BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Fifth Assassin

Average Rating 4
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Wow

I love the book! I can almost hear brad meltzers voice as i read it. I enjoyed learning the factual parts. I feel like there is more to be told on the story. Enjoyed the breecher and i feel like he still has more to do. Left me hanging on the end hoping that this story ...
I love the book! I can almost hear brad meltzers voice as i read it. I enjoyed learning the factual parts. I feel like there is more to be told on the story. Enjoyed the breecher and i feel like he still has more to do. Left me hanging on the end hoping that this story keeps going. Well written with facts. Lookx like mr. Meltzer. I cant wait to read morel i have read all his books i now have a new favorite book this one and the inner circle. Still i loved the zero game.

posted by 8994687 on January 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

My problem with this book as well as the "24" story li

My problem with this book as well as the "24" story line of a Nixonian President is believeability. In this age of internet, texting, blogging, I find it difficult to accept that a criminal could be elected President. Corrupt like Agnew, but not criminal. Othe...
My problem with this book as well as the "24" story line of a Nixonian President is believeability. In this age of internet, texting, blogging, I find it difficult to accept that a criminal could be elected President. Corrupt like Agnew, but not criminal. Otherwise a fair read.

posted by Thirdyen on January 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Wow

    I love the book! I can almost hear brad meltzers voice as i read it. I enjoyed learning the factual parts. I feel like there is more to be told on the story. Enjoyed the breecher and i feel like he still has more to do. Left me hanging on the end hoping that this story keeps going. Well written with facts. Lookx like mr. Meltzer. I cant wait to read morel i have read all his books i now have a new favorite book this one and the inner circle. Still i loved the zero game.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Meltzer'ish Read!  Every time I read a Brad Meltzer book

    Great Meltzer'ish Read! 

    Every time I read a Brad Meltzer book I am reminded of how much I love his books. More than being ‘just’ an author, he is a gifted storyteller. Over and over, I am swept away into a world of political mystery and intrigue. I was introduced to him years ago by a friend of mine who swore I would love his books and she was dead-on. His books are always fast-paced and punctuated by short chapters that lead to the “fly through the book” effect and I am always left wanting more. The Fifth Assassin is no different. Bringing back his character, Beecher, The Inner Circle, this book focuses on a killer who is copying the last four presidential assassinations in a lead-up to the assassination of the current president. I won’t give away any more than that, but this might one ranks up there with my favorite Meltzer book, The Book of Fate.




    One of my favorite things about Meltzer is that he writes historical fiction without being labeled an historical fiction writer. He’s not lumped into that genre, and yet his books are always heavily entrenched in truths and theories that exist in present day. For example, in this book, he draws on the history of playing cards, the origins of their symbols, and the real-life storage of body parts at a Washington, DC museum (where I would love to visit….). This makes sense because his show, Brad Meltzer Decoded, is hugely popular and delves into the backstories of various codes and symbols, so he knows his stuff.




    In sum, this is a must-read for anyone who likes fast-paced, action-packed books that tell a real story. It’s also great for people (like me) who are interested in history because I was left Googling a lot of the nuggets of information that were dropped so surreptitiously into the novel (did they really put maps on the inside of playing cards during WWII?!). 

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    I think that the Fifth Assassin is an excellent partner to the

    I think that the Fifth Assassin is an excellent partner to the Inner Circle. I urge anyone who enjoys a great read to pick up Meltzer's latest book. You will not be disappointed and you might even learn something in the process. Five stars for this book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    My problem with this book as well as the "24" story li

    My problem with this book as well as the "24" story line of a Nixonian President is believeability. In this age of internet, texting, blogging, I find it difficult to accept that a criminal could be elected President. Corrupt like Agnew, but not criminal. Otherwise a fair read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Wo

    Its awseome

    7 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Don't bother. The plot is confusing and gets boring. I had a h

    Don't bother. The plot is confusing and gets boring. I had a hard time reading to the end, but I hate to not finish a book.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Could not get past the first 60 pages! Within those pages the st

    Could not get past the first 60 pages! Within those pages the story jumps from one the current time into multiple time periods to the point that I gave up trying to stay on track with who did what when. I cannot believe one of my favorite authors would purposly confuse readers to the point of throwing in the towel. One can`t possibly keep track of a mutltitude of characters in current time, one hundred year old murders, and mini chapters starting years ago, three hours ago, today, along with ancestores jumping back in time, etc. You need an outline and character listing along with who is related to whom guide for this one. I reread the first 65 pages 3 times prior to giving it up as hopeless.

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    The author did a good job of assimilating the four assassination

    The author did a good job of assimilating the four assassinations of the US presidents into the story line. There were many twists and turns in the plot. I did not care for last chapter ending. Too many characters were left hanging. Are we suppose to wait now for the next novel?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Did not enjoy.

    The first Brad Meltzer book I have not enjoyed. I thought it jumped around too much -- from today to another century and back and forth.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    would not recommend

    The book is difficult to read.The plot line has no contoinuity

    J J Vax

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Pass This one By

    Very Disappointing. Story line was jumbled and almost unreadable with a horrible ending.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Please kill

    Hawkstar at 'nom' first result. -Fangshadow

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    You might want to miss this one...

    Honestly, by the time I finished this book, I barely knew what was going on. I think Brad Meltzer missed the mark with this one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Average written book

    The jumping back and forth between decades was distracting and did not add much too the overall story. Hopefully this is not the trend of future books as this was a disappointing read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Dreadful

    I read everything including the back of cereal boxes. I have been reading for over 60 years. This was one of if not the worst book I have read. I want my money back and all the timei wasted reading this swamp.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    proof that every author needs an editor

    Like reading on a pogostick
    Jumps around with ahalf dozen narrators back and forth over 20+ years with no conrinuity
    Despite an intriguing storyline wasnt able to read through to the end

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Stinks. Many unconnected story lines that no amount of torturou

    Stinks. Many unconnected story lines that no amount of torturous contrivances could adequately glue together. The characters are beyond strange; their associations are not plausible. I only read to the end to see if Metzger (or his editors) found a way to make the nonsense plausible. They did not.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    below average

    I did not care for The Fifth Assassin. I read a lot of Vince Flynn and other similar authors,but this was just not holding my interest. it was not one of those you cannot put down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    would not recommend

    not one of the most enjoyable books that I have read....staggered through to the end, which was left open for a sequel

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Quit halfway through

    I struggled thru the first 60 pages or so before i decided to continue. It got interesting for a bit then fizzled. Storyline is good but the organization delivered the story in too many chopped up bits.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9