BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Five Money Personalities: Speaking the Same Love and Money Language

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Who doesn't like to take quizzes that reveal hidden parts of the

    Who doesn't like to take quizzes that reveal hidden parts of themselves?  I know I do, and it is even more fun when you can also have your spouse take a quiz that reveals a bit about them too.  I appreciate how the book starts with how to determine your money personality...once you know it, you are chuckling through the whole book as the authors share their personal stories.  It is also nice to know that we are not alone, to know that all couples have some form of conflict when it comes to money and the fact that it is not because one spouse is better than the other, it is because we are all different!  I appreciate how the authors desire to help people embrace their money personality, their spouses money personality and the money personalities of those around them!  It has really opened my eyes to the "tango" that many of us have with money and WHY.  I love the whys.  Thank you two for such an insightful, fun read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    What a great book and a wonderful resource for couples young and

    What a great book and a wonderful resource for couples young and old.
    Scott and Bethany have really caught on to an aspect of relationships that has been ignored too long. Both the internal opposite dynamic and the inter-couple opposite dynamic explains much about how we approach money both as an individual and as a couple.

    Setting up the book to be read by each person over the course of 90 days has multiple benefits. As noted by the authors, it really does take 90 days for a new habit to become a base part of your personality. Also, by not allowing yourself just to decide what your spouse's Money Personality is for them, each person "owns" their own personality and starts to prevent their spouse from just assuming how the other is thinking. This is continued by later "Make It Happen" homework assignments that lead each spouse to start thinking of the relationship in new ways - breaking old, destructive habits. By the time you reach the Money Dump and the Money Huddle, you are ready to take full advantage of them.

    How to Fight Fair and the "Five Money Personalities Survival Guide" are must reading for all in a committed relationship that they want to keep for the long term. A really easy to read book that should become a before marriage counseling tool, as well as a key tool for nurturing your relationship for the long term.
    GREAT JOB!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    Scott and Bethany Palmer have impacted my life with thoughts and

    Scott and Bethany Palmer have impacted my life with thoughts and wisdom that I will take to my grave! I have never seen a book like this on the market, and appreciate their approach to merely educate and make the readers and their spouses more aware of themselves. I have been able to guide so many others that are struggling with ANYTHING in life just from some of their suggestions. The principles they teach, well, EVERYONE should have a chance to hear about The Money Couple! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    f I were to describe The 5 Money Personalities: Speaking the Sam

    f I were to describe The 5 Money Personalities: Speaking the Same Love and Money Language in one word, I would have to use the word "eye-opening."

    I was a bit surprised at how much the book focuses on the clashes many couples have in regards to money. When I requested this book, I didn't really expect that but, in the introduction, the authors state that "this book is not a guide to managing your money" (p.xiv), saying that there are many other books out there to help you set a budget and manage your finances. This book was written to help couples who just can't seem to meet in the middle when it comes to finances.

    This book works off the basis of 5 money personalities, which are outlined in the book. It is designed to be worked through as a couple, each chapter having a practical "to do" segment at the end. If you just don't understand where your partner is coming from in terms of financial decisions that are made, the chapter explaining how the different personalities relate to each other would be helpful to you.

    I would highly recommend this book to any couple who is having any sort of financial trouble at all, whether that be mountains of debt or not being able to understand each others' spending (or penny-pinching) habits. It really opens your eyes to see that everyone is created differently and everyone deals with money differently. No personality is "wrong"...each has their upside and downside, and the key is learning to work together as a team, despite having differing opinions on finances.

    If you don't feel like money is a huge issue in your relationship, then you probably don't need this book. While it WAS an interesting read, if you're looking for a book to help you become more efficient in saving or to help you set (and stick to!) a budget, there are other resources out there that could be more helpful to you.

    I received this book from Thomas Nelson's Booksneeze blog reviewers program. I am under no obligation to provide a positive review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A lot to think about, nearly everyone can relate

    This review first appeared on my blog, Cozy Little Book Journal.

    I'm not one who reads a lot of self-help books, particularly those aimed at couples. I find the advice is usually so general (because it has to be if it's going to apply to everybody) that I could figure it out on my own, or else it's specific but certainly not specific to me (i.e. it makes assumptions about my religion, philosophy or goals). A lot of them just seem like gimmicks.

    But The 5 Money Personalities is a little different. Everyone can relate to money. Everyone sharing a household and sharing expenses has to figure out how to make money decisions together. And a lot of us feel intimidated by the prospect.

    The 5 Money Personalities is not a financial planning guide. It's not there to chastise you for the poor financial decisions you've made in the past, nor to tell you what investments to make in the future. It's a book for couples--or anyone who shares finances with someone else--to help take stock of the decisions we make and why, and to understand why our partners may make very different decisions.

    Scott and Bethany Palmer explain that there are five basic "money personalities"--the spender, the saver, the risk taker, the security seeker and the flyer--and that each of us displays one or more of these personality traits when making decisions about money. So, see? I'm not cheap. I'm a saver! My partner isn't irresponsible. He's a spender! The book encourages couples to understand and appreciate each other's differences so they can work together (rather than just calling each other "cheap" or "irresponsible," for instance).

    Scott and Bethany Palmer refer to themselves as "the Money Couple," a trade-marked term that is also the name of their website. Several times throughout the book the reader is directed to go to their website for more information on a topic. I wouldn't mind that so much except for the fact that the money personality quiz--arguably the most important part of the book--was something you could only do online. Is this really something they couldn't have included in the book itself? It seemed like kind of a jerk move to make readers go to the website in order to fully understand the book. Also, if they're so committed to the book directing readers back and forth from the website, perhaps they should consider adding QR codes so people can access it directly from their smart phones (like the new edition of Rick Warren's Purpose Driven Life).

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    I understand from the book description that it is a self-help bo

    I understand from the book description that it is a self-help book for couples experiencing money troubles.
    I was just expecting something more, you know, like providing budget, saving and financial advices. Well,
    the authors only explained the money personalities which I didn't really get or I was just too bored reading
    through it to understand. I'm also not impressed with the author's relationship advices, they were just regular
    advices I'd get from friends. The book didn't work for me, found myself skimming through so I could be done
    reading this. 

    If you are looking for a financial book, like how to budget, manage, save money, etc., do not pick up this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Big issue for a lot of couples - useful ideas for how to talk ab

    Big issue for a lot of couples - useful ideas for how to talk about money together.  Developing trust in this area helps avoid many future problems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    My wife and I both enjoyed this book. And not only did we enjoy

    My wife and I both enjoyed this book. And not only did we enjoy the read ... we appreciated the learning that went along with it. Unlike most couples, we both share the same money personality primary and secondary types. Which means that we seldom, if ever, disagree about money. What a blessing. Understanding your money personality type is helpful in not only understanding how you think about money, but understanding how you think about a lot of other areas in your life as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    It was so great to read a money book that goes beyond just the n

    It was so great to read a money book that goes beyond just the numbers and making budgets. With finances being one of the biggest reasons for divorce, I really enjoyed their take on the relational aspect of money between my wife and me. We are generally on the same page when it comes to how we spend our money, but that doesn’t mean we don’t ever fight about it. This book is full of great advice and practical ways to help when those situations do arise. We are now able to understand each other’s money personalities and start off on a better foot when we don’t see eye to eye on the next money disagreement. I highly recommend this to anyone that is married or planning to get married.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I quite agree with authors' augments about the importance of und

    I quite agree with authors' augments about the importance of understanding other people behaviour in money management. Initially, I was looking for ways to improve my financial intelligent in terms of earning, investing or managing money. It turns out I was directed by myself in a wrong way because the ultimate goal to be wealthy or financial freedom is to let us to have time to do the things we like to do.

    Money never solves a problem. A problem that can be solved by money is no longer a problem. I believe it is true because many the rich still struggles in their life and relationships.


    Understanding, on the other hand, can reduce conflicts, and ultimately eliminates problems in our life. Indeed, I have many such experiences to turn problems into challenges by understanding their hidden or invisible mechanism. For example, if we understand that die is an uncontrollable nature process, then we will always be very peace of mind to face it without worry or frustration. This happens on our relationship as well. If you have a relationship problem, I encourage you (both of you) to understand your money personalities (that is, the way you use your money) first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    It seems like there are 5 different personality types for every


    It seems like there are 5 different personality types for everything these days... or maybe just love and money... this book was
     all about the five different money personality types. Written by a married couple, this book talks about how we all have a different
    type of relationship with money, and we all deal with it differently. The authors help us to understand our money personality, and
    learn how to work with our spouse and their own money personality.


    I enjoyed the insight I gained from this book. It helped me to really understand not only why I might handle money the way I do, but also
     how to take control of spending. It was also helpful in understanding my husband's relationship with money.
     I grew up in a household that spent money, whereas he grew up in a household that saved money, leaving us
     on opposite ends of the spectrum. I feel like the authors of this book really hit home in helping us to bring our experiences
    together and work as a team on our finances.


    I would recommend this book to new couples, old couples, couples who are engaged, and even singles who want to
     gain more knowledge of where they might be at in dealing with money. It was full of insight, and it was also understandable
    for someone like myselfwho really has no background in accounting and is horrible at math.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2013

    My wife and I read The 5 Money Personalities together and though

    My wife and I read The 5 Money Personalities together and thought the book was a refreshing approach to finances. The book is centered around the same idea as the infamous book, The 5 Love Languages except it helps a couple identify each of their own money language: Saver, Spender, Risk Taker, Security Seeker, and Flyer. After 20 years of marriage WE think this idea about helping couples discover their money language is brilliant. WE wish we would have had a book like this when we first got married.
    Since two of the most common reasons for divorce is money and communication, authors Scott and Bethany Palmer do a superb job in killing two birds with one stone by bringing fresh insight and understanding to our money relationship with our spouse. I will not promise that this book will come without tense moments, but we had a few laughs together as well because this book definitely “reads your mail.” I think this is another great tool pastors and churches can use helping people when it comes to the topic of money!
    I received this book free in exchange for my review from Booksneeze. I was drawn to it because I had been recently counseling a young couple that are continually arguing over finances. Tomorrow I’m giving the book to them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    So much is written about how to save, how to invest, how to budg

    So much is written about how to save, how to invest, how to budget, etc.. It's nice to get some guidance on the relationship aspect of money. It is guidance we can all use.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1