Customer Reviews for

The Financial Lives of the Poets

Average Rating 4
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    Well-told tale

    An amusing tale of a man who makes a series of bad decisions and the reader can almost understand why. The topics are serious and timely but told with such humor you can't really be dragged down. I recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Lillyhollow

    Pads in.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An emotional, poignant novel

    I have to admit, a novel titled The Financial Lives of The Poets is not something I would normally rush to read. Why would I care about finance and poets? But since people I respect raved about this book, I gave it a try.

    I'm so glad I did! Jess Walter has written a dazzling story of a young suburban family in the throws of the national economic crisis that threatens not only their financial stability but their very existence as a family unit.

    Matt left his job as a business writer at a newspaper to follow his dream- a website devoted to financial news, with advice columns written in poetry. Even in the best of times, this sounds like a risky venture. Matt and his wife Lisa take another mortgage on their house to invest in the company, and then the housing market crashes.

    Matt goes back to his job at the newspaper, only to be laid off when newspapers begin to lose advertisers and readers. Lisa works at a boring job she hates for little money and expresses her dissatisfaction by buying collectibles that she hopes to resell on Ebay. Now their garage is filled with boxes of junk she is unable to unload.

    Their house will soon be in foreclosure, and their children will be forced to leave their lovely Catholic school and go to the dangerous neighborhood public school. Matt's father, who suffers from dementia, has moved in with them after he met a stripper who stole all of his money, and Lisa is contemplating an affair with her old boyfriend. What's a man to do?

    After Matt meets up with some young potheads at the 7-11 one night, he becomes enmeshed in their lives. He hangs out with them hoping to forget his troubles. Eventually, as sometimes happens when under the influence of pot, a plan is created that Matt hopes will solve his money problems.

    The author writes well for his characters. The disintegrating marriage of Matt and Lisa is sad to watch.
    "We're in a perpetual stalemate here; lost. I can see how we got here- after each bad decision, after each failure we quietly logged our blame, our petty resentments; we constructed a case against each other that we never prosecuted. As long as both cases remained unstated, the charges sealed, we had a tacit peace; you don't mention this and I won't mention that, this and that growing and changing and becoming everything, until the only connection between us was this bridge of quiet guilt and recrimination."
    While Lisa and Matt fall apart, Matt's relationship with his dad is so touching. Anyone who has someone in their own family with dementia will relate to Matt and his dad, the loving patience Matt shows his father, the loss of a once-proud man's self-reliance.

    Fans of Jonathan Tropper's This Is Where I Leave You should run to get this book. As a woman, I find this glimpse into the male psyche fascinating. (The cover is even reminiscent of TV's Mad Men opening credits with the falling man.) Matt's poetry is cleverly sprinkled throughout the book, adding an extra dimension for the reader. Walter's look at the economic crisis through the prism of this one family is an emotional, poignant ride.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Current, Witty, Laugh Out Loud

    I was hooked by page 3. A current novel set amongst the wreckage of the recent financial meltdown, it touches on romance, drugs, deceit, the American Dream, redemption, and a bit of clever poetry. It's a quick, funny read that I shared with my 18 yr old daughter, who laughed in all the same places I did. Wonderful comic imagery, captivating writing. Can't wait to read his other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Read

    The economy hasn't been kind to Matt Prior. A business newspaper journalist, he decided to make the big jump to start his own business. His business idea? A website where investors could go to get investment advice written in poetry. Hmmm, how's that working out for you Matt? Not well. Having used his savings to start the site and quickly realizing that there was no market, Matt jumps back to his newspaper job, just in time for the layoffs that are plaguing that market.

    So, Matt is unemployed, savings gone. His wife, Lisa, went on her own get-rich quick scheme; buying scores of collectibles from Ebay that she planned to store for a few years and sell at a huge profit. To finance this, she has maxed out their credit cards.

    Matt has social problems as well. He is the caretaker for his father. His father's dementia increases every day. Matt's two boys are moving further and further away from him as they grow up. He discovers that Lisa has struck up a relationship with her high school sweetheart online, and it seems ready to move into a more physical realm.

    There they sit, Matt unemployed, Lisa employed in a marginal job, no savings, deep in credit card debt. Matt hasn't even told Lisa that he's been avoiding a foreclosure notice on their house. He visits their financial planner and cashes out everything left. What to do, what to do? Stressed, he leaves his house one night to go get milk for the morning cereal. At the local 7-11, he falls in somehow with a group of stoners, who take him to their apartment, where he gets stoned for the first time in twenty years.

    Suddenly, his great revelation occurs! He can sell pot to finance his way out of financial crisis. There is a whole market of older, professional men and women who used to smoke and would probably jump at the chance to buy some pot from someone they trusted. Matt uses his entire retirement savings to finance this new career choice.

    This all sounds bleak, but in reality, this is one of the most upbeat books I've read lately. I laughed out loud repeatedly, following Matt on his adventures. Jess Walter has a perfect ability to write characters that breathe and stretch on the page, individuals you know in your own life. This ability to make believable characters allows him to stretch reality, as the reader can always see what led the character to make what would normally be a horrible choice. It's fairly uncommon that I read one book by an author and rush out to find more by him, but I'm rushing out for more Jess Walter books. This book is highly recommended for fans of literature and current events.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and crazy ride set during the latest financial crisis!

    The Financial Lives of the Poets

    Synopsis:
    Successful throughout his life, Matt Prior finds himself in the unexpected position of being unemployed, deeply in debt and weeks away from losing his home. Things have been difficult at home and he can't bare to tell his wife the true state of their finances. Matt continues with the everyday life - caring for the children, applying for jobs, negotiating with their mortgage lender, and the usual household chores. When one late night, Matt discovers a possible solution - wacky and dangerous though it may be - to solve their financial hell, he decides to give it a go.

    Review: In Jess Walter's The Financial Lives of the Poets, Matt Prior goes on a hilarious and absurd adventure triggered by today's financial crisis. Matt has his own crooked logic that will leave you chuckling, whether he's plotting ways to sabotage his wife's flirtation with her high school boyfriend or eke revenge against M_ who laid him or finding ways to reassure his father during his slow descent to senility. A fun and crazy ride - highly recommended!

    Publisher: Harper (September 22, 2009), 304 pages.
    Review copy courtesy of TLC Book Tours.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Good!

    Really good. The title may throw you off but this was a clever, sometimes funny book about a serious and currently relevant topic. Give this one a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Helow frekeledkit walks in and says nice to meet u

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    light, enjoyable, funny

    light, enjoyable, funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Entertaining read

    I recommend this book. Its entertaining and creative. I would read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not a bad book

    great opener, but it did seem to get a bit tired. Ironically, I just read a similar book of the same theme. I guess it's the time for these stories to come out.

    #9.99boycott

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    Perspicacious Literature

    This book has enriched me soulfully and educationally in ways indescribable in the English language. The ironic and witty style Jess Walter maintains throughout this book (and other novels) continues to captivate and amaze me. I read this book in an attempt to keep myself busy, seeing that my parents had grounded me, and finished in a matter of days. Looking back there is not one thing I wished would have been different. Because the book is relatively short compared to the widely read unimaginative roman a clefs consumed by people today, I was amazed to find how much I had formed an emotional bond with the characters. I hoped that Matt would successfully sell his pot and that Jamie would get away clean even though I had only known these characters for a matter of days. It could have been partially because Jess Walter is from my town or that Anne Walter was my school's counsilor, but this is one of my favorite reads in all of 2011.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Relevant, Current and Poetic

    Jess Walter rights with a voice that is relevant to todays current society. In step with the financial crisis and societal demands facing married couples trying to raise a family and find their way in a world that does not live up to the after college hype of what was once promised. His characters literally trip into a fantasy of what once was and find themselves recreating who they are while trying to hold onto whatever shreds of reality is left to them.
    Humorous and poignant I enjoyed the read, the ride and the revelations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    Great read! Funny and intelligent.

    This is the first book I've read by Jess Walter and am looking forward to reading the others. It's a great read - a simple story told well. The pace is frenetic and the character takes you for a ride along on his life. It is clearly a commentary so you lose a little bit in the depth of the secondary characters but it doesn't make the story any less entertaining. Jess Walters has a very deft hand and uses language brilliantly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Jess Walter is a pretty funny guy

    This book was a lot funnier than I expected it to be. The protaganist, Matt Prior,finds himself in a tough spot. A victim of the financial crisis, unemployment, and a compulsive and unfaithful wife, Matt is pretty desperate to find a solution to these things. However, his solutions include buying a bunch of wood from his wife's high school sweetheart (which he can't afford) and trying his hand at dealing weed. A brief overview of the plot of this novel might leave you thinking that the book would be gimmicky and stupid, just a written version of Showtime's hit series WEEDS. However, Walter manages to use these plot devices to connect the protagonist and the reader to the realities facing many American's today. Even Matt's obligation to care for his senile father represents a common struggle facing baby boomers today. How do you balance the needs of your wife and kids with the need to care for someone who cared for you your entire life? So while the writting is witty and contains a fair amount of stoner humor, the themes of this novel reach much deeper into the conciousness of the American experience. This book is a great commentary on American greed and the expectations we all have which contributed to our collective struggles in the past few years.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The man circling the drain

    This is a pinhole peep at a man whose life is in disarray. First he loses his job as a journalist, and then, gradually, we see him losing all good sense. Windmilling on the edge of disaster, our protagonist struggles in vain to keep up his end of what had been a life with benefits: a big new house, a wife, and two kids in private school. He had me snorting with runaway laughter. Everything is on the skewed side of perfectly possible...one has the sense of trying to reason with someone who's smoked too much pot. Their mind rotates, quickly at first, and then in smaller and smaller circles, until they reach some inevitable stupid conclusion, much like the protagonist in this book. Gets his life in a twist and continues to dig and dig until everything is completely buried. Walter is up to his old tricks in ...Poets, after his huge successes with Citizen Vince and The Zero.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    This was an exceptionally enjoyable and witty book

    While the premise is absurb (financial poetry? come on!) this author is very gifted and I found the pages flying by. Extremely funny and ultimately very satisfying.

    Definitely recommended! I enjoyed it so much I looked up this author's other books but, strangly enough, none of them sounded particicularly good to me -- go figure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4