Customer Reviews for

The Final Cut

Average Rating 4
( 138 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(65)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A great start to a new series. The Final Cut is book one in a

A great start to a new series. The Final Cut is book one in a series introducing Det. Chief Inspector Nicholas Drummond of New Scotland Yard. DCI Drummonds ends up coming over the pond to investigate the theft of the Koh-I-Noor diamond from the Queen Mother's Crown wh...
A great start to a new series. The Final Cut is book one in a series introducing Det. Chief Inspector Nicholas Drummond of New Scotland Yard. DCI Drummonds ends up coming over the pond to investigate the theft of the Koh-I-Noor diamond from the Queen Mother's Crown while it is on exhibit at the Metropolitan Museum. One of the wrinkles in the theft is the possibility that the Scotland Yard officer who came to coordinate security might have been part of the plot prior to being murdered.

Nicholas is partnered with FBI Agent Michaela (Mike) Caine to work on the case with assistance from favorite Coulter characters Savich and Sherlock. The prime suspect is a famous thief known as the Fox who spent two year inserting herself into the exhibit and planning the theft.

Ms. Coulter has collaborated with J.T. Ellison, a well-known mystery writer, to create this new series. I really enjoyed the intricate details of how the theft was done and how the Fox set up the whole operation. Nicholas and Mike are always one step behind the Fox and end up chasing her all the way to Europe. I also liked the interplay between Nicholas, who is a bit of a rule bender, and Mike who isn't. As the bodies began piling up, the suspense quotient rose as well.

There is a hint of future romantic possibilities with Nicholas and Mike but the book is really focused on the theft of the diamond and the motive of the person who has commissioned the Fox to do the theft. There is a significant twist towards the end of the book involving a secondary character and the ending is left open for one of the main characters in a surprisingly satisfying way.
One of the best things about these collaborations is enjoying an author that you have read before, in my case the FBI series by Ms. Coulter, and discovering a new author who has lots of books that you can read. Add to the mix an excellent book to begin the new series and it’s a win-win situation.

posted by SharonRedfern on September 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Yea

Worth the money

posted by Anonymous on September 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A great start to a new series. The Final Cut is book one in a

    A great start to a new series. The Final Cut is book one in a series introducing Det. Chief Inspector Nicholas Drummond of New Scotland Yard. DCI Drummonds ends up coming over the pond to investigate the theft of the Koh-I-Noor diamond from the Queen Mother's Crown while it is on exhibit at the Metropolitan Museum. One of the wrinkles in the theft is the possibility that the Scotland Yard officer who came to coordinate security might have been part of the plot prior to being murdered.

    Nicholas is partnered with FBI Agent Michaela (Mike) Caine to work on the case with assistance from favorite Coulter characters Savich and Sherlock. The prime suspect is a famous thief known as the Fox who spent two year inserting herself into the exhibit and planning the theft.

    Ms. Coulter has collaborated with J.T. Ellison, a well-known mystery writer, to create this new series. I really enjoyed the intricate details of how the theft was done and how the Fox set up the whole operation. Nicholas and Mike are always one step behind the Fox and end up chasing her all the way to Europe. I also liked the interplay between Nicholas, who is a bit of a rule bender, and Mike who isn't. As the bodies began piling up, the suspense quotient rose as well.

    There is a hint of future romantic possibilities with Nicholas and Mike but the book is really focused on the theft of the diamond and the motive of the person who has commissioned the Fox to do the theft. There is a significant twist towards the end of the book involving a secondary character and the ending is left open for one of the main characters in a surprisingly satisfying way.
    One of the best things about these collaborations is enjoying an author that you have read before, in my case the FBI series by Ms. Coulter, and discovering a new author who has lots of books that you can read. Add to the mix an excellent book to begin the new series and it’s a win-win situation.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Koh-i-Noor diamond¿s been stolen from the Queen Mother¿s cro

    The Koh-i-Noor diamond’s been stolen from the Queen Mother’s crown while on loan for a special exhibit at the NY Metropolitan Art Museum, taken from right under the noses of the Met’s security and the New York FBI.
    Chief Inspector Nicholas Drummond from New Scotland Yard is on his way to the US, against the wishes of his superior to assist in investigating an associate’s murder when he learns of the theft of the diamond and his associate’s alleged connection to the crime.
    NY FBI Special Agent Mike Caine’s been assigned to investigate the murder of the English woman when she learns her ex-boss’s Scotland Yard nephew will be joining her. They soon find themselves embroiled in the search for the infamous diamond and the elusive jewel thief known as Fox and is surprised by the Fox’s proximity to them before the crime.
    Mike and Nick will face a multitude of dangers while searching for this cunning adversary. They must act quickly before the trail goes cold, before the diamond disappears forever and the clues get lost in the smoke and mirrors of this never before caught thief. They will have to rely on many international allies in law enforcement and battle many enemies while they globetrot to try and solve this crime. It’s up in the air if they’ll even survive let alone recover this cursed diamond.

    Catherine Coulter and JT Ellison are both fabulous authors both with very individual voices and writing styles and have accomplished a feat that many before them have failed at, a true literary collaboration that’s an amazing brilliantly told plus an intensely entertaining story. It’s a true melding of the incredible and somewhat light crime drama of Catherine with the darker yet just as astonishing hard-boiled police procedural of JT. Their storyline is convincingly authentic, their combined narrative is an edge of your seat puzzle that twists and turns while painting beautiful pictures of all the breathtaking places they go and the dialogue is cop speak all the way. The two main protagonists are realistic in their roles, but each has that special panache that sets them apart and makes them interesting and unique. The co-stars of both cops and robbers are all fantastic and we also get to reconnect with Catherine’s legendary and iconic couple, FBI agents extraordinaire Dillon Savich and Lacy Sherlock whose appearance and contributions to the story is a perfect fit. If you’re a fan of either author or the genre in general you will love this first in a new series by them.
    Ladies Brava for this incredible journey, I personally can’t wait to see where Mike and Nick go from here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Good book

    Good book but it had a little to much of thr 80s non stop action feel to it. Good book just not quite as belivable as some of her others, cant wait to see where her new crime fighting duo takes us though!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    When I heard that Catherine Coulter and  J.T. Ellison collaborat

    When I heard that Catherine Coulter and  J.T. Ellison collaborated to write a story together, I could not wait to read it. I certainly was hoping that I would be given the chance to read and review The Final Cut. So when I received the notification from librarything that I had won a copy to read and review, I was beyond ecstatic!




    Let me tell you all my enthusiasm leading up to the his book was not misplaced. The Final Cut is a full of mystery, suspense, intrigue, and charming characters. I could not turn the pages fast enough, I kept wondering what in the world could possibly happen next!  I just have to say this certainly is a page turner.




    Nicholas Drummond is handsome, charming, smart, and one creative detective. He is determined to find out what happened to Elaine his ex-partner and find the missing Koh-i-Noor. When Nicholas arrives in the states he meets and works closely with Mike Caine in solving all the mysteries going on. These two work great together and were a LOT of fun to read about. Their investigation takes them to many different locations and puts them in a lot of very interesting, very dangerous situations.




    Mike Caine is a very dedicated FBI agent who wants to get to the bottom of all the mysteries that are going on all of a sudden. When Nicholas Drummond joins the investigation she is a little hesitant at first. It is not long before she is thanking Nicholas for his instincts and she finds inspector Drummond to be very intriguing.




    If you are already a fan of Catherine Coulter's work you are going to be pleased by the appearance of Dillon Savich and Lacy Sherlock, whom help with the investigation. 




    Over all this is just a very suspenseful mystery with lots of action and drama. I can not wait to see what Ms. Coulter & Ms. Ellison come up with next. They left a nice opening for another great story at the end of the book. I'm going to be very curious to seem what is going to happen next. I look forward to reading more and more from both of these talented authors. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Tedious reading

    Unless you are the genre addict and quality of this genre combo will do if nothing better you can give it five mom

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Derp

    Jghj

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Yea

    Worth the money

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Must read

    Just as good,if not better than the FBI series. Added bonus, Sherlock and Savich are in the thick of it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Promising new series

    Coulter's new heroic pair, Drummond and York, are not Sherlock and Savitch--yet, but they may be soon. Smart and savvy, they take on diverse villains in Europe as well as the USA. I really enjoyed spending time with these characters, and hope the second installment arrives soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2013

    Yes, you should read it. It was Coulter as we knew her writing

    Yes, you should read it. It was Coulter as we knew her writing a few books back. I wasn't sure I'd read another one of her books, tho. The last couple were not up to par but I'm glad I did. This new series seems to have all of the suspense and action missing in the previous two. they felt contrived but this one is solid. Will miss Savage and Sherlock but maybe this couple will be a good replacement. We will see what the next one is like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    good

    Looking forward to the next book to see if mike and nick come together romantically that was the only thinh missing no romance

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Ggjbc

    Badddd

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    A good followup to all the other FBI books I've read.

    I love Catherine Coulter's FBI Series. I've read each and everyone of them and will read as many as she writes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2014

    Wow! A roller coaster ride!

    James Bond has nothing on Nicholas Drummond. This is a page-turner that I couldn't put down. Anxious to read more of this newest member of the FBI.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2014

    I love Catherine Coulter's FBI series with Savich and Sherlock a

    I love Catherine Coulter's FBI series with Savich and Sherlock and was willing to give this new series a try. NOT disappointed!!!! Loved the way Mike and Nicholas learned to work as a team and the beginnings of a new relationship. I hope they actually get together in the next book. I love that Savich and Sherlock are married and would love another couple to follow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    First but not the last Coulter book i will read.

    This is the first Catherine Coulter book i have read. It is the kind of story that keeps you reading late into the night because you must find out what happens next. Exciting story, likeable characters, a great read. In fact, i enjoyed Coulter's Final Cut so much I ordered the first two FBI book series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    pleasantly surprised.Ready to see this hero have his own series.He could work both sides of the pond.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Recommended

    Excellent reading, good characters and a nice ending. Will continue to read Coulter books enthusiastically.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Best Book

    Great Book, and a page turner. Ithink this her best yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    highly recommended

    Again Cathrine has written a great book, I am looking forward to her next book with Nichlos

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 138 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7