BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Fourth World: Book One of the Legend of the Locust

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Totally amazing

Had I known that this book was this amazing, I wouldn't have had a problem with actually PAYING for it. This(in my opinion)is the best free book Barnes&Noble is offering. The detail in here, and the interaction of the character, is just plain amazing. I have to admit, i...
Had I known that this book was this amazing, I wouldn't have had a problem with actually PAYING for it. This(in my opinion)is the best free book Barnes&Noble is offering. The detail in here, and the interaction of the character, is just plain amazing. I have to admit, it has many grammatical errors in it, but that's pretty much expected from a free book, right? Once you get past them, you really get involved in the story more. Please try it out, I HIGHLY recommend it.

posted by Technochic on October 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

What???????

II TJOUGHT THAT FINTAN AND NIZHONI WHERE GONNA BE TO GETHER!!!!!!! LAUREN MORONEY MAKE THE NEXT BOOK ASAP!!!!! HOPEFULLY NIZHONI WILL COME BACK ALIVE:*(

posted by Anonymous on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    Totally amazing

    Had I known that this book was this amazing, I wouldn't have had a problem with actually PAYING for it. This(in my opinion)is the best free book Barnes&Noble is offering. The detail in here, and the interaction of the character, is just plain amazing. I have to admit, it has many grammatical errors in it, but that's pretty much expected from a free book, right? Once you get past them, you really get involved in the story more. Please try it out, I HIGHLY recommend it.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Great read ... highly recommended, with a caveat

    I really loved this book ... well written, and engrossing. It reminded me a lot of Harry Potter and Hogwarts with alien technology substituting for magic. It's the first of a trilogy, and the first two ended with a cliffhanger.

    Here's the caveat. The second book, the Million Years Journey is also available for download, but the third book, The Legend of the Locust, is supposed to be available in the summer of 2010 but, it's nowhere to be found. A search of the web does not show any references to it, and precious little about the author.

    So if you're the sort of person who likes to have a series 'in hand' before starting book 1, be forewarned.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Read

    The work would benefit from an editor who actually caught typos and who actually focused on ebook layout, but the plot and characters themselves are delightful. If you like Harry Potter or Star Trek this is an instant hit. I'd also recommend it to people who like adventure mysteries and sci-fic exploration genre reads. I'm definitely going to be reading the next book and I'll be looking for more from this author in the future.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    Fantastic book!

    Mix Harry Potter, Star Wars, The XFiles and Anime and you will get this book...all i need to ask is when will thos be made into amovie? It could be the next big thing...

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    This is amazing!

    This will leave you wanting more with every word. An amazing beginning, but an ending that almost made me cry.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Just bought next book

    This is not a pertfect book, however, I just paid to get the follow next book in the series. I thonk that alone says a lot. Tjere are plot holes and some typos, however, the book was entertaining. For a free book, it is great.

    There did seem to be a lot of parallels was Harry Potter , but thatcis not necessarily bad.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT!

    i loved all the suspense and mystery! great book! Heres a little bit about the book. Specially picked kids from all over the world take a test and if they pass they get to go to a special school in Area 51. They learn how to fly saucers and they compete in a Starball tournament. The winning team goes on a special trip and everything goes wrong. Great book for kids of all ages

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Good

    This is a good book. I recomend it. If you want the second book you can search the authors name in

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Wonderful series

    Highly recomended

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Great read

    This is a great book for 9-18 year olds on my opinion and it was terrific book and it is worth acually paying for it. I highly recomend this book and i wonder when the next book is going to come out.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    What???????

    II TJOUGHT THAT FINTAN AND NIZHONI WHERE GONNA BE TO GETHER!!!!!!! LAUREN MORONEY MAKE THE NEXT BOOK ASAP!!!!! HOPEFULLY NIZHONI WILL COME BACK ALIVE:*(

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2011

    For those wondering about Part 3...

    Sorry about the delays...but it is coming very soon...

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    I really enjoyed this book!

    I look forward to the next in the series!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Hey

    Reminiscent of early Heinlein, just a darn good SF story. A few editing issues but tolerable.

    Pam

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Incredible

    I love the detail

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    F

    It sucked my ass so hard it sucked my balls off

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Ghj

    BEST book for free! Also
    SOM1 HELP!! I KEEP ON SEARCHING FOR THE SECOND BOOK BUTS ITS NOT THER!!!!! HELP! WHERE CAN I GET IT???!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Anonymous

    I love it but when's the next one comming

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Great.

    They make an awesome free book, the rest of the trilogy is 2.99 a book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    To Gabriela From Haley .H.

    Hello Gabriela, if you want to be my Nook friend, give me your Nook email and first and last name so I can send you a friend request\ invite. Please accept my request soon!

    ~ Haley Harwell :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5