BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Flame: A Novel of the Sons of Destiny

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Flame by Jean Johnson

    What is it I like so much about Jean Johnson's 'Sons of Destiny' series? OH yeah. Well first, they're like grown up fairy tales. And second, there's no real angst. And last, but certainly not least, they're pretty darn hot! The backstory is: Eight brothers, four sets of twins, who were banished from their kingdom to an island because of a famous curse. The curse involved the brothers, each of whom has a different 'magic', finding their true loves and destroying the kingdom. So they were banished and women were forbidden from the island. The youngest, and most powerful of the mages, is the 'matchmaker' and he brought over a woman from Earth for his eldest brother which began the fulfillment of the 'curse'. Each book is about a different one of the brothers and each is a great combination of romance, fantasy, and light suspense.<BR/><BR/>Kor is 'The Flame' brother. His power is his affinity with fire. He's also the only virgin since his flame has burned the whole two women he's tried to have sex with! He's very excited when some female water mages are scheduled to come to the island as he's sure his verse in the curse means his destined mate will be an aquamancer. Water and flame.<BR/><BR/>Danau is sure she's cursed. She is valued for her water mage skills, but reviled as a woman because her power manifests itself in ice whenever she's excited. After giving her first and only lover frostbite on his 'member', no man is willing to touch her. So she has determined to make her work her life, sure she will never find a man that she won't hurt. <BR/><BR/>Another excellent story. Johnson's books are NOT erotica, but they ARE pretty hot romances. And the scenes in this book of the 'virgin' and the things he has done and is willing to do to find his true mate are both touching and hilarious. If you loved fairy tales as a child and always wanted a more adult version, you should really pick up Johnson's series. The last book of the series, "The Mage" is scheduled for release in April 2009. I can hardly wait!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another great Sons of Destiny book by Jean Johnson

    Imagine not being able to touch a woman for fear of scorching her? That's Koranen's problem with being a firemage. He fears he will never be able to have a wife until the Aquamancers arrive. Danau has been ostracized, she can freeze another as part her gift as an aquamancer. The trials of these two as they meet, learn to trust and then to love is what makes this, the 7th book of the Sons of Destiny series, as interesting, funny and addictive as the previous 6 books. Love can conquer all!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series!!!

    The Flame is a very good continuation of the Sons of Destiny Series. I felt sorry for poor Koranen because of his inability to even touch a female in any way. I have followed this series since The Sword and have not missed a book yet! This was not my favorite in the series but it was still a good read. I can hardly wait for The Mage to see how Morganen makes out. He seems to be the sweetest and most considerate of the brothers. I do love how the brothers respect and treat their women.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    romantic fantasy saga

    The seventh brother Koranen is perhaps the loneliest of the siblings as his skill pyromancy means no passionate touching; he literally burns women. He knows what the prophecy says for him and bolstering his hopes that his bride is an aquamancer as predicted is the recent success of his six brothers in finding their mates. Kor believes she is finally coming to him when four aquamancers from the underwater city of Menomon come to Nightfall to examine the desalinator.<BR/><BR/>Danau is Kor¿s polar opposite as her touch leads to frostbite. Although a pariah in terms of personal relationship, she is in charge of the Menomon delegation. Her icy persona hides her lonely heart, but also angers Kor who wants nothing to do with the frozen beauty. However, destiny could not care less what either thinks even as evil has creeped onto the island.<BR/><BR/>Events are reaching a climax as Johnson delivers the penultimate chapter in her magical Sons of Destiny series. Watching these characters and this new monarchy develop has been pure fun, with practical kingdom-building considerations mixing cleverly with high-risk danger. Johnson's impressive talent is on full display. <BR/><BR/>Though somewhat a set up for the grand finale tale in this terrific romantic fantasy saga, this seventh Sons of Destiny tale is kept fresh and exciting by the uniqueness of the lead couple as he is fire and she is ice. Separately they are loners as no one can touch them without being burned; together they make a perfect match. However, in spite of being destiny's darlings they must overcome their learned response that touching including passion literally burns. Jean Johnson provides a character driven enjoyable book seven.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    A GREAT READ

    i HAVE READ ALL 8 BOOKS IN THE SERIES,AND ENJOYED THEM ALL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book~!!

    I was very pleased with this book. I felt that it tied the story lines of some of the previous books together. The story held my interest and made me root for the underdog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2009

    Worth It!!

    After suffering through Storm and Cat this book made up for it. It was hot. There were still some things that I didn't like about it and if I were to say what I didn't like it would ruin it. All I can say is this one is definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    Hot!

    Wow! Steamy, sweet, thrilling (in a sexy way). I loved this book. I'm keeping it and will pull it out when I need a romantic "awww!" type of moment. The characters are great and the love scenes are not lacking. Of all the guys in the series, I identified most with Koranen. The best of the series. I did not want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Jean Johnson!

    I never thought I would like this type of romance (fantasy), but Jean Johnson makes you fall in love with these brothers. Definately recommend that you start with Book One, The Sword, and read them in order. I couldn't wait to finish all eight books once I started them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2009

    HOT!, HOT!, HOT!

    With a title of The Flame, my expectations were that this book was going to be hot. It did not let me down. Poor Kor, I thought he was going to explode or cause a major firestorm. The love story was quirky and romantic. The continuation of the entire story left me on the edge of my seat to find out how it ends. Can't wait for Morg's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    the name fits the story and its great just like all the others in the series

    As I said before I loved all the books in the series and they all are wonderful I can't waite to read the final book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    flame

    i would recommend the book was interesting and kept me going all along through the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3