Customer Reviews for

The Forever Year

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This is a truly absorbing read. My resistance to reading a stor

This is a truly absorbing read. My resistance to reading a story that seemed at first too close to my real life fell away as Jesse' character began to emerge. The seamless transitions between the books storytellers had me craving for one chapter after the next. Lou A...
This is a truly absorbing read. My resistance to reading a story that seemed at first too close to my real life fell away as Jesse' character began to emerge. The seamless transitions between the books storytellers had me craving for one chapter after the next. Lou Aronica evolves each character in a way that makes them stay with you long after the book is read. I loved the story - a tearful, sweet, intriguing view of dealing with an aging parent and understanding true love, but mostly I was captivated by the evolution of the characters. I love being introduced to the mechanics of a freelance writer's mind;, the dynamics of an over achieving family; the inner workings of a complex patriarch - even Jesse's siblings and girlfriend evolved into intriguing characters. If fact, this book leaves me hoping Jesse will have more stories to tell us.

posted by Anonymous on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

M

Thanks literarymuse for telling everything about the book. Thanks to your plot spoiler there is now no need to buy the book. Money saved.

posted by 8888649 on March 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    This is a truly absorbing read. My resistance to reading a stor

    This is a truly absorbing read. My resistance to reading a story that seemed at first too close to my real life fell away as Jesse' character began to emerge. The seamless transitions between the books storytellers had me craving for one chapter after the next. Lou Aronica evolves each character in a way that makes them stay with you long after the book is read. I loved the story - a tearful, sweet, intriguing view of dealing with an aging parent and understanding true love, but mostly I was captivated by the evolution of the characters. I love being introduced to the mechanics of a freelance writer's mind;, the dynamics of an over achieving family; the inner workings of a complex patriarch - even Jesse's siblings and girlfriend evolved into intriguing characters. If fact, this book leaves me hoping Jesse will have more stories to tell us.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    The Forever Year has realistic and empathetic characters whose l

    The Forever Year has realistic and empathetic characters whose lives are intertwined in a challenging and meaningful way. The book is well-written with both humor and deep emotion. I look forward to reading more titles from this talented author.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    M

    Thanks literarymuse for telling everything about the book. Thanks to your plot spoiler there is now no need to buy the book. Money saved.

    10 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book! I was initially drawn in by the not

    I really enjoyed this book! I was initially drawn in by the notion of how Jesse and his father, Mickey, would adjust to the son's new role as caretaker of his father (a very relatable topic in and of itself), and I was pleasantly surprised at the multiple layers of love stories that emerged.
    The first, at the center of it all, is the story of Jesse and his dad, which, from Jesse’s point of view, is a rather ambiguous, distant relationship at the start of the book. Delicately woven throughout their developing story, is the relationship between Jesse and his girlfriend, Marina. I appreciated the nuanced way in which the writer captures Jesse’s thought process about how he regards this relationship, and how that thought process is challenged and evolves. Influencing that is Mickey’s story about the love of his life. The author delicately ‘rations’ their abundantly romantic story, leaving the reader wanting to know more, more, more.
    In the end, I felt that I really understood all these characters, and I was rooting for them all! I found The Forever Year to be very engaging, satisfying and uplifting.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    I was hooked from the start with the story of siblings grappling

    I was hooked from the start with the story of siblings grappling with how to care for their widowed father when he can no longer care for himself. So many of us are dealing with this issue and can identify with one or more of these well written characters. I loved the way Jesse, the youngest son, works to build a better relationship with his father after feeling that his father never really got to know him while he was growing up. Mickey, Jesse's father, is a wonderfully rich character who can be infuriating most of the time but he sees a chance to help his son learn from his past. Mickey decides to confide in Jesse about his first love who was not Jesse's mother. I could not wait to continue hearing Mickey's story throughout the book. I think we all love when our close relatives tell stories that give us insight into what there lives were like before having children. I really came to care for the main characters with their flaws and all. Thanks Lou Aronica for a touching family story that I found hard to put down.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    From the very beginning, I was drawn right into Lou Aronica's Th

    From the very beginning, I was drawn right into Lou Aronica's The Forever Year . It is rare that I read a fictional work which offers the experience of an old friend sharing his story; this is one of those experiences. In fact, I intend to have my sons read this book to receive the invaluable lesson on love that is imparted from Mickey to Jesse (told in a manner that will have them turning the pages deep into the night).
    The Forever Year is a clever, witty and vivid novel that addresses the family dynamic (especially between a father and his son) in all of its difficulty and delight--as well as evolution. The characters are believable and real, the dialogue is flawless and the story line is one that made me laugh, as well as brought tears to my eyes. Although I finished The Forever Year in January, I won't be surprised if it's the best book I read in 2013; it was that good! Do yourself an enormous favor and read it for yourself.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    This was a sweet, tender, and very realistic story about relatio

    This was a sweet, tender, and very realistic story about relationships and the nature of love between an aging father and his adult son, adult siblings, and romantic partners. I loved the characters... they stayed with me long after the book was finished.  Mickey's secret and poignant story, which he reveals to Jesse in installments, was also a lovely and totally unexpected twist. The dialogue, often very humorous, really rang true.  I loved and highly recommend this book.   

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    Reading The Forever Year was like opening the curtain in a dimly

    Reading The Forever Year was like opening the curtain in a dimly lit room. Shadowy outlines of relationships past, present and future were gently illuminated exposing just enough to fully appreciate the richly woven, sometimes thread-worn, details of real life love. In telling this story of father and son, of brother and siblings, of friends and lovers, Lou Aronica gave me insight into some of my own relationships and reminded me to treasure the love of my life. With humor, honesty and passion, The Forever Year opened a curtain in my heart and took full advantage of the natural light of lasting love.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    I didn't think a novel about the relationship between a young ma

    I didn't think a novel about the relationship between a young man and his aging father would hold my interest, but after a few pages of this engaging novel, 
    I was hooked. When Jessie, the youngest sibling in an Italian family decides to ask his father to live with him rather than go into an assisted living facility, he is struggling with the uncertainties of his career as a writer and  the reluctance to commit to a long term relationship with the woman he loves. As he gets to know and understand his father, we are touched and surprised by the romantic tale his father has never before shared.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    Very touching without being maudlin. Everyone finds something in

    Very touching without being maudlin. Everyone finds something in it to which he or she can relate!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    I loved The Forever Year. It is the true meaning of a love stor

    I loved The Forever Year. It is the true meaning of a love story and would make a great movie. Move over Nicholas Sparks!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jessie, the youngest sibling in his family, now in his 30s and s

    Jessie, the youngest sibling in his family, now in his 30s and still feeling ignored or tolerated as the “baby” of the family, shocks the family. His Mom has passed away and his Dad, Mickey, is elderly and starting to be forgetful. The turning point happens when he leaves a pot on a turned-on stove and proceeds to sit in the living room and fall asleep. The fire makes all of his adult children realize he is now in danger if left to live by himself. So they have a family meeting where the toss-up is between their father living in an assisted living home or nursing home, though he’s physically fit for his age. So what a surprise when Jessie volunteers to have his Dad live with him.
    Jessie at first realizes how quickly his idea was rather “romantic” in nature, a chance to finally be seen and heard as he is and not just an extra who never really connected to his father, a chance at closeness. But as future pages show, the glamor of the idea is quickly paling and the tension is rife with repeated misunderstandings or assumptions about each other that are far from reality. But that’s about to change when it’s Jessie’s turn to get shocked by getting to know the man he never understood was capable of being a “lover” outside of his role of father. This is even more interesting given Jessie’s present belief about there being a “true” love that lasts forever – no don’t assume you know how this will turn out because you can’t do the usual prediction for this story!
    The reader will read about Mickey’s great love before Jessie’s mother came into the picture. It is said that everyone gets only “one” true love, and Mickey’s lesson to Jessie has to do is risking it all to make that happen, no matter what the eventual outcome.
    The Forever Year is biting and sweet story at the same time. It’s sweet romantic fiction with a tad of the Nicholas Sparks but without the soppy quality of the latter; and thus the entire tale seems more realistic and endearing! Nicely done, Lou Aronica!

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    A wonderful heartfelt story within a story about a father and hi

    A wonderful heartfelt story within a story about a father and his youngest son. Their lessons learned and how they both grew from one from one another. A truly wonderful book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    I really enjoyed this. I really enjoyed this book.

    This was a very heartwarming but eye opening book,especially for those who take life and love for granite. Just found a new favorite author!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    A very beautiful written novel!!! I would recommend this book v

    A very beautiful written novel!!! I would recommend this book very highly!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Emotion

    Great book... taps the emotions throughout... easy read...got me from the start...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    I just returned from a beach vacation and thoroughly enjoyed rea

    I just returned from a beach vacation and thoroughly enjoyed reading this book!
     Lou Aronica is an amazing, sensitive author with an incredible depth of emotion.  This book about relationships and love is engaging, romantic, and well-written.    

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Aronica allows us to become a fly on the wall, taking in Jesse's

    Aronica allows us to become a fly on the wall, taking in Jesse's life, and maybe observing part of our own. This story contains so many threads that are common to what I'm experiencing in my own life at this time. I felt like the story was reeling me in, and then - Liberation! Enjoyable read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Love it

    Very good book. If book awards exsist then this one deserves on. Im thirteen and even i enjoyed it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2014

    Poignant and thought-provoking

    I am approaching the point in my life where I will need to have that difficult discussion with a parent about the ability to live alone. Enjoyed this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4