Customer Reviews for

The Flight of Gemma Hardy

Average Rating 3.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Reviews

Why do people feel compelled to give away the whole story in their reviews??????

posted by lioness2001 on February 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Just passable.

Rather inane and shallow. Characters are so one dimensional one just can't work up much sympathy for them. As an attempt to bring Jane Eyer into the present, it was entirely unsatisfactory, but would make a fairly undemanding read on a rainy afternoon; especially if y...
Rather inane and shallow. Characters are so one dimensional one just can't work up much sympathy for them. As an attempt to bring Jane Eyer into the present, it was entirely unsatisfactory, but would make a fairly undemanding read on a rainy afternoon; especially if you have never read the real Jane Eyre.

posted by SophieCA on February 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Amazing

    I have just finished reading an advanced copy of this book and found it to be a beautiful and entertaining story. It's a modern day (1950s-1960s) version of Jane Eyre, so anyone who loves the story as much as I do will enjoy this book. Though I never heard of this author before I plan on reading her other books.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Really enjoyed this book!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I was concerned and hesitant about my choice because of the many references to Jane Eyre, one of my all time favorites. However, I feel this story was well written and easily stands on its own merits. I'm looking forward to reading other books by this arthur. Well worth the time.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    Well written, but...

    This book is very well written, and I do recommend it. The story of a young woman struggling against enormous odds to find out about her past and to discover her place in the world is timeless. However, the first half of the book borrows so much from the classic, Jane Eyre, even down to individual scenes, that it could in one sense almost be considered plagiarism. The second half of the book is much better, though, and I found the ending very satisfying. I would like to read some more of this author's books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Good book, but

    I love Jane Erye so i loved the story in this book. It paralleled the original nicely. 95% of the time i loved the author's writing/ writing style but 5% of the time it was some what difficult to follow or details were lacking in critical scenes. I also would have liked a clearer ending as the original provided. The desciption of the various country sides was exceptional. Overall it was a good book and i enjoyed it though i am not sure i would read her other novels.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Entertaining reading

    For anyone to take on the challenge of parallelling Jane Eyre when there are so many fans of the original is courageous. This book does a creditable job of evoking the original characters, with its own deeviations. a talented author. Making the characters her own while preserving the Gothic feeling is Ms. Livesey forte.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Loved it!

    I thought this was a great adaptation of Jane Eyre. Jane Eyre is one of my many favorite books and Gemma Hardy embraces that. If you love Jane Eyre like I do then you'll enjoy this read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    Recommended

    This is supposedly a re-imaging of the classic, "Jane Eyre", and many of the elements are there. Gemma is an orphan forced to make her way in the world who is lucky enough to find a position as the governess to the ward of wealthy business man. However, there are many modern twists as Gemma's primary motivated has always been to learn about her dead parents and her early life in Iceland where she had been given a different name.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Different, Enjoyable

    I really liked this book, a good human interest story. I would enjoy reading more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Highly recommend

    This was a good read. I enjoyed the historical aspects of the book. I had a had time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Recommend

    An enjoyable iF predictable story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    highly recommended

    This is a very enjoyable read and reminds me of Jane Austin stories. You like Gemma and admire how she deals with being on her own at such a young age. You root for her to find the love and home she deserves. There are enough surprises along the way to keep the story interesting and I would definitely read another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Good read for a lazy Saturday.

    I was really excited to read this book and even preordered it. It's difficult to read any novel that is modeled after your favorite. This retelling of Jane Eyre started in an eerily similar way but Margot Livesey was able to find her own voice after only a few chapters. I loved the small surprises along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Great Book

    I really enjoyed this read. It kept me wondering where Gemma was going to end up next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2