Customer Reviews for

The First Rule of Ten (Tenzing Norbu Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Flow with the Wheel of Life and Death!

We meet Tenzing Norbu on a very bad day! He has been grazed by a bullet and he knows if he keeps it up, he'll be dead and definitely off the road to enlightenment that he has been following for years since he was a Tibetan monk. His life is turned even more upside down ...
We meet Tenzing Norbu on a very bad day! He has been grazed by a bullet and he knows if he keeps it up, he'll be dead and definitely off the road to enlightenment that he has been following for years since he was a Tibetan monk. His life is turned even more upside down when a woman shows up in front of his home. She's a former druggie and cult follower now looking for an old friend, Zimmy. Ten, as he's called, puts her off and she sadly leaves, followed the next day by a messenger who announces she's been murdered. Ten's overwhelmed, to say the least and wonders why he's so off-track in being attuned to the whole person in front of him that he missed something wrong or chose to ignore the faint glimmer that might have saved her life - or might not have!

The rest of the novel is a complex journey and mystery in which Ten explores quite a few obnoxious and shady characters associated with the cult, some very prosperous businessmen who seem to have a rather unique interest in the land owned by the cult and that owned by its neighbors, some innocent neighbors who seem to be falling prey to some lethal diseases and medical problems, and of course those who are assisting Ten with his research and technological needs.

Add to that a soulful cat, Tank, and a pretty new girlfriend who begins to care but is put off very quickly by Ten's brusque occasional responses - but still hangs around...

Change happens and how does one flow with the ups and downs of those vicissitudes without losing one's cool or as Ten would put it, flowing with the connections, dealing with the paradoxes, caring without getting in the way?

To say more would be unfair, but this is a grand read that is fun, wise, thrilling, and quite different from the stereotypical mystery novel. This reviewer absolutely loved it and can't wait to read the next book in the series!!! Great story!

posted by literarymuseVC on December 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

an enjoyable read

i am looking forward to the second one!

posted by thedish45 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Great book!

    Cant wait until the next one!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A classic mystery with a surprisingly refreshing protagonist.

    Tenzing Norbu, or Ten, is a dectective for the LAPD. Although he is commonly believed to be the rising star of the squad, Ten is tired of the LAPD. Then he is grazed by a bullet while answering a call. As he says, that is a wake up call. Ten quits and decided to become a PI and go out on his own. He quickly finds out that going it alone is no safer than being a detective for the LAPD. What follows is a classic mystery in the vein of those by such as Earl Stanley Gardner, Sue Grafton, or Micheal Connelly. Interestingly, Mr. Hendricks credits the same authors for inspiring him. If he was trying to emulate them, he was a success. As a pleasant surprise, Hendricks and Lindsay have given their main character a little twist to set him apart from the myriad of PIs out there in fiction land. Ten spent his formative years in a Tibetan monastery being raised by the monks, one of which is his father. This experience gives Ten a different way of looking at things, which he uses in his everyday life in various ways. In addition, though, Ten is not just a spiritual person, but very human and imperfect in addition. Following his thought patterns and actions was a thouroughly enjoyable experience as I read through this book. Add to Ten a cast of characters ranging from an ex-con techie sidekick to Tank the persian blue cat that shares Ten's life and you have a story that will draw you in and keep you turning the pages wanting to know how it all turns out. A wonderful first book by both Hendricks and Lindsay. I understand that it is the first in what is to be a series of books with Ten as the protagonist. I certainly hope so. I am looking forward to reading more about Ten and his cohorts.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Enjoyed this one!

    Very nice to find a good mystery novel with a main character who is a very self-aware, meditating, vegetarian, praying buddhist monk. Not that he doesn't make mistakes or have plenty to learn! Love this and can't wait to read the next book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Hook Line and Sinker

    I read the first few pages of the sample and bought without hestation. I try not to read it quickly so it will last a while, I'm find this a challange. Well worth the very few dollars it cost! My only regret is that this appears to be the only book with Tenzing Norbu as our delightful hero.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Well written for mid-teens through adult. I would not reccomend for those any younger due to sexual references.

    Keeps you interested from beginning to end. Although not one that keeps you guessing, there are a few surprises.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    One of the best mysteries I have read recently. The characters w

    One of the best mysteries I have read recently. The characters were very well developed and easy to accept as real. The story line is also realistic and easy to follow without seeming juvenile. Ten is a main character that I would definitely like to spend more time with,.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Keeps your interest

    Good mystery, keeps you turning the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    A good read

    A very entertaining read. I loved the idea of a buddhist detective. Being free made it even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Good fun

    Can't wait until I can afford 9 more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Very enjoyable

    Ten is a man with honor...something missing from detectives in many books today. I'm looking forward to the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    A NEW DECTECTIVE IN TOWN

    Loved Ten and his cat. Its always fun to find a new series that leaves you wanting more. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    The First Rule of Ten

    To the other Anonymous who thinks people read all that blah blah you run on and on about comparing this author with that... who cares-
    Like the book or not like the book; YES OR NO maybe B&N needs boxes here just like in 5th grade!
    Me- I liked this book very much and will definitely keep up with the author.
    Viola!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Fun new lead character

    Ten is a new and unique private eye who is lot of fun to follow. Can't wait for book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Most enjoyable Read

    Enjoyed everything about this book - - can't wait to get my hands on the 2nd in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Good read

    This was a good read. I enjoyed the banter of the main character as well as his thoughtful reposes of buddhist life. It was pretty easy to figure out who done it but was fun getting to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Great Read

    Entertaining read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    Good book

    It is well worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Well written & compelling

    Excellent mix of intrigue & action. Well developed characters with the monastic angle adding an opportunity for some philosophic content without being overbearing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    A good find

    Something a little different. A good mystery and a good charachter. I look forward to the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2