows that Michael is very family oriented, has a strong faith but still has to make some hard decisions. It shows that tough decisions can be made with putting others first and waiting on the right timing. I think we forget that as we live in a very instant, give it to me now world that is pretty &quot;self-centered&quot;.<br />
    It was refreshing to be reminded that although we all walk our own road in life we all go through similar trials, its how we deal with those trials that makes the journey good or bad. <br />
    I would highly recommend reading this book. I want to thank Bethany House for sending out a copy to me free of charge. All that they ask of me is to post a review, good or bad. I would also like to thank Ms. Lewis for writing another good book that I have had the privilege to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Recommend reading this book.

    I have read many of Beverly Lewis's books and have enjoyed them all.This book was good but not as good as many of her other books .The Fiddler was a different type story then her usual . It was a Amish-English romance and the differences in the cultures .If you are a Beverly Lewis fan youhave to read it. If it's your first book,choose to startwith another series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    I really injoyed it!!

    I thought it was wonderful! You will too!! Check out the Home to Hickory Hollow series and the rest of Beverly Lewis's works!! #staypositive #readon #ilovehashtags :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    I really enjoy reading the Amish books. I do wish that they were

    I really enjoy reading the Amish books. I do wish that they were a little cheaper. These books are so expensive and for that is why I did not give all 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2012

    Amelia Devries is an extremely talented violinist, whose father'

    Amelia Devries is an extremely talented violinist, whose father's dream
    for her has been to travel the world's stages. Music is what gives her
    life; however, she doesn't only like to play the classics. She also
    loves to fiddle. Her alter ego is Amy Lee, star fiddler, who just opened
    up for Tim McGraw. No one else in her life knows about her other side,
    which at times is more appealing than being a concert violinist. On her
    way home from the Tim McGraw show, she takes a wrong turn in a horrible
    rainstorm. She seeks shelter at a nearby cabin, in which an Amishman,
    Michael Hostetler, lives. Michael was born in the Amish faith, but has
    recently found himself drawn to the English ways of life as he seeks his
    higher education. The two of them are instantly drawn to each other.
    Michael is amazed at Amelia's talents and beauty. Amelia is drawn to a
    simpler way of life. Both of them seem to straddle both worlds, though
    one foot definitely lies more heavily in one than in the other. As you
    are reading this book, you realize that one or both of them is going to
    have to give up their current way of life, in order to make anything
    work out. Dreams may be fulfilled, but some may have to be given up in
    order to create new ones. You're torn between how you want them to work
    this out. If Amelia goes Amish, she will have to give up her music. If
    Michael becomes English, he faces the disappointment of his community.
    Both of them fear upsetting their fathers, who have alternative ideas
    about what their children should do with their lives. You want them to
    find a way to work it out, to achieve their life's dreams, and to not
    lose their families in the process. While I was reading this, I kept
    envisioning Amelia as a sort of Alison Krauss. I had no celebrity in
    mind for Michael, but I could still picture him just as clearly in my
    mind. You could really feel the emotions of the characters as they grew
    and developed. You rode their roller coaster of hopes and dreams,
    disappointments and desires. It was a very touching reminder to stay
    true to yourself. I loved it. I received a complimentary copy of this
    book from Bethany House Publishers in exchange for my honest review.
    [This review also appears on Andi's Book Reviews and Uplifting Reads.]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    The Fiddler is another pleasant story by Beverly Lewis. I apprec

    The Fiddler is another pleasant story by Beverly Lewis. I appreciated the musical points of interest- especially knowing that Mrs. Lewis has a personal interest in music. It was also an interesting twist that the main character was a female Englischer instead of the typical Amish female character. The characters are so true to life- believable and likeable.

    It was an enjoyable read and I would recommend it to others!
    (I did receive a free copy to review from Bethany House Publishers, but the opinions are my own.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    From the back cover.. A wrong turn in a rainstorm leads Englishe

    From the back cover..
    A wrong turn in a rainstorm leads Englisher Amelia Devries to Michael Hostetler - and the young Amishman's charming Old Order community of Hickory Hollow. Despite their very different backgrounds, Amelia and Michael both feel hemmed in by the expectations of others and struggle with how to find room for their own hopes. And what first seems to be a chance encounter might just change their lives forever.


    * * * * * * * * * * * * *

    I enjoyed reading the first book of the Home to Hickory Hollow series The Fiddler. This book has three things I truly enjoy.... classical violin, fiddlin', and Amish life. Beverly Lewis has never failed to share the community and history of the Amish people in a loving and faithful light. This book is no exception.

    I was able to relate to Amelia and Michael. When do you stop living the expectation of your parents, etc, and stand up for you own dreams. Amelia is living two lives: one for her parents and the other for herself. Michael is striving to honor his parents and the community, but feels there is more to his faith. The Fiddler is a wonderful story of how each of them handle their conflicting emotions and future decisions.

    The Bridesmaid, Beverly Lewis' second book in the Home to Hickory Hollow Series is set to be released September 11, 2012. In this book, we will renew our friendships we made in The Fiddler.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Despite the adage not to judge a book by its cover, the visual

    Despite the adage not to judge a book by its cover, the visual impact of a book has much to do with its success or failure. Not one to normally notice what I am reading, my husband's attention recently gravitated to the cover of The Fiddler by Beverly Lewis. He wanted to know what the book was about, what the young woman caressing a violin was doing seated by an Amish man. Right away I will tell you that it was the violin that caught hubby's attention. About 11 years ago he began to play violin; in fact, he took lessons from a then 16 yr old talented young woman. Come to think of it, she sort of looked like the girl on the cover, and like Amelia in the story, playing violin was her life. Anyway, before I even started reading the book, we wondered if playing an instrument would be a point of conflict in the story.

    . Over the past thirty years, our rural Wisconsin community has gained many Amish neighbors and in fact our next door neighbors are Amish. My husband likes to play his violin outside on summer evenings and sometimes his guitar. We've never received any complaints about it (his playing is beautiful), but he and the neighbor father and son have had some conversations about music. We've been able to enjoy some of their hymn sings by being outside on Sunday evenings or opening our windows. The teenage son expressed interest in learning to play guitar, but later words with dad reinforced that the Plain people would frown on that.


    The Fiddler is definitely a book with accurate details and a sound plot. The story begins as unknown fiddler Amy Lee wows a country music crowd But the allure of the bluegrass/country scene can not claim Amy for long; she is really Amelia DeVries, a former child prodigy now one of the top classical solo violinists. Soon her agent finds out about her secret &quot;country&quot; life and demands that Amy return home. Worried that her parents and boyfriend will be upset with her recent activities, Amelia agrees. A raging rain storm, a missed turn, and a flat tire change all that, Amy ends up at a cabin near Hickory Hollow.



    Inside the cabin,25 yr old Michael has left his Amish home yet again. Unable to choose between his desire for advanced education/ and honoring his parents' wishes, Michael has never joined the church. Now at 25, his presence in the community is a problem. He rescues the stranded Amy, is captivated by her resemblance to his niece (who is caught up in her own venture into the modern world), and then by her haunting musical talent. Michael arranges a brief respite for Amy into the Amish Hickory Hollow which will change lives.



    I was pleased this story didn't quite follow the prescribed story line that I expected . As I always compare the fictional Amish with my real community, I question how readily families here would open their homes to an Englisch stranger for an extended stay. I was also disappointed that the crowd that the niece fell into were drunks and derelicts. I'm not sure why such a dark portrayal of the Englisch crowd is prevalent in many Amish fiction stories. I feel that most Plain people who are caught between the two worlds do not face such clear black/white differences. Michael's dilemma was much more realistic and better developed In the end, this is a charming story of honoring one's parents while following one's heart's desires and being confident that those desires honor God. I received a copy of this title to review. Opinions are mine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1