Customer Reviews for

The Freedom Writers Diary: How a Teacher and 150 Teens Used Writing to Change Themselves and the World Around Them

Average Rating 4.5
( 206 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

wow

When I first heard about this movie and book I didn't think it would be nice but now I'm glad that I saw it because it has touched me alot. You would never know what it feels like to be in their position unless you have been through it. You know how they say you shouldn...
When I first heard about this movie and book I didn't think it would be nice but now I'm glad that I saw it because it has touched me alot. You would never know what it feels like to be in their position unless you have been through it. You know how they say you shouldn't judge a book by its cover. I did and I ended up to be so wrong, that is one of the best movies i have ever watched and it taught me a life lesson.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Freedom Writers Diary

I read this book freedom writers, i thought this book was an okay book beacuse it just talked about the children that are in the story and how they write a joural entree on every child that is in the class room, they tell about how they live, what they do when they aren...
I read this book freedom writers, i thought this book was an okay book beacuse it just talked about the children that are in the story and how they write a joural entree on every child that is in the class room, they tell about how they live, what they do when they arent in the class room.. and the teacher came from a rich town to teach in a bad section of a city. i also like how the teacher inspierd the children to do good and school and educate the children. This story might inspier the children that dont get educated and this teacher is willing to have them learning and to see what its like to learn and relate to some of the students in the class.the teacher is giving her heart out to her students.

posted by 1235023 on April 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    wow

    When I first heard about this movie and book I didn't think it would be nice but now I'm glad that I saw it because it has touched me alot. You would never know what it feels like to be in their position unless you have been through it. You know how they say you shouldn't judge a book by its cover. I did and I ended up to be so wrong, that is one of the best movies i have ever watched and it taught me a life lesson.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    A Journey Through Writing

    I feel as though this novel was phenomenal! It had everything a reader could ask for, strength, courage, and perseverance. This compelling story touched my heart in such a way that has changed the way I now think. Writing isn't just to record documentation but also to record the story of your life and soon people and you will begin to see the change in your daily life. All it took was the dedication of one teacher to inspire a group of students to do the same. At first the group were a disruptive, obnoxious group, now a group turned into passionate, ambitious students. This group put their hearts and entire trust into one teacher to change their lives forever. Their determination helped them accomplish the greatest achievements and allowed them to aspire to their greatest dreams. I feel if one person could change the attitude of several students, I could do the same. We can make a difference in the world and more important in someone's life, only if we try.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    An Enlightening and Interesting Book

    I actually saw the movie first and was so inspired and intrigued that I logged onto barnesandnoble.com to buy the book that day. I must say I am not disappointed. The book, very much like the movie, brings the reader closer to the real-life characters that the Freedom Writers were. An expolration that delves into many different life situations, this book is an eye-opener that truly brings to life the spirit of the Freedom Writers and their teacher, Erin Gruwell.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    review on freedom writers

    The Freedom Writers By The Freedom Writers, Erin Gruwell, Zlata Filipovic is a good book. It's about an english teacher who really gets involved with her students. She gives the students the space and freedom to write about things that heppened to them in their life, and also let's them explain how they feel about the things that happened.She also design assignments that the students can relate to or provide help and advise to ways to deal with the obstacles that they are faced with on a daily basis. The book is a collection of diary entries by different students with different experiences; also the teacher Ms. Gruwell added in a few entries.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    The Golden Recipe

    The The Freedom Writers Diary is an interesting book that probably many teenagers can relate to with their life experiences. This book was published in 2006 and was a number one New York Times bestseller. This story is about an ideal teacher who strives hard to help her students. Erin Gruwell lived in long beach California for most of her life with her father. When she decided to become a teacher, her father was very excited but didn¿t think that she was able to pursue a dream of teaching children in the disturbed community of Los Angeles. Ms Gruwell moved to Newport Beach to follow her dream of changing the lives of troubled teens. Once she settled herself in class, one student stood out to her when he drew a racial caricature on a sheet of paper. Gruwell wanted to change the image of these students because she saw potential in all of these children and the mentality that most of them had was violent. She was determined to prove society wrong because these children are history and they have something to prove. Gruwell used writing as one of her strategies to change their lives. This book was an inspiration to young girls and boys who think that they can¿t change the world around because of their circumstances or position.This book tellsus that life isn¿t about money or any fortunate life style but it¿s about accomplishments.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    OSU Comp Student 2009

    The Freedom Writers Diary was a very good book. I enjoyed reading about their experiences through the different viewpoints of the student and what they thought about what they are learning. I also like how Ms. G was able to get her kids interested in learning, instead of beating each other up, and showing them that even though they are different form each other, that they all have the same things in common. This book helped me to see a different way of teaching students, which will help me because I wish to become a teacher. Thank you Freedom Writers and Erin Gruwell for sharing your story with us.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2009

    An eye opening fantastically inspirational thread of stories

    This book is great for a look into how teenagers in a tough neighborhood really view the world. They don't. The world, to them, is their tiny community. They can't get out and grow or learn if they are fighting for their basic needs to be met at home. Some of them fight alone, some have the support of friends or a gang, a few have parental support and a finite lucky few had the opportunity to break that cycle because they had Erin Gruwell show them that they could find support beyond race, they could travel beyond the projects and could reach new potentials that they had lost hope for long ago. They could make a difference. And they did.<BR/><BR/>(It's a fast read, easy to pick up and put down because of the diary entries. I learned a lot, had my eyes opened, teared up, smiled, and laughed out loud. I highly recommend this book).

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Loved it

    This book is amazing. It makes anyone who reads this feel as if they are guilty because of what the charcters faced in this book. Its very sad story but its worth the money.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    The Editors of What Could Have Been a Masterpiece Let Formality Overpower

    I decided to give the book 3 stars, the lowest rating I will give a book so long as I love the story behind it but hate the way it was constructed. Such is the case with this work. I do believe that Ms. Gruwell taught this class and was the mentor of the Freedom Writers; I do believe that this group of supposed bad, unteachable students who grew up on the wrong side of the street were able to, with the help of a loving, understanding mentor, graduate and become successful; I do not, however, believe that these are the original journal entries that were supposedly written by the students. I'm a professional writer now, and by-God, I couldn't write half as well as these remedial children did at their age. I grew up in the kinds of neighborhoods, and I'll tell y'all somethin': THAT AIN'T HOW WE TALK! I don't think I've ever seen people in my 'hood use the words that were used in the book; it is as if each 'entry' is, one, written by the same person, and two, by a Harvard Grad with a writing degree at that. I won't lie: I do believe that the original events of the Freedom Writers took place (I do need verification, though; I was very young when the events would have occurred; and though the book provides photos of the actual people, they are just photos); I do believe that a group of unteachable students learned the power of the written word and became successful in their own rights.... I also believe that whoever edited this manuscript for publication needs to come off their high goddamn horse and say hello to the reality I and so many others have been living in. I won't pretend like if it weren't for my mother I'd be in prison right now or dead from a drug overdoes, alcohol poisoning, or suicide. The editor of the piece let formality rule over what could have been a masterpiece told through the individual voices of the same kinds of people I grew up with and have befriended - all good kids, some going down the wrong path, others straightening out. I was expecting to read the words of students and watch their individual writing progress through the course of four years of high school. Instead the reader is handed garbage that has obviously been edited down to an appropriate level because people are too naive to understand the reality of the lower- and lower-middle-class systems and the hell they live in. In short - I believe the events took place, and I believe this could have been a masterpiece if it was left alone editorially, but of course, some formally-educated editor had to step in and turn it into something that would be acceptable to those with naive perceptions blinded to reality.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    Freedom Writers Diary

    I read this book freedom writers, i thought this book was an okay book beacuse it just talked about the children that are in the story and how they write a joural entree on every child that is in the class room, they tell about how they live, what they do when they arent in the class room.. and the teacher came from a rich town to teach in a bad section of a city. i also like how the teacher inspierd the children to do good and school and educate the children. This story might inspier the children that dont get educated and this teacher is willing to have them learning and to see what its like to learn and relate to some of the students in the class.the teacher is giving her heart out to her students.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    An Inspiration.

    I really liked this book for a few reasons. I had watched the movie a few times loved it every time. The movie only goes through freshman and sophomore years and the book goes freshman through senior years so I wanted to read it and hear the rest of their stories.<BR/>This book is such an inspiration. These are the diaries of 150 students compiled into one book. Ms. Gruwell fought to help her, so called, "reject" class. Being a first year teacher at Wilson High she doesn't get the respect of her fellow teachers, the choice of which class she gets or books for her class. She get's two extra jobs to help pay for the brand new books she get's for her students. <BR/>She has this idea to change their lives. Every student gets a notebook to write down all of their experiences in them, to express their feelings. She takes them on field trips to help them learnt and they raise money to bring in special guests. <BR/>This book is an inspiration because it shows that one teacher can change the lives of 150 students. This book is the students stories, their undeclared war.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2008

    This book is great!

    I like this book because it is about true experiences of teenagers that really went through the situations they talk about. It is a collection of diaries the students wrote for themselves and for their teacher. This was a very special teacher who made a difference in their lives. She made them write about their experiences so they could express their feelings. It is incredible that real people actually live like this. And it is even more incredible how with some love and understanding one single teacher could change their lives so much. The book exists because she decided to publish their stories, and a movie producer even made a film about it. Normally I can identify with a character in a book, but here I could not identify with anybody, simply because they all have such hard lives. I was especially touched by the diary of this guy who is dyslexic. His mom did everything she could for him, and sent him to a special school where they taught him to read and write properly, but he had to leave and enter a regular school where he had the good luck of ending in this very special teacher´s class. She made a big difference in their future. But I won´t say anymore. If you want to find out what happened to him and his classmates by the end of high school, you must read the book. I can only say that this book has made me realize I have a really good life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    inspiring and beautiful

    This is an amazing book with such amazing TRUE stories of kids who are no more than preteens. I was so inspired after reading this that I started my own diary! The movie is also great if you loved the book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    So inspiring

    People think all these kids are trouble
    But they're not they have a hard life and nobody understands
    This movie/book lets every body know what they went through
    READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!,

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Amazing

    I have watched the movie plenty of times, so i want to read the book finally.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    The movie, so touching

    This movie was so touching. I thought i would hate it, but i was VERY wrong. I didnt leave my seat the entire time. I heard about the book, and plan on reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    I loved the movie Should I read the book?

    The movie was great should I read the book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    I love this

    I love that movie

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Amazing

    I have seen the movie and now read the book and both have been really good. It is sad what the children go through but this book helps you see the truth behind these children.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    This is a good book

    If you read the book watch the movie it is not the same connection but it still is grate movie and book

    Buy it
    Read it
    Rate it 5 stars
    Share it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11