Customer Reviews for

The Final Four

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Simply, Paul Volponi's best novel. I was moved by the characters

    Simply, Paul Volponi's best novel. I was moved by the characters, atmosphere, and the action. Imagine a player named Michael Jordon who warms the bench, and he's only one of four standout characters. I'm not surprised this book was awarded three starred reviews--SLJ, Booklist, and BCCB. I think it's one of the best books of the year.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    ¿Swish¿, the crowd is roaring at this Trojan War in the Final


    “Swish”, the crowd is roaring at this Trojan War in the Final Four with heavily favored Michigan St. Spartans and the Trojans of Troy, the Cinderella story. This is the Trojans second time in the tournament, and last time they were one-and done. The Trojans are led by their center, Crispin Rice, and their point guard, Roko Bacic,” Red Bull”. The Trojans are led by heir star freshman, Malcolm McBride,” One-and-Done”. This is an epic thriller to the end.
    Adam W.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Great read

    Im a basketball fanatic and i stood up for days reading it from start to finish! I hope my journey it like that bit better great read;)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2014

        (Warning: Spoilers ahead) As I read this book, it became mor

        (Warning: Spoilers ahead) As I read this book, it became more compelling to me.  
    I absolutely love this book. Not just because of the high-intensity basketball game that is being played,
    but because of the different types of characters and their background.
    This is definitely a must read for teens who enjoy sports and drama amongst people.
    The Final Four by Paul Volponi, is a semifinal game of the of the NCAA tournament called March Madness.
    The four teams that are in the semifinals are North Carolina, Duke, Michigan State, and Troy.
    This game focuses on the match between the Michigan State Spartans and the Cinderella team of the tournament,
    Troy Trojans. The main protagonist of the book is Michigan State's point guard, Malcom McBride, who after the
    tournament ends, will be entering the NBA draft after one year of college. The Final Four focuses on four main
    players: Malcom McBride, Roko Bacic, Crispin Rice, and Michael Jordan. No, not Space Jam Michael Jordan, the
    Michigan State benchwarmer Michael Jordan. Paul Volponi doesn't just focus on the players in the game, but he
    also focuses on the backgrounds of the four players. First there is Malcom McBride, a basketball player who can't
    shut his mouth and has witnessed the death of his sister in a drive by shooting. Next there is Roko Bacic, a man
    who has come to the United States from Croatia after the mafia killed his Uncle Drâzen. Crispin Rice is a man who
    a couple weeks earlier made a buzzer beater shot to win the game for his team, Troy Trojans. After he makes the
    shot, he proposes to his girlfriend, Hope. He gets distracted by the engagement and has been in a shooting slump
    as of late. He hopes this is his comeback game. Michael Jordan, named after the greatest basketball player of all
    time, is not living up to the hype of his name. After one of his teammates foul out, he gets his chance to shine.
    The game goes into quadruple overtime, but the Michigan State Spartans come out on top and play
    North Carolina for the NCAA championship, (but I'm not going to tell you who wins). The best things about the
    book, in my opinion, are the inside look at the NCAA and what it really does to a collegiate athlete. Also great are
    the different points of view that give the book some life, and the transformation of the characters from beginning
    to end. For its action, suspense, and characters, this is one of the best books I've ever read. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Great book!

    I am a 6 grader and i am 12. This is honestly the best book i have ever read in my life! Each chapter having new exitments, any body my age or even age 60 would love this book! Great read! I would say why i like it and what its about, but i want everyone to find out themselves by purchesing this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    This book is amazing

    This is one of the best books u can ever read

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Buyer Beware!

    I purchased this Nook book but it was blank. I called 1-800-THE-BOOK and have been given a refund...but I still don't have the book. The publisher has to fix this type of problem, not Nook support. I'd like to know when/if this ever gets fixed because I really would like to purchase this book!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    Ok

    This book has a spectacular structure and pace. The only problem I have with it is that the editor could have made some better choices when it came to language. I would reccomend this book for sportslovers 11 and up. Let your parent know before you purchase this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Cool

    Best book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1