BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The First Phone Call from Heaven

Average Rating 4
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(123)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(40)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

The Week It Happened... On the day the world received its first

The Week It Happened...

On the day the world received its first phone call from heaven, Tess Rafferty was unwrapping a box of tea bags.

Drrrnnn!

She ignored the ring and dug her nails into the plastic.

Drrrnnn!

She clawed her forefinger through the bumpy part on ...
The Week It Happened...

On the day the world received its first phone call from heaven, Tess Rafferty was unwrapping a box of tea bags.

Drrrnnn!

She ignored the ring and dug her nails into the plastic.

Drrrnnn!

She clawed her forefinger through the bumpy part on the side.

Drrrnnn!

Finally, she made a rip, then peeled off the wrapping and scrunched it in her palm. She knew the phone would go the answering machine if she didn't grab it before one more -

Drrrnnn -

"Hello?"

Too late.

"Ach, this thing," she mumbled. She heard the machine click on her kitchen counter as it played her outgoing message.

"Hi, it's Tess. Leave your name and number. I'll get back to you as soon as I can, thanks."

A small beep sounded. Tess heard static. And then.

"It's Mom...I need to tell you something."

Tess stopped breathing. The receiver fell from her fingers.

Her mother died four years ago.

In the latest novel from best selling author Mitch Albom, he was more has created a longing in the heart for so many who wish for just one more phone call or a way to talk to those who have died. Only it isn't just Tess who is getting the phone calls, it is others in the small town of Coldwater, Michigan. Those once lost in their grief are finding comfort in the short simple phone calls conveying that everything is perfect and that those loved ones are calling from heaven and they want everyone to know about it.

Amy Penn was hoping to finally get the one big break all reporters long for and when she gets the assignment to investigate the phone calls from dead people coming to those residents only in the town of Coldwater, Amy wonders if she is being sent on a wild goose chase because if she fails, the station doesn't have to worry about what the ratings will do. No one knows who she is anyway. But will Amy find more than she truly ever bargained for? Is this God's way of leading her down a much different path then she ever dreamed possible?

You'll have to pick up this book to find out. If you've read Mitch Albom's other books, The Five People You Meet in Heaven or Tuesdays With Morrie, then you will definitely WANT this one. It's guaranteed to keep you wondering long after you finish the final page. In my opinion, this one hands down gets a 5 out of 5 stars. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This was a self purchase and being a huge book lover, I had to read this one. What a great Christmas gift!

posted by Heart2Heart on November 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I haven't read a book by Mitch Albom in quite some time. But,

I haven't read a book by Mitch Albom in quite some time. But, this book seemed to have all the same qualities of the previous books that I read and enjoyed. Sadly, I think this missed the mark a little for me.

I really tried not to go into this book as a skeptic. A...
I haven't read a book by Mitch Albom in quite some time. But, this book seemed to have all the same qualities of the previous books that I read and enjoyed. Sadly, I think this missed the mark a little for me.

I really tried not to go into this book as a skeptic. Albom has a knack for making a believer out of you. I wanted to see how he could pull off phone calls from Heaven. But, it didn't take me long to not like how these phone calls were presented. This whole plot line is heavy in spoilers so lets just leave it as I was extremely disappointed how it all played out.

However, I did love the characters. Sully is the perfect person to narrate this book. He needs something to believe in. His life has become the opposite of how he pictured it. And really, it's not because he made bad choices (well maybe just that one). It's really just the luck of the draw. Sometimes bad things happen to good people. And sometime really unimaginable things happen to people like Sully. I hope in the end he found some measure of hope in those around him.

In the end, this wasn't exactly what I had hoped it would be. But, it really does have all the qualities that Mitch Albom is known for. I think plenty of people will connect with it more than I did.

posted by pagese on November 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Week It Happened... On the day the world received its first

    The Week It Happened...

    On the day the world received its first phone call from heaven, Tess Rafferty was unwrapping a box of tea bags.

    Drrrnnn!

    She ignored the ring and dug her nails into the plastic.

    Drrrnnn!

    She clawed her forefinger through the bumpy part on the side.

    Drrrnnn!

    Finally, she made a rip, then peeled off the wrapping and scrunched it in her palm. She knew the phone would go the answering machine if she didn't grab it before one more -

    Drrrnnn -

    "Hello?"

    Too late.

    "Ach, this thing," she mumbled. She heard the machine click on her kitchen counter as it played her outgoing message.

    "Hi, it's Tess. Leave your name and number. I'll get back to you as soon as I can, thanks."

    A small beep sounded. Tess heard static. And then.

    "It's Mom...I need to tell you something."

    Tess stopped breathing. The receiver fell from her fingers.

    Her mother died four years ago.

    In the latest novel from best selling author Mitch Albom, he was more has created a longing in the heart for so many who wish for just one more phone call or a way to talk to those who have died. Only it isn't just Tess who is getting the phone calls, it is others in the small town of Coldwater, Michigan. Those once lost in their grief are finding comfort in the short simple phone calls conveying that everything is perfect and that those loved ones are calling from heaven and they want everyone to know about it.

    Amy Penn was hoping to finally get the one big break all reporters long for and when she gets the assignment to investigate the phone calls from dead people coming to those residents only in the town of Coldwater, Amy wonders if she is being sent on a wild goose chase because if she fails, the station doesn't have to worry about what the ratings will do. No one knows who she is anyway. But will Amy find more than she truly ever bargained for? Is this God's way of leading her down a much different path then she ever dreamed possible?

    You'll have to pick up this book to find out. If you've read Mitch Albom's other books, The Five People You Meet in Heaven or Tuesdays With Morrie, then you will definitely WANT this one. It's guaranteed to keep you wondering long after you finish the final page. In my opinion, this one hands down gets a 5 out of 5 stars. I did not receive any monetary compensation for a favorable review and the opinions expressed here are strictly my own. This was a self purchase and being a huge book lover, I had to read this one. What a great Christmas gift!

    45 out of 57 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Amazing

    One again, Mitch Albom is able to capture the hearts of so many by telling a gripping story about the ability to hear and speak to our loved ones again. The power of belief and the unknown propel this stunning story far beyond the last page.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "You have to start over. That's what they say. But life is

    "You have to start over. That's what they say. But life is not a board game, and losing a loved one is never really 'starting over.' More like 'continuing without.'" ~ pg. 19

    As children we are taught we might go to heaven. But this fiction book shows heaven might come to us. A few residents of Coldwater, Michigan, are receiving calls every Friday from dead people. Presumably dead people that have gone on to heaven. Most of the callers have been deceased for years. Some believe it is a miracle; others are not so convinced.

    The small town of Coldwater has been turned upside down with increased visitors, news media and traffic. Are the recipients of the calls from heaven "chosen" people? The idea seems ludicrous but the story itself drew me in. I was eager to keep reading and see if more characters received calls from heaven and to see how the story ended. Surely there must be an explanation and a damn good ending to the mystery, whether it was a miracle or a hoax.

    Mitch Albom's new novel is like a story you've never read before. There are tidbits about Alexander Graham Bell's invention of the telephone that tie into the fictional story. Whatever your belief, readers will like The First Phone Call from Heaven.

    "The end is not the end." ~ pg. 86

    The First Phone Call from Heaven released today. Add it to your wish lists or order today. It is worth it! Then ask yourself, would you mind getting a phone call from heaven?

    Literary Marie of Precision Reviews

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Wonderful

    Quite simply a beautiful book.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    First Phone call from Heaven

    Have waited for months...Finally Here....Mitch is a brillant writer...always feel the story

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Albom's Latest Exceeds Expectations

    Mitch Albom, one of today's most prolific authors, does it again. "The First Phone Call From Heaven" grabs you right from the start, and holds your interest throughout. Are the phone calls phoney -- or heaven-sent? Albom doesn't show his hand until he -- and you -- are ready. The story is uplifting and suspenseful, with just enough characters to keep it interesting without confusing the reader. A great read anytime, but particularly during the holidays. Kudos to Mitch Albom. Keep 'em coming!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    "If we knew what comes next , we never would have worried&q

    "If we knew what comes next , we never would have worried" :) 

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ANOTHER HIT BY ALBOM! I love this author and the way he can wea

    ANOTHER HIT BY ALBOM!

    I love this author and the way he can weave a story. Whether he is telling a true story or writing a work of fiction, his way with words is wonderful.

    This is a thought-provoking read for the spiritual and not so spiritual. I believe Mr. Albom could make even the hard core doubters think about the light. This is a wonderful book filled with emotions of all kinds -- from happiness to anger, sorrow to laughter. If you are looking for a read to bring some belief back into your life, this book is it.

    Thanx again Mr. Albom for another fabulous read. Now I am off to purchase some tissue for the house as I have depleted the supply reading this story.

    -- SPeeD

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    Great book

    I have read each of the books Mitch Albom has written and this one is just as good as the previous books. I always feel like I am right in the middle of his story. I would recommend this book to everyone to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Albom's books. They inspire and generate hope and good th

    I love Albom's books. They inspire and generate hope and good thoughts. They promote non-critical, non-judgemental, non-hate. That is what we all need. Fill our minds with blissful, compassionate thoughts to show us the way. We should be trying to make a difference and think beyond ourselves, Heaven! Wow! What a place to be!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    couldn't put it down!!!

    Excellent book, would highly recommend to anyone looking for a good book to read. It really makes you think and believe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2013

    This book grabbed me from the minute I picked it up and started

    This book grabbed me from the minute I picked it up and started reading it.  The concept was intriguing.  Were people really receiving phone calls from departed loved ones?  I read this book in one day.  I've read all of Mitch Albom's books; I love his style of writing.  This book will not disappoint you and will keep you absorbed all day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2013

    Play "telephone" and  pass it on. I was privileged to

    Play "telephone" and  pass it on.
    I was privileged to read an advanced reader copy of Mitch Albom's new book  The First Phone Call
    from Heaven.  A fan before I began reading this new book, I had some worries that it would not meet
    my high expectations.  To those of you who loved Tuesdays with Morrie and The Seven People you
    meet in Heaven, this wonderful work does not disappoint, in fact I think it is now my favorite.

    Told as though we were hovering above and among the residents of Coldwater , we are privy to heart
    wrenching phone calls from recently departed loved ones and colleagues. Each "chosen one" reacts
    differently.  One character,  Sully, does not get a call.  And since his young son insists that the call from
     his Mom is coming any day, he rails against the huge wave of fervor that has swept the town into a
    frenzy. To read of his family history, you understand why.

    Each of the characters and their past histories is brought into clear focus and you can't stop turning the
    pages to see what will happen to them.  Is it a mystery, a miracle, a hoax, a blessing?  Who is to benefit
    from these extraordinary calls?  I could not put it down until I found out.  

    This novel builds to a great climax and a satisfying ending that answers all the questions.  If you read it, keep the secret to yourself, so your friends will enjoy it, because you will definitely pass it on.
    A perfect holiday read. Thank you Mitch Albom. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Once again Mitch produces a great read. I love his writing style

    Once again Mitch produces a great read. I love his writing style, and I could not put this book down. I had it read within 24 hours.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    FREE PS4

    Hi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Download this game

    HAYPI THE LOST TOWER MY FRIEND CODE IS V7G6

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    keeps you wondering

    great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    A must read book

    Borrowed this book from a friend. I could not put it down, I am giving the book a 5 star rating

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    THE BEST BOOK?????

    Omg. This book! Is amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    What if, one day, the phone rang and someone you loved that had

    What if, one day, the phone rang and someone you loved that had passed away was on the line? What would you do? What would you say? The First Call From Heaven is a reader's journey into just that. I truly enjoyed the book and more so when I thought I had figured out the ending and had a surprise awaiting me.
    Timothy Glass~ Author of Just This Side of Heaven and Postcards

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 123 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7