Customer Reviews for

The Founders' Key: The Divine and Natural Connection Between the Declaration and the Constitution and What We Risk by Losing It

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

The words of the Declaration of Independence have a way of continuing to ring across the ages. The arrangements of the Constitution have a way of organizing our actions so as to produce certain results, and it has done this more reliably than any governing instrument in...
The words of the Declaration of Independence have a way of continuing to ring across the ages. The arrangements of the Constitution have a way of organizing our actions so as to produce certain results, and it has done this more reliably than any governing instrument in the history of man. The connection between the Constitution and the Declaration is both inspiring and commanding. The Declaration acquires a practical form and operation that do not seem to come from it alone. The Constitution soars to the elevation of the natural law, and its arrangements are reinforced with that strength. Dr. Arnn discusses why the Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution do not contradict each other as progressives, academics and journalists claim. The author reminds us that we the people were intended to control the government as well as the government control certain human behaviors. At present we have no real control over the fourth branch, the Administrative system. This branch makes laws (regulations), supplanting the role of Congress. This branch administers penalties (fines) the function of the judicial branch. This is a very readable book, one that everyone interested in the issues of government should read. Dr. Arnn does an excellent job of presenting material from source documents: the Declaration, Constitution, and Federalist Papers. He also includes his source documents in the book. You don't have to take his word for what is being said. You can read it for yourself. I highly recommend this book. Whether you agree with his premises or not, you will at least have an understanding of what the source documents say and not be led astray by spurious reasoning. Knowing what is contained in the material will set you free to form your own opinions. I received a free copy of thee- book from Thomas Nelson as part of their Booksneeze Blogger program.

posted by VillaSyl on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Great Read for History Buffs Who Love Politics

The Founder’s Key by Larry P. Arnn is a book that is great for history buffs; but not just any history buffs, but those who love the history of politics and for those who like our founding fathers. The book is very well researched. It is a book that set up in two parts...
The Founder’s Key by Larry P. Arnn is a book that is great for history buffs; but not just any history buffs, but those who love the history of politics and for those who like our founding fathers. The book is very well researched. It is a book that set up in two parts. Part #1 is The Argument and Part # 2 is on Foundational Readings. I liked that the book has readings from the Declaration of Independence and Constitution. I will say this I still love the fact that the founding fathers wanted us to have happiness and safety. The author also presented us quotes from James Madison through his essays for the Federalist. I am a history buff and I like broadening my thoughts and knowledge by reading things that are out of my historical genera of interests. This one was hard for me but I truly think it is just me. I think Larry Arnn has written this beautifully. My husband picked up the book and started it as well he found it fascinating. I only bring this up because I found the book dry but he did not. The book gives you the foundations of both the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence. I did like that the people and our founding fathers who wrote these important documents stood up against the king and stood so firm to their convictions that I am free because of their wants and desires. I think this book would be a good read for high school or college classes .l think this because the author researched it so well. I am giving this book three out of five stars. Now comes the time in my blog where I tell you that I receive this complementary book from BookSneeze the review I have written are my own opinions.

posted by themiraclesnook on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    The words of the Declaration of Independence have a way of continuing to ring across the ages. The arrangements of the Constitution have a way of organizing our actions so as to produce certain results, and it has done this more reliably than any governing instrument in the history of man. The connection between the Constitution and the Declaration is both inspiring and commanding. The Declaration acquires a practical form and operation that do not seem to come from it alone. The Constitution soars to the elevation of the natural law, and its arrangements are reinforced with that strength. Dr. Arnn discusses why the Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution do not contradict each other as progressives, academics and journalists claim. The author reminds us that we the people were intended to control the government as well as the government control certain human behaviors. At present we have no real control over the fourth branch, the Administrative system. This branch makes laws (regulations), supplanting the role of Congress. This branch administers penalties (fines) the function of the judicial branch. This is a very readable book, one that everyone interested in the issues of government should read. Dr. Arnn does an excellent job of presenting material from source documents: the Declaration, Constitution, and Federalist Papers. He also includes his source documents in the book. You don't have to take his word for what is being said. You can read it for yourself. I highly recommend this book. Whether you agree with his premises or not, you will at least have an understanding of what the source documents say and not be led astray by spurious reasoning. Knowing what is contained in the material will set you free to form your own opinions. I received a free copy of thee- book from Thomas Nelson as part of their Booksneeze Blogger program.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    A Great Read for History Buffs Who Love Politics

    The Founder’s Key by Larry P. Arnn is a book that is great for history buffs; but not just any history buffs, but those who love the history of politics and for those who like our founding fathers. The book is very well researched. It is a book that set up in two parts. Part #1 is The Argument and Part # 2 is on Foundational Readings. I liked that the book has readings from the Declaration of Independence and Constitution. I will say this I still love the fact that the founding fathers wanted us to have happiness and safety. The author also presented us quotes from James Madison through his essays for the Federalist. I am a history buff and I like broadening my thoughts and knowledge by reading things that are out of my historical genera of interests. This one was hard for me but I truly think it is just me. I think Larry Arnn has written this beautifully. My husband picked up the book and started it as well he found it fascinating. I only bring this up because I found the book dry but he did not. The book gives you the foundations of both the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence. I did like that the people and our founding fathers who wrote these important documents stood up against the king and stood so firm to their convictions that I am free because of their wants and desires. I think this book would be a good read for high school or college classes .l think this because the author researched it so well. I am giving this book three out of five stars. Now comes the time in my blog where I tell you that I receive this complementary book from BookSneeze the review I have written are my own opinions.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Interesting Read

    "The Founders Key" is written by Larry P. Arnin, and is a summation of Arnin's theories on two important documents - the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution of the United States of America. Arnin makes the argument that Americans have "divorced" these two documents as to pick and choose from an ala carte menu of freedoms and beliefs. Politicians, citizens, and businesses of all kinds have separated these two documents, rather than unite them as one, thus accepting all of the powers, rights, and beliefs of both documents as the founding principles of our country. Arnin makes a good argument for his basis of this book, and I found it to be very interesting. I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    A Complex Read

    I received a copy of THE FOUNDERS’ KEY: THE DIVINE AND NATURAL CONNECTION BETWEEN THE DECLARATION AND THE CONSTITUTION AND WHAT WE RISK BY LOSING IT by Larry P. Arnn, from Thomas Nelson via BookSneeze. I love history, so I was eager to read this book.

    Sadly, this book does not touch on the history of the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution much. I found the writing style very dry. Rather than being a recreational, thought provoking read, it felt like a textbook I was forced to study for a college class. Information piled upon more information until I felt lost, and had to reread whole paragraphs to earn my place.

    My favorite part was the first page, where Larry P. Arnn includes a letter from John Adams to his wife – a great history fix. The chapter continues by comparing America’s birthday to other countries. We don’t know when China’s birthday is, for example, but America does have one. It is an intriguing concept to consider.

    The book is divided into two parts. The first is the Argument and the second is Foundational Readings. The end includes notes, suggested further reading, and acknowledgements. Overall, I concluded THE FOUNDERS’ KEY to be interesting and well researched, but not my type of book. I am passing it on to my friend, who is a political enthusiast.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Highly recommended

    The basic ideas and philosophy on which our country is founded. A perfect guide
    for anyone who would run for public office.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    I liked alot of his points but I think he was slow to get to the

    I liked alot of his points but I think he was slow to get to them. He speaks to the growth of government and how much of our government is outside the control of congress and therefore outside the ability for it to be reigned in easily. Many of the agencies get their funding from other means beyond the congressional budgeting process. Again making them difficult to control and reign in. He defines the 'Progressive Movement" that is the direct cause of the growth of government and the disregard of the constitution. He compares and contrasts the differences between progressive / socialistic government and a constitutional government. He is optimistic that 'although it will take time to recover constitutional government a start can be made now, and significant results can be achieved soon.' I hope he is right  but question whether it is possible. We have had years of progressive teaching in schools to the point where the younger generations have been so indoctrinated  to believe the constitution is a bad and something to work around. I very much enjoyed the book but I am not sure he gets to a good, concrete plan as to how to turn it around. I think his book does a great job of identifying the problems though and maybe that is half the battle - just getting people to see the problem. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    The Founders' Key is largely a historical discussion of the link

    The Founders' Key is largely a historical discussion of the link between the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution. It brings to light the intentions of the Founding Fathers as evidenced by outside sources such as the Federalist Papers. The author also does a fairly good job of discussing the pros and cons of representative government.

    The summary on the back of the book makes it seem as though this book will be about how leaders since the early part of the twentieth century have ignored the Constitution to the detriment of the country. However, the majority of the book isn't much more than a discourse on the intentions behind the two documents. Anyone who already has a keen understanding of American history won't be surprised by much of the book. Occasionally, the author makes mention of instances in our history when the Constitution hasn't been espoused, but not on the large scale that I was led to believe would be in this book.

    I found that the book became most interesting during the conclusion, when the author does more than make mere mention of specific American institutions that are not listed in the Constitution - such as the federalized education and welfare systems. In the conclusion, the reader gets a taste of what the author was trying to convey. Unfortunately, there isn't enough there to sate the appetite.

    I do hope that the author publishes a second book that further develops the study of the treatment of the Constitution by our nation's leaders - perhaps going farther back than Wilson, since Lincoln was also a master of laying the Constitution aside when he felt it served the needs of his times. And for that matter, Jefferson himself stated that future generations should not feel bound by the needs of his generation. I would love to read a discourse on this topic. I believe the author is up to this challenge. I just don't believe it happens in this book.

    Ultimately, the book would be a good read for anyone who is trying to gain a deeper understanding of the two documents that form the basis of our nation.

    Disclaimer: I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Upon reading “The Founders’ Key” by Larry P. A

    Upon reading “The Founders’ Key” by Larry P. Arnn, President of Hillsdale College, I am even more convinced America is at a cross roads. We are a nation divided, with one side endeavoring to preserve our constitutional heritage and the other seeking to change it.

    I recommend this book for anyone weak on American history and our founding government. It is a great start to learning about our Nation: where we’ve been, where we are and where we are headed!
    This book was provided complimentary by the publisher, Thomas Nelson, through BookSneeze for the purpose of honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was a difficult one. While I enjoyed this book due to the n

    This was a difficult one. While I enjoyed this book due to the nature and thought behind it – the book was difficult for me to read. After a long day at work I try to unwind and relax when reading but this book required thought and definitely wound me up.

    Do I think it’s worth reading? Absolutely. I’ve even purchased copies for friends & the kids teachers.
    Do I think it’s a fun book? Absolutely not — it’s not meant to be — but it will teach you a ton and give you direction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    The Founders’ Key written by Larry P. Arnn is an enlighte

    The Founders’ Key written by Larry P. Arnn is an enlightening read but not an easy read. Dr. Arnn emphasizes the unity and importance of both the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence. These are the pillars of our country on which our liberties hang. Both of these documents have guided our nation to become the first self-governing nation. These two documents made our nation great; however, not everyone thinks so. Many politicians think these documents are outdated, and some would like to redesign the Declaration of Independence to suit their agendas today. Dr. Arnn shows how each document combines together to uphold our nation’s freedoms and rights. He reveals how the Constitution and Declaration of Independence emphasizes less government control. Both documents are needed to prevent us from losing more and more of our liberties. This book provides the information necessary to understand the debate on the constitution and to defend our liberties. It is not an “easy” read, but it is full of information about the Constitution and Declaration of Independence. It includes some of the federalist letters by James Madison , also. It is very enlightening although discouraging when one considers the direction our country is going.

    I received this book free from the publisher through Booksneeze Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2012

    A Wonderful, Inspiring Book!!!

    The history of America is an inspirational story of God's work and blessing. Our founding fathers were great men of worth and dedication, who built a Godly, wonderful country for us. They left us a heritage of love for our Savior, a love for our land, and love for our fellow man.

    However, they also left us the great documents which shaped our country from the beginning. The Constitution and the Declaration of Independence. Both documents were created together and meant to be used together for the good of the American People.

    Today, the Constitution and the Declaration are under attack. They aren't being attacked by foreign countries, but by the very people they were written to protect. Our government is tearing apart the papers that formed them in the first place.

    In this engaging and historically accurate book, Larry Arnn explores the history of our founding documents, their historical and social significance, and traces the sad tale of breaking them apart.

    President Franklin D. Roosevelt was the first to misuse one document without the other, and he started a trend that continues today. Two documents that were made to be equal partners are torn and separated.

    If we as the American people would reclaim our documents and the history behind them, we will reclaim our religious freedom and the true meaning of our Country.

    Score ~ ¿¿¿¿¿
    Violence ~ None
    Indecency ~ None
    Language ~ None
    Age Appropriateness ~ 15 and Up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    The Founders' Key was my first historical book that dealt with p

    The Founders' Key was my first historical book that dealt with politics. At first I was slightly nervous to dive into such an undertaking, but little did I know the interesting things waiting to be discovered. Larry P. Arnn successfully explained to me how the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution, although seemingly different, are united to form a beautiful duet that is full of harmonies. The Declaration, seemingly based on liberal ideas, versus the Constitution that seems to take more of a conservative side of life. When I started reading it, I had very little to no education on American history, and neither did I have a brain that was ready to dive into it. Arnn's writing has a readability that even I, a lowly, uneducated, 16-year-old could understand. His writing has a way of being readable, and completely understandable to someone like me, but yet has a depth that any scholar could appreciate (at least I would hope so). Despite being written from what seemed like a slight bias, it was sincerely educating and I enjoyed every word of it. I suggest the book for any reader, young and old, even if your not in to politics and American history. If your worried about being swamped with names, quotes, dates, boring data, and other theoretical and long-worded evidence, don't be. It's simple, straight-forward style is sure to educate despite your background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    This is a long title for what turned out to be a rather short bo

    This is a long title for what turned out to be a rather short book. Halfway through this otherwise excellent treatise on the contemporary value of these founding documents we find none other than the full text of the documents themselves. This was a major disappointment as I found the author's positions and arguments compelling and worth reading. His credentials at first rendered the book too academic sounding. But the stories provided a more genuine argument. I wanted the book to go on. But suddenly it was over. It felt incomplete and quite frankly I felt robbed. If I wanted to read the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, and the Federalist papers, I can do so for free on-line. I'm not sure whether this was the author's idea or the publisher's. Either way, it reduced my otherwise high ranking of this book as a result. Had the author or publisher provided a reference section of the author's other supporting work, I would have gone there just to get the rest of the story. I'm sure Mr. Arnn has much more to say. As it is, the Suggested Further Reading section provides many other authors, but not Mr. Arnn. I am also curious how Thomas Nelson gained the copyright to our founding documents, as the copyright page clearly states, "No portion of this book may be reproduced...except for brief quotations...without the prior written permission of the publisher."

    I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not an easy book, but worth the effort!

    I haven't studied the Declaration of Independence or the Constitution or even thought about either one of them much since about 10th grade. Which was a fairly long time ago. I wish that I'd taken the time to re-read them (both are helpfully included at the back of this book) before I started reading The Founders' Key, because I think I would have been a little less overwhelmed if I had done so.

    The author is a college president and professor of politics and history and, honestly, the book seems more like a college course than a book. The writing style is a little dry, but there is a lot of great information in The Founders' Key, so it's worth the effort. It took me several chapters to get used to the author's style, and eventually I really got into the book and enjoyed it. It's well worth the mental effort.



    The Founders' Key has a lot of background on the authors of the Declaration and the Constitution, their backgrounds and motivations in writing these two documents and how the two documents compliment each other and work together. There are also interesting discussions about the American style of government and how it has changed since the time of the Founders. I particularly was interested in the chapter entitled "Hypocrisy", which has a nice discussion of the Founders' views on slavery and why they didn't abolish it when they wrote the Declaration or the Constitution. This chapter was a fascinating discussion of a topic I've often thought and wondered about.


    All in all, this is a very informative, thought-provoking and intelligent book. It's a fairly short book- only 123 pages, plus the Declaration and Constitution and several Federalist papers. If you're at all interested in American Government or the Declaration and Constitution, I highly recommend reading The Founders' Key.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of this book thanks to the Booksneeze book review program. I was under no obligation to write a positive review and all opinions posted here are mine and mine alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Declaration of Independence and the Constitution are two of

    The Declaration of Independence and the Constitution are two of the most vital documents in our society. Today, many in the progressive movement would love to strip them from our conscience and change the way society works. When FDR separated the documents, he began the belief that both of them are powerful and necessary. In this new book, Dr. Larry Arnn shows just how important it is for us to fight to keep them together and useful today. Our Founders knew that the new government was fragile, but they also knew that a solid foundation was vitally important. Who is really supposed to control society and its people? What is the true purpose of government? What did the Founders know that has been lost to many citizens today? Why not pick up this book and re-learn the importance and reason for these two precious documents? It's time to discover, "The Founder's Key."

    As a history buff, I was thrilled to receive a free copy of this book from the Book Sneeze program for review. As I listen to the news today, I find it vitally important that our children learn the real importance of our founding documents, and that the rest of us get a big reminder. This is a wonderful book to share and will make a great gift for anyone who wants to know more about what our country was founded on and what we stand to lose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Founders' Key - Read this book and weep for America!

    I am not ashamed to admit that I am not only “old” but I am from the “old school” and I loved the good old fashioned ways and the “good old days” when the belief was “God, Guns and Guts made America great – Let’s keep all three” reigned supreme in our land. Okay, some of you reading this review might not be big on the guns and guts part, but I do hope that you are really big about the GOD part. I was really excited about receiving the book The Founders’ Key and reading it because I am very concerned as an American the path that our political leaders are taking us down. I have to admit that it has been a long time since I have read the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution and would surely fail a 12th grade history test if questions about them were on the test. And that’s sad, because the faith and beliefs of the men who wrote the Declaration of Independence and The Constitution as well as the documents themselves are so important not only to the past of our country, but to our present and future as well. In his book, author Arnn, writes about the direct relationship between “The Divine and natural connection between the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution and what we risk by losing it.” And if you read his book with both eyes open as well as your heart, you will learn just what we stand to lose unless we elect political leaders who hold a high view of God, The Declaration of Independence and The Constitution. It would be interesting to take a survey of our all of our Senators and Congressmen and women to see just how much they know about the Declaration of Independence and The Constitution. I have a suspicion that the results of such a survey would not only surprise you but greatly alarm you. So, what’s the big deal, you ask? The big deal is as author Arnn shares in his book, the men and women who are now guiding our government and writing our laws that govern our land for the most part are nothing like the founding fathers of our great nation AND they are not following the high spiritual, moral and political standards established by our Declaration of Independence and Constitution. I was grateful and most pleased to find a copy of the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution as well as some of Madison’s 26 Federalist essays as originally written included in the book. Just to have a book to read them makes it worth the purchase but there is so much more of value in this book to any American citizen who is concerned about our country’s present and future. If I remember correctly there is a saying in Poker, “Read ‘em and weep,” which is what someone who knows he has the winning hand says to the rest of the players in the game. Well my fellow Americans and friends read this book and weep because the faith in God and principles that our country was founded upon are no more and unless we do something about it as citizens I fear America may be ultimately doomed as a nation. I received a complementary copy of The Founders' Key from Thomas Nelson Publishers for reviewing it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1