Customer Reviews for

The Fifth Assassin (Culper Ring Series #2)

Average Rating 3.5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Wow

I love the book! I can almost hear brad meltzers voice as i read it. I enjoyed learning the factual parts. I feel like there is more to be told on the story. Enjoyed the breecher and i feel like he still has more to do. Left me hanging on the end hoping that this story ...
I love the book! I can almost hear brad meltzers voice as i read it. I enjoyed learning the factual parts. I feel like there is more to be told on the story. Enjoyed the breecher and i feel like he still has more to do. Left me hanging on the end hoping that this story keeps going. Well written with facts. Lookx like mr. Meltzer. I cant wait to read morel i have read all his books i now have a new favorite book this one and the inner circle. Still i loved the zero game.

posted by 8994687 on January 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother. The plot is confusing and gets boring. I had a h

Don't bother. The plot is confusing and gets boring. I had a hard time reading to the end, but I hate to not finish a book.

posted by Oliver11 on February 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Meltzer'ish Read!  Every time I read a Brad Meltzer book

    Great Meltzer'ish Read! 

    Every time I read a Brad Meltzer book I am reminded of how much I love his books. More than being ‘just’ an author, he is a gifted storyteller. Over and over, I am swept away into a world of political mystery and intrigue. I was introduced to him years ago by a friend of mine who swore I would love his books and she was dead-on. His books are always fast-paced and punctuated by short chapters that lead to the “fly through the book” effect and I am always left wanting more. The Fifth Assassin is no different. Bringing back his character, Beecher, The Inner Circle, this book focuses on a killer who is copying the last four presidential assassinations in a lead-up to the assassination of the current president. I won’t give away any more than that, but this might one ranks up there with my favorite Meltzer book, The Book of Fate.




    One of my favorite things about Meltzer is that he writes historical fiction without being labeled an historical fiction writer. He’s not lumped into that genre, and yet his books are always heavily entrenched in truths and theories that exist in present day. For example, in this book, he draws on the history of playing cards, the origins of their symbols, and the real-life storage of body parts at a Washington, DC museum (where I would love to visit….). This makes sense because his show, Brad Meltzer Decoded, is hugely popular and delves into the backstories of various codes and symbols, so he knows his stuff.




    In sum, this is a must-read for anyone who likes fast-paced, action-packed books that tell a real story. It’s also great for people (like me) who are interested in history because I was left Googling a lot of the nuggets of information that were dropped so surreptitiously into the novel (did they really put maps on the inside of playing cards during WWII?!). 

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    The author did a good job of assimilating the four assassination

    The author did a good job of assimilating the four assassinations of the US presidents into the story line. There were many twists and turns in the plot. I did not care for last chapter ending. Too many characters were left hanging. Are we suppose to wait now for the next novel?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Ygffxc

    Vgggv

    1 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2014

    A solid follow up to The Inner Circle. I can't wait for the next

    A solid follow up to The Inner Circle. I can't wait for the next one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2014

    Excellent read, blending historical factoids about the president

    Excellent read, blending historical factoids about the presidential assassins into a modern day plot. Characters are interesting and complex, with unexpected plot twists . Hard to put down, just kept wanting to read another chapter. I'm hooked. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Very good thinking man(or woman's) read.

    I enjoyed this book but will probably have to read a 2nd and 3rd time to catch all of his insights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    Ratings: 3 1/2 Stars I always love a good conspiracy, especially

    Ratings: 3 1/2 Stars
    I always love a good conspiracy, especially one that is well thought-out and smart. In The Fifth Assassin, Brad Meltzer will have you flipping the pages from the beginning. Unfortunately, that’s the best it’s going to get. After the whole inciting incident, some chapters are full of tension and will have you flipping the pages for more while others will test your endurance and your will to finish a book.
    This book is the third in a series (of sorts). I read the other two books that introduced Nico (our knight) and the Culper Ring but that was awhile ago and I forgot them. However, Meltzer does a good job in reintroducing you to the concept so that readers won’t get confused and can read this book as a standalone book.
    Another good thing he is an expert on is on characters. Meltzer’s character are top-notch! He makes sure to add in just enough backstory to have you sympathizing with the characters and even make you like the “villains”.
    I would have given this book a much higher rating (minimum 4 stars) because of its amazing characters, conspiracy, plot, and writing. However, the structure pretty much made it too iffy for me.
    In his quest to create an illusion of mystery, Meltzer jumps around from narrator to narrator, which wouldn’t have been too bad, but he also jumps around chronologically as well. It was the whole keeping track of WHO IS NARRATING WHERE AT WHAT YEAR every single chapter that basically irked me throughout the entire book. And, each chapter is like the average thriller-novel length (in other words, SHORT). When I am reading, I want to lose myself in the world and not have to concern myself with the technicalities of the setting.
    Overall, it was a good book. Meltzer’s fan will enjoy reading it. Conspiracies buff will emerge with a new conspiracy to talk about. However, not a book I would recommend to people who asks me for thriller recommendations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    ,

    This book was a little slow in the beginning, but got really good once it got going. The ending left me wanting for more, it just seemed to stop without wrapping up a few things. Maybe there will be another book coming out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Great Read for History Buff

    This is the second book I have read by this author and I am quickly falling in love with his show on the history channel. This book was a little bit slower to me than The Inner Circle but a good book nonetheless. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    A Very Good Read

    Kept my interest all the way thru. Ending left me wanting more ,hope there's a number two!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Holy cow, what a story. There are so many twists and turns it is hard to put this read down. I will read more of Meltzer hoping to pick up even more adventures with Beecher and Marshal,two main characters linked together from childhood along with an unlikely player, Clementine. Read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Good quick read

    Very enjoyable second in series. I will definitely follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    The fifth assassin

    Good read, very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Typical Brad Meltzer

    Typical Brad Meltzer story line , fast paced with a lot of twist and turns..It was also good to see him bring back Beecher and the gang from the "Inner Circle."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Great Read!

    This is the second Beecher book, and I liked it even more than the first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good Intrigue!

    The Fifth Assassin is built around the premise that all four of the U.S. Presidents who were assassinated while in office was actually part of some dark conspiracy by a group who have been around covertly for over 150 years.

    Religious figures around Washington, D.C. are being murdered using the same methods as each of the late Presidents. Is this a resurgence of this group, known as The Knights of the Golden Circle? Is the current president in danger? What is the message being sent? After all, this group has long thought to have been eliminated.

    Beecher White, a Washington insider and new a member of another group with a long history, the Culper Ring becomes convinced that the Knights are back in action. As he risks his own safety to find the answers, he finds himself traveling back into his past and the children he knew as a boy. They are somehow involved.

    Could his childhood friend, Marshall, who works covertly directly under the President's instruction, be a Knight or his he an ally in the quest to save the President?

    Brad Meltzer has done a superb job of creating doubt around every corner. The pace is non-stop and edgy with all of the trappings of a good conspiracy thriller!

    This copy was provided by NetGalley and Grand Central Publishing in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    If you liked "The Inner Circle", you will like this bo

    If you liked "The Inner Circle", you will like this book as well. I enjoyed the historical tidbits throughout the book and its relevance to the world today. It's a quick, easy read and just like Brad's other books - enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Hard to put down

    Great book, full of history full of suprises ....I love the people in this book and hope to see more of them.... Cadia

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2