Customer Reviews for

The Forever Year

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

This is a truly absorbing read. My resistance to reading a stor

This is a truly absorbing read. My resistance to reading a story that seemed at first too close to my real life fell away as Jesse' character began to emerge. The seamless transitions between the books storytellers had me craving for one chapter after the next. Lou A...
This is a truly absorbing read. My resistance to reading a story that seemed at first too close to my real life fell away as Jesse' character began to emerge. The seamless transitions between the books storytellers had me craving for one chapter after the next. Lou Aronica evolves each character in a way that makes them stay with you long after the book is read. I loved the story - a tearful, sweet, intriguing view of dealing with an aging parent and understanding true love, but mostly I was captivated by the evolution of the characters. I love being introduced to the mechanics of a freelance writer's mind;, the dynamics of an over achieving family; the inner workings of a complex patriarch - even Jesse's siblings and girlfriend evolved into intriguing characters. If fact, this book leaves me hoping Jesse will have more stories to tell us.

posted by Anonymous on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

M

Thanks literarymuse for telling everything about the book. Thanks to your plot spoiler there is now no need to buy the book. Money saved.

posted by 8888649 on March 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    The Forever Year has realistic and empathetic characters whose l

    The Forever Year has realistic and empathetic characters whose lives are intertwined in a challenging and meaningful way. The book is well-written with both humor and deep emotion. I look forward to reading more titles from this talented author.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jessie, the youngest sibling in his family, now in his 30s and s

    Jessie, the youngest sibling in his family, now in his 30s and still feeling ignored or tolerated as the “baby” of the family, shocks the family. His Mom has passed away and his Dad, Mickey, is elderly and starting to be forgetful. The turning point happens when he leaves a pot on a turned-on stove and proceeds to sit in the living room and fall asleep. The fire makes all of his adult children realize he is now in danger if left to live by himself. So they have a family meeting where the toss-up is between their father living in an assisted living home or nursing home, though he’s physically fit for his age. So what a surprise when Jessie volunteers to have his Dad live with him.
    Jessie at first realizes how quickly his idea was rather “romantic” in nature, a chance to finally be seen and heard as he is and not just an extra who never really connected to his father, a chance at closeness. But as future pages show, the glamor of the idea is quickly paling and the tension is rife with repeated misunderstandings or assumptions about each other that are far from reality. But that’s about to change when it’s Jessie’s turn to get shocked by getting to know the man he never understood was capable of being a “lover” outside of his role of father. This is even more interesting given Jessie’s present belief about there being a “true” love that lasts forever – no don’t assume you know how this will turn out because you can’t do the usual prediction for this story!
    The reader will read about Mickey’s great love before Jessie’s mother came into the picture. It is said that everyone gets only “one” true love, and Mickey’s lesson to Jessie has to do is risking it all to make that happen, no matter what the eventual outcome.
    The Forever Year is biting and sweet story at the same time. It’s sweet romantic fiction with a tad of the Nicholas Sparks but without the soppy quality of the latter; and thus the entire tale seems more realistic and endearing! Nicely done, Lou Aronica!

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Aronica allows us to become a fly on the wall, taking in Jesse's

    Aronica allows us to become a fly on the wall, taking in Jesse's life, and maybe observing part of our own. This story contains so many threads that are common to what I'm experiencing in my own life at this time. I felt like the story was reeling me in, and then - Liberation! Enjoyable read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Love it

    Very good book. If book awards exsist then this one deserves on. Im thirteen and even i enjoyed it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2014

    Poignant and thought-provoking

    I am approaching the point in my life where I will need to have that difficult discussion with a parent about the ability to live alone. Enjoyed this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Wonderful story

    Insightful although a few parts too wordy. Love the story and the love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    Wonderful Story

    Very touching and heartfelt story. I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    good read

    quick, easy read. Perfect for a day at the beach!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2013

    I would give it at least 4.5 starts if I could. I looked forward

    I would give it at least 4.5 starts if I could. I looked forward to sitting down and reading it every time I had a moment. As a person with an aging, widowed father, I thought this book sounded good. I really loved the story telling and the characters. It was really engaging beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Good story, well written. Keeps you guessing until the end.

    Good story, well written. Keeps you guessing until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    recommended

    A poignant read with likable, believable characters. I loved the humorous dialogue, and the realistic depiction of dealing with a fiesty octogenarian father really resonated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Loved this book!

    Found this book interesting as I too have an 82 year old father living alone after my mother died. This book proves our parents are not always the people we thought we knew. Great book-couldn't stop reading it!""

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Very sweet book

    This book was very sweet and also very enlightening. It had a good story line that we all can feel deeply. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Excellent read

    I really liked this book because it was told from a son and father's perspective and in a very real way. It was well written and the emotional journey both son and father go through is believable. I wanted to know more about the father's story at the end and felt that was unfinished....but overall a great story and worth the time. Thought provoking as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book-especially the way Dad told his son a

    I really enjoyed this book-especially the way Dad told his son about the love of his life.  There was nothing 
    unrealistic about the characters, no superheroes, just  a family of diverse personalities [some more likable than 
    others]  In other words, real people.
    I like the author's casual style.  Don't know if  I should read UNTIL AGAIN first or BLUE first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Love lesson

    I so enjoyed this book. Loved the family dynamics and the lessons about love. Family love and romantic love and the trust to let love find the way. Would definetly read more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    not finished reading but good!

    I have not finished reading it yet but so far am really enjoying it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    kept me interested

    At the end, I didn't want to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Many of us can relate

    This was a bit hard to read because it was a bit "close to home". Still, it was hard to put down. I'm sure that many of us in the "sandwich" generation can relate to this, as I somewhat could, with my being in my 60s and Mother in her 90s. It may even give you some ideas, some help, to handle such. There is love, laughter, and sadness in this story, just as in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    Worth your time

    I liked this book. Some parts were slow but overall it kept me with it. I really liked the storyline of the father & son, it was very tender at the end and I admit I shed a couple of tears. A good book worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2