Customer Reviews for

The Founders' Key: The Divine and Natural Connection Between the Declaration and the Constitution and What We Risk by Losing It

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

The words of the Declaration of Independence have a way of continuing to ring across the ages. The arrangements of the Constitution have a way of organizing our actions so as to produce certain results, and it has done this more reliably than any governing instrument in...
The words of the Declaration of Independence have a way of continuing to ring across the ages. The arrangements of the Constitution have a way of organizing our actions so as to produce certain results, and it has done this more reliably than any governing instrument in the history of man. The connection between the Constitution and the Declaration is both inspiring and commanding. The Declaration acquires a practical form and operation that do not seem to come from it alone. The Constitution soars to the elevation of the natural law, and its arrangements are reinforced with that strength. Dr. Arnn discusses why the Declaration of Independence and the US Constitution do not contradict each other as progressives, academics and journalists claim. The author reminds us that we the people were intended to control the government as well as the government control certain human behaviors. At present we have no real control over the fourth branch, the Administrative system. This branch makes laws (regulations), supplanting the role of Congress. This branch administers penalties (fines) the function of the judicial branch. This is a very readable book, one that everyone interested in the issues of government should read. Dr. Arnn does an excellent job of presenting material from source documents: the Declaration, Constitution, and Federalist Papers. He also includes his source documents in the book. You don't have to take his word for what is being said. You can read it for yourself. I highly recommend this book. Whether you agree with his premises or not, you will at least have an understanding of what the source documents say and not be led astray by spurious reasoning. Knowing what is contained in the material will set you free to form your own opinions. I received a free copy of thee- book from Thomas Nelson as part of their Booksneeze Blogger program.

posted by VillaSyl on March 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Great Read for History Buffs Who Love Politics

The Founder’s Key by Larry P. Arnn is a book that is great for history buffs; but not just any history buffs, but those who love the history of politics and for those who like our founding fathers. The book is very well researched. It is a book that set up in two parts...
The Founder’s Key by Larry P. Arnn is a book that is great for history buffs; but not just any history buffs, but those who love the history of politics and for those who like our founding fathers. The book is very well researched. It is a book that set up in two parts. Part #1 is The Argument and Part # 2 is on Foundational Readings. I liked that the book has readings from the Declaration of Independence and Constitution. I will say this I still love the fact that the founding fathers wanted us to have happiness and safety. The author also presented us quotes from James Madison through his essays for the Federalist. I am a history buff and I like broadening my thoughts and knowledge by reading things that are out of my historical genera of interests. This one was hard for me but I truly think it is just me. I think Larry Arnn has written this beautifully. My husband picked up the book and started it as well he found it fascinating. I only bring this up because I found the book dry but he did not. The book gives you the foundations of both the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence. I did like that the people and our founding fathers who wrote these important documents stood up against the king and stood so firm to their convictions that I am free because of their wants and desires. I think this book would be a good read for high school or college classes .l think this because the author researched it so well. I am giving this book three out of five stars. Now comes the time in my blog where I tell you that I receive this complementary book from BookSneeze the review I have written are my own opinions.

posted by themiraclesnook on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Interesting Read

    "The Founders Key" is written by Larry P. Arnin, and is a summation of Arnin's theories on two important documents - the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution of the United States of America. Arnin makes the argument that Americans have "divorced" these two documents as to pick and choose from an ala carte menu of freedoms and beliefs. Politicians, citizens, and businesses of all kinds have separated these two documents, rather than unite them as one, thus accepting all of the powers, rights, and beliefs of both documents as the founding principles of our country. Arnin makes a good argument for his basis of this book, and I found it to be very interesting. I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in history.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Highly recommended

    The basic ideas and philosophy on which our country is founded. A perfect guide
    for anyone who would run for public office.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    I liked alot of his points but I think he was slow to get to the

    I liked alot of his points but I think he was slow to get to them. He speaks to the growth of government and how much of our government is outside the control of congress and therefore outside the ability for it to be reigned in easily. Many of the agencies get their funding from other means beyond the congressional budgeting process. Again making them difficult to control and reign in. He defines the 'Progressive Movement" that is the direct cause of the growth of government and the disregard of the constitution. He compares and contrasts the differences between progressive / socialistic government and a constitutional government. He is optimistic that 'although it will take time to recover constitutional government a start can be made now, and significant results can be achieved soon.' I hope he is right  but question whether it is possible. We have had years of progressive teaching in schools to the point where the younger generations have been so indoctrinated  to believe the constitution is a bad and something to work around. I very much enjoyed the book but I am not sure he gets to a good, concrete plan as to how to turn it around. I think his book does a great job of identifying the problems though and maybe that is half the battle - just getting people to see the problem. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2012

    The Founders’ Key written by Larry P. Arnn is an enlighte

    The Founders’ Key written by Larry P. Arnn is an enlightening read but not an easy read. Dr. Arnn emphasizes the unity and importance of both the Constitution and the Declaration of Independence. These are the pillars of our country on which our liberties hang. Both of these documents have guided our nation to become the first self-governing nation. These two documents made our nation great; however, not everyone thinks so. Many politicians think these documents are outdated, and some would like to redesign the Declaration of Independence to suit their agendas today. Dr. Arnn shows how each document combines together to uphold our nation’s freedoms and rights. He reveals how the Constitution and Declaration of Independence emphasizes less government control. Both documents are needed to prevent us from losing more and more of our liberties. This book provides the information necessary to understand the debate on the constitution and to defend our liberties. It is not an “easy” read, but it is full of information about the Constitution and Declaration of Independence. It includes some of the federalist letters by James Madison , also. It is very enlightening although discouraging when one considers the direction our country is going.

    I received this book free from the publisher through Booksneeze Publishing Group. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    The Founders' Key was my first historical book that dealt with p

    The Founders' Key was my first historical book that dealt with politics. At first I was slightly nervous to dive into such an undertaking, but little did I know the interesting things waiting to be discovered. Larry P. Arnn successfully explained to me how the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution, although seemingly different, are united to form a beautiful duet that is full of harmonies. The Declaration, seemingly based on liberal ideas, versus the Constitution that seems to take more of a conservative side of life. When I started reading it, I had very little to no education on American history, and neither did I have a brain that was ready to dive into it. Arnn's writing has a readability that even I, a lowly, uneducated, 16-year-old could understand. His writing has a way of being readable, and completely understandable to someone like me, but yet has a depth that any scholar could appreciate (at least I would hope so). Despite being written from what seemed like a slight bias, it was sincerely educating and I enjoyed every word of it. I suggest the book for any reader, young and old, even if your not in to politics and American history. If your worried about being swamped with names, quotes, dates, boring data, and other theoretical and long-worded evidence, don't be. It's simple, straight-forward style is sure to educate despite your background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not an easy book, but worth the effort!

    I haven't studied the Declaration of Independence or the Constitution or even thought about either one of them much since about 10th grade. Which was a fairly long time ago. I wish that I'd taken the time to re-read them (both are helpfully included at the back of this book) before I started reading The Founders' Key, because I think I would have been a little less overwhelmed if I had done so.

    The author is a college president and professor of politics and history and, honestly, the book seems more like a college course than a book. The writing style is a little dry, but there is a lot of great information in The Founders' Key, so it's worth the effort. It took me several chapters to get used to the author's style, and eventually I really got into the book and enjoyed it. It's well worth the mental effort.



    The Founders' Key has a lot of background on the authors of the Declaration and the Constitution, their backgrounds and motivations in writing these two documents and how the two documents compliment each other and work together. There are also interesting discussions about the American style of government and how it has changed since the time of the Founders. I particularly was interested in the chapter entitled "Hypocrisy", which has a nice discussion of the Founders' views on slavery and why they didn't abolish it when they wrote the Declaration or the Constitution. This chapter was a fascinating discussion of a topic I've often thought and wondered about.


    All in all, this is a very informative, thought-provoking and intelligent book. It's a fairly short book- only 123 pages, plus the Declaration and Constitution and several Federalist papers. If you're at all interested in American Government or the Declaration and Constitution, I highly recommend reading The Founders' Key.

    Disclosure: I received a copy of this book thanks to the Booksneeze book review program. I was under no obligation to write a positive review and all opinions posted here are mine and mine alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Declaration of Independence and the Constitution are two of

    The Declaration of Independence and the Constitution are two of the most vital documents in our society. Today, many in the progressive movement would love to strip them from our conscience and change the way society works. When FDR separated the documents, he began the belief that both of them are powerful and necessary. In this new book, Dr. Larry Arnn shows just how important it is for us to fight to keep them together and useful today. Our Founders knew that the new government was fragile, but they also knew that a solid foundation was vitally important. Who is really supposed to control society and its people? What is the true purpose of government? What did the Founders know that has been lost to many citizens today? Why not pick up this book and re-learn the importance and reason for these two precious documents? It's time to discover, "The Founder's Key."

    As a history buff, I was thrilled to receive a free copy of this book from the Book Sneeze program for review. As I listen to the news today, I find it vitally important that our children learn the real importance of our founding documents, and that the rest of us get a big reminder. This is a wonderful book to share and will make a great gift for anyone who wants to know more about what our country was founded on and what we stand to lose.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1