Customer Reviews for

The Forgotten (John Puller Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 541 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(263)

4 Star

(149)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(34)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

Another wonderful book I couldn't put down. Now another long wait for the next book! madicnm

posted by madicnm on November 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Missing pages/dialog

Great story but by page 175 Ive experienced 3 areas where pages/dialog is missing very frustrating

posted by Anonymous on November 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 541 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    Fast paced novel many similarities in theme to the Jack Reacher

    Fast paced novel many similarities in theme to the Jack Reacher novels. If you like Reacher you will probably like this as well. Interesting to see how the story threads tie together and how justice is finally served to the main protagonist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2014

    Excellent Read

    Very good story, and I am sure I'll like reading about this new character John Puller. I have read #1 and #2 and can't wait to read his story #3. Mr. Baldacci treats this story/writing similar to the late Vince Flynn novels. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    Not too

    This book was a disappointment. Things that happened in the storm and in the fights were just too unbelievable. Always tells later that he had already taken care of stuff before hand, if he had so much equipment he could not have fit it on the boat. Just not a good Baldacci.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2014

    Love this series

    I highly recommend this book. Fast moving. You can actually see this playing out in America today



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    Highly recommended

    I have become addicted to Puller. A very Jack Reacher kind of guy, but with his own allure as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    eaglejal

    Great book typical baldacci story line terrific could not put it down very fast moving

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2014

    Fun Read.

    Fun read, keeps you on the edge of your seat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    John Puller is a Special Agent in the U.S. Army CID. When this i

    John Puller is a Special Agent in the U.S. Army CID. When this installment of his adventures opens, he is returning from a few days of “R and R,” much needed after his last assignment in West Virginia ended with his trust being betrayed, a lot of people getting dead and the Nation saved from total destruction and ruin; in other words, a typical day for a fiction novel hero. His return home is short lived, as he receives news that his father needs to see him (his father, a retired Three-Star General, expects his requests to be treated as orders), so John hurries over to see his father in the retirement home, as the General suffers dementia. During that visit he learns that his favorite aunt, his father’s sister, sent a cryptic letter shortly before she died, indicating the possibility that her death may not have been an accident. Thus, Agent Puller is off to Paradise, Florida, to check things out.
    Upon his arrival at this Gulf Coast tourist mecca, it is quickly discovered that “Paradise” is not as peaceful as its name would indicate.  The hotel he can afford is in a part of town the tourists would never see or believe if they did.” Within hours of his checking in, he interrupts the assault of a young lady by three street thugs. After he dispatches the hoodlums, those he rescued “happen” to play an integral role in what our hero is about to discover about this community and the death of his aunt.
    The book is populated by a giant of uncertain ethnicity, a crusty Police Chief who is initially unimpressed by Puller’s credentials, local police who are professional or incompetent and a mega-rich mogul whose wealth has been achieved at the demise of those who trusted him and who is a textbook example of “entitled.” The action is “as expected” in an action filled detective novel – the hero is outnumbered but his superior training/mind/luck always carries him through. None of the characters or the plot is developed beyond two dimensions, leaving a flat, Water-Colored crime novel that is perfect for a beach or rainy day read.
    I doubt John Puller will make his appearance on the Silver Screen anytime soon.  I fully expect his tour of duty - uncovering crime, stopping bad guys, making the world safe - to be extended indefinitely. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    Recommend

    Like almost all Baldacci's books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Subject matter was interesting, but there was far too much viole

    Subject matter was interesting, but there was far too much violence for my taste and several of those encounters were not very believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    John Puller Series #2

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Great book!!

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Ecellent Baldacci read!

    Hard to put down; recommended thriller reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Good fast read

    Fun read guessed the plot pretty fast .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    one of the good ones

    I like most of his books including this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    A must read!

    Great book from start to finish!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    This was my first David Baldacci book

    and I found it a very exciting story and well written...grabs you from the very first pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    This book, I think, is a little different from his others. Some

    This book, I think, is a little different from his others. Some strange and interesting things included in it that I thought were very interesting and added to the character of the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Not his best.

    This was not as good as most of Baldacci's books. The writing was very poor in places, and the plot contained a lot of boilerplate action sequences. Despite all this, it had its good points, enough so that I would give it a 3-star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Thrilling!

    I found this book to be better than the first Puller book, "Zero Day."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 541 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 28