Customer Reviews for

The First Deadly Sin

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Loved it!!

    This is the first time I've read this author and I plan to read more of his books. Had my attention all the way thru - hated to put it down. You won't be sorry buying this one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Loved this series when I originally read it and it is just as go

    Loved this series when I originally read it and it is just as good the second time around., I rarely read books more than once,  but enjoyed this as much as the first time. I am happy that I can add Lawrence Sanders work to my Nook  collection.      

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    I read this book many years ago and was so happy to see it avail

    I read this book many years ago and was so happy to see it available as a Nook book becauseI loved the whole series. Its still a very
    good mystery. I loved Edward X Delaney when I read it the first time and I still do. It was written in a different time, less politically
    correct so some of the language maybe jarring but once you remember that it was written in a different time, I think readers who a
    good police procedural will really enjoy this book! I intend to re-read the whole series again.  I am just sad he stopped at 4 Deadly Sins.
    I was hoping for all seven! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "The First Deadly Sin"

    As usual, Sanders is such a good story teller. His research is so thorough, one can tell he's a real stickler for authenticiy.
    It seemed to drag on a bit in the middle, but when the story picked up again, it was a real page turner. I couln't put it down. Two thumbs up for good writing. Dor

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2002

    Wonderful Book!

    This was such a wonderful book. I could not reccomend it more. Even though it is a little hard to follow in the beginning.. and you'll probably need to keep a dictionary handy.. it all pays off in the end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Very slow read too detailed

    I almost moved on from it. It was a very slow read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    Caution: This novel contains very graphic descriptions of sexual

    Caution: This novel contains very graphic descriptions of sexual encounters, including encounters between an adult male and a young boy. The first six chapters of the book never mention Captain Edward X. Delaney. Also, the book contains grammar errors, and some spelling errors. It was, IMO, not a particularly well-written book. The ending was anticlimactic and jagged. Loose ends were not tied up neatly by the author. I do not intend to read any of the other books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    Interesting mystery. This is the only book I have read by this

    Interesting mystery. This is the only book I have read by this author. It did moderately well holding my interest. The few sex scenes were overly described, it just wasn't necessary for the story and I don't read that type of smut so I skipped them. There initially were few curse words, near the end they were frequent unnecessary and particularly offensive. Would I recommend it, only with those those warnings and only to certain people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Oh how I miss the elaborate sandwich descriptions in these books

    Oh how I miss the elaborate sandwich descriptions in these books !!  I read the series when first published and to this day, 30+ years later I still remember ... "oh life wasn't all that much of a joy. It was a job you worked at and didn't often succeed in." Get the ENTIRE SERIES (so wish he'd written all 7 sin books !). As an avid decades long reader of crime novels, you won't regret it !  Seriously Saunder's Sin's series is tops in the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Have not read yet

    I havnt read this book yet, but it sounds really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2