BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Firebird

Average Rating 4.5
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Confession: When I saw that The Firebird would be released a mon

Confession: When I saw that The Firebird would be released a month earlier in Canada than it would be in the US, I created an Amazon.ca account and had it expedited to me. Worth it. I knew when I saw that this book was a continuation of The Winter Sea that I would love ...
Confession: When I saw that The Firebird would be released a month earlier in Canada than it would be in the US, I created an Amazon.ca account and had it expedited to me. Worth it. I knew when I saw that this book was a continuation of The Winter Sea that I would love it.

There are two stories at the heart of The Firebird. In the modern-day story, Nicola Marter is a woman who has the gift of psychometry. She can touch objects and see glimpses of people who owned them in the past. Nicola has struggled for years to be “normal” and to hide or suppress her ability. But when Nicola touches the wooden figurine of the firebird, the tug of its past is so strong that she has an inadvertent vision of its history. This vision sets her off on a journey to discovery the truth about the firebird’s origins. Nicola also reaches out to Rob, a former flame whose power of psychometry is more practiced than her own, for help with her journey.

The other story involves Anna, a child whose family is so entangled in Jacobite politics that, for her own safety, she is sent from home to an adopted family, to a convent in Ypres, to France, and eventually to Russia. As a child, Anna learns some hard lessons about who she can trust, and she grows into a young lady who is well-adjusted and well-mannered but guards her heart ferociously. When Anna meets Edmund O’Connor, she begins to wonder if she’s truly the good judge of people and their motives that she considers herself.

Kearsley is a fabulously talented writer. Her descriptions are wonderful, and her characters have great depth and authenticity. I’ve read in other reviews that some people found her use of Scottish dialect distracting, but it didn’t bother me. I’m very particular (and sometimes unfairly judgmental) about books that have supernatural elements, but I enjoyed the use of psychometry in this book. I found the concept interesting, and Kearsley’s way of moving between time periods felt fluid to me.

When I finished this book, I had the feeling that I can only describe as “book catharsis.” I was so pleased by what I had read, and at the same time, I wished Kearsley would have written 200 more pages. Such a great read!

posted by Ashley_UNC on June 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good but not great

I am still about 100 pages from the end, and it is good but not as good, in my opinion, as other books of hers that I have read and enjoyed. I get a little bored with long descriptions of buildings and gardens and scenery. I skip over that to get to the part where the c...
I am still about 100 pages from the end, and it is good but not as good, in my opinion, as other books of hers that I have read and enjoyed. I get a little bored with long descriptions of buildings and gardens and scenery. I skip over that to get to the part where the characters actually do or say something. And it is getting a little bit difficult to keep up with the historical figures. But, all that being said, I am interested to see how it ends and will finish it. It's just not a "can't put it down" kind of book.

posted by lovemNOOKTN on July 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    Confession: When I saw that The Firebird would be released a mon

    Confession: When I saw that The Firebird would be released a month earlier in Canada than it would be in the US, I created an Amazon.ca account and had it expedited to me. Worth it. I knew when I saw that this book was a continuation of The Winter Sea that I would love it.

    There are two stories at the heart of The Firebird. In the modern-day story, Nicola Marter is a woman who has the gift of psychometry. She can touch objects and see glimpses of people who owned them in the past. Nicola has struggled for years to be “normal” and to hide or suppress her ability. But when Nicola touches the wooden figurine of the firebird, the tug of its past is so strong that she has an inadvertent vision of its history. This vision sets her off on a journey to discovery the truth about the firebird’s origins. Nicola also reaches out to Rob, a former flame whose power of psychometry is more practiced than her own, for help with her journey.

    The other story involves Anna, a child whose family is so entangled in Jacobite politics that, for her own safety, she is sent from home to an adopted family, to a convent in Ypres, to France, and eventually to Russia. As a child, Anna learns some hard lessons about who she can trust, and she grows into a young lady who is well-adjusted and well-mannered but guards her heart ferociously. When Anna meets Edmund O’Connor, she begins to wonder if she’s truly the good judge of people and their motives that she considers herself.

    Kearsley is a fabulously talented writer. Her descriptions are wonderful, and her characters have great depth and authenticity. I’ve read in other reviews that some people found her use of Scottish dialect distracting, but it didn’t bother me. I’m very particular (and sometimes unfairly judgmental) about books that have supernatural elements, but I enjoyed the use of psychometry in this book. I found the concept interesting, and Kearsley’s way of moving between time periods felt fluid to me.

    When I finished this book, I had the feeling that I can only describe as “book catharsis.” I was so pleased by what I had read, and at the same time, I wished Kearsley would have written 200 more pages. Such a great read!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book!

    Excellently researched, this book was riveting! I could not put it down. Three stories in one; spanning centuries and countries; somewhat parallel love stories! Susanna Kearsley really did her homework on this one! I wish I could find a book group with which to discuss this.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful!  I read it in one night and wish it didn't have to en

    Beautiful!  I read it in one night and wish it didn't have to end.  I love Ms. Kearsley's storytelling.   Her characters always feel so real.  After reading the Winter Sea, I was afraid this one would fall short....it most certainly didn't.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Susanna Kearsley does not let you down! I loved this book from

    Susanna Kearsley does not let you down! I loved this book from the very first page, she has a gift for taking you on her time travel adventures.
    I would recommend this book to anyone who loves historical fiction and time
    traveling.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    Highly Recommended. Please buy

    Ms. Kearsely, please continue to write your wonderful stories. Great novel. Good storyline.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    I absolutely love this author!  I find her characters so appeali

    I absolutely love this author!  I find her characters so appealing, I can see into their very thoughts and mannerisms.  She does not a paint a very vivid physical appearance of her characters, but their lives and thoughts are so easily pictured.  I just love all her books, I will continue to read others as they become available. If you love Historical Fiction with a bit of paranormal, but tastefully done, then she is a great author to read. Firebird is just as good as her others, in fact I believe one of the better ones.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Enjoyed

    I so loved Winter Sea, that I figured I would enjoy Firebird and was not disappointed. I had not expected that they were tied together. I look forward to reading Shadowy Horses, although I gather from other reviews I will have read out of order but I think that will be OK. I also enjoyed the authors words at the end about her research and how many of the characters in her novel were actually real people. Well done and I will recommend to be read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    Amazing.  Please read A Winter Sea and Shadowy Horses before yo

    Amazing.  Please read A Winter Sea and Shadowy Horses before yo read this novel.  All of them are amazingly wonderful, but if you read those other books first, you will appreciate this tale even more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    A great book

    I read The Winter Sea and loved it! I didn't want the story to end. Well this book Firebird, is best read after that one!
    Anna is an engaging young woman, and has deep ties to the characters in The Winter Sea. Her loyalty, her passion and even the relationships she finds herself in were what made this such a good read.
    And the love of Nickola & Rob was an interesting tale as well.
    I'd reccomend this book, I couldn't put it down.
    G

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Really liked it.

    Really liked it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Another great book

    Recently discovered this author and have read almost all of her books....loved the way it tied into another story. I had a difficult time putting it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Good but not great

    I am still about 100 pages from the end, and it is good but not as good, in my opinion, as other books of hers that I have read and enjoyed. I get a little bored with long descriptions of buildings and gardens and scenery. I skip over that to get to the part where the characters actually do or say something. And it is getting a little bit difficult to keep up with the historical figures. But, all that being said, I am interested to see how it ends and will finish it. It's just not a "can't put it down" kind of book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    Great For Book Club

    Our book club read this and everyone actually agreed (for once) that this was a fun and easy book to read. We loved the characters, the history, the time travel, the descriptions, and the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    Fun easy read-very enjoyable

    My sister calls novels like these "time traveling bodice rippers." The characters are likeable, have a good chemistry, and follow a plot that is interesting. This was a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2014

    The Winter Sea was my first Susanna Kearsley novel and I loved i

    The Winter Sea was my first Susanna Kearsley novel and I loved it.  I had read that both it and Shadowy Horses were represented in this book and was so excited.  I was NOT disappointed.  Ms. Kearsley has written another really immersive novel that you just can't walk away from.  

    The Firebird can stand alone, but if you read the other two first your experience will be so much deeper.  I appreciate the fact that the female lead is struggling with the supernatural abilities she possesses.  The relationship in this one is different than the others as well in that the players already knew each other.   All in all another fabulous timeslip/history/romance/mystery from this incredible author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Loved the surprises, chemistry

    Just when I was afeart that this story would end differently, the author pleasantly delivers. Great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Loved Loved Loved this book!

    This book continues the story started in Winter Sea. However this story is told in a completely different and interesting way. I adored the new characters in this novel. I love that you got not just the Jacobite history but it went from Scotland to France to St. Petersberg. And while you are traveling the continent, you get to follow two sets of characters as they find themselves and fall in love. Not only will I read more books by this author but I intend to read this book again. It was that good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Susanna Kearsley has done it again!

    This is the 4th book of hers that I've read, and I'm looking forward to more. Susanna Kearsley has a way of drawing in the reader so that you really begin to care about the characters. This book is a sequel to The Winter Sea, and it was almost like coming home for a visit. I cried through the last 80 pages because I cared so much about what happened to the characters, both present-day and in the past. Highly recommended; you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Excellent story!

    The heorine in this story has a special talent of her own; but is afraid to admit or really use it. Through her talent she discovers a story of love that happened long ago. This tale has a lot of adventure and history and secrecy about a Firebird. Where did it come from and who did it belong to originally? And will true love be waiting when the secret is uncovered at last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Interesting

    This book moved a little too slow for me. I ended up reading a more fast paced book in the middle. I will go back and finish this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6