Customer Reviews for

The French Laundry Cookbook

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    PURSUIT OF A PLATONIC IDEAL

    Yes, this is a cookbook, with recipes; yes, it's a coffee-table book, with wonderful food-porn photography. And yes, it's nouvelle French-Californian, with an emphasis on ingredients and honesty and intensities. But most importantly however, it's about technique and philosophy. One probably is not going to and cannot "do" what Chef Keller does at the French Laundry in Napa. But you can pay attention to your ingredients and their tastes and colors and textures and what you're doing to them, and you can plan how you're going to plate your food. You can plan what you're going to give to your family and friends to eat and to give them pleasure. Although this book is definitely not a how-to, it does show the rest of us what a world-class pro at the top of his game thinks and gives us a vision of magic.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Learn how the pros do it.

    My son bought this book and has made several magnificent meals by meticulously following the directions. If you like to cut corners, or if you're looking for a quick and dirty method for throwing together a dinner, you won't like this book. But, if you really want to know how the pros make everything taste sublime, then this book will tell you.
    Be sure and try the duck, (and render the fat to use later),absolutely wonderful.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2002

    5 stars would disappoint Mr. Keller I think!

    I am a Culinary Arts (i have been enlightened here (again) by Mr. Keller,it is a craft not an art!) student. There is really no reason why any serious cook should not own this book. If you really care, you will love to have articulated (and articulated well) what you have thought and felt about food. Then Mr. Keller takes that to the Nth degree and basically beats you w/ his Dr. Suess-y genius. Looking at the pictures almost made me want to quit and run to the hills because he is light years away from what i think i will ever be capable of. It is close to perfect and i am sure that Mr. Keller racks his poor brain hourly trying to improve his book. If ever there was a cook book of this sort that might ever have a 5th(+) edition this is it. I will have the whole lot of them. That is why i gave it only 4 stars.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    French Laundry Cookbook - Informative and Fun

    The illustrations are awesome. The text describes unfamiliar items and suggests where to find them. Terms specific to French cooking are defined in language that anyone can understand. I bought this book as a gift and would buy it for my home as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2000

    Brilliant

    This is not only a cookbook, it is also a visual a piece of art. Mr. Keller's philosophy of food has taken the California Fresh movement and injected some lately lacking enthusiasm with some of the most original ideas to come along in a long time. A bit obsessive with procedure but many of the ideas are adaptable to every day cooking. Totally original.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2000

    Food as it was meant to be!

    A startling beautiful book. Not just recipes but a thoughtful commentary on what really good food is about and why cooks should 'bother'. Anyone who truly cares about the art of cooking should give this book a try.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    THIS BOOK CHANGED MY LIFE!

    THE FRENCH LAUNDRY COOKBOOK is not just a cookbook, it's a guided tour of sensual taste experiences by legendary chef Thomas Keller. Each time I open the book, I feel I'm on a culinary journey of self-discovery with "the master", who teaches and explains ingredients and techniques so patiently and so well. I've learned to approach the preparation and presentation of my food from an entirely new perspective.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2000

    the most pasionate cook around

    Thomas Keller has a clear definition of what he wants to say with his food, and does so gracefully and harmonously. A perfect cookbook to inspire and evoke passions in your own cooking. Excellent book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2000

    Fine food in true French Tradition

    This book brings back the fine art of food at its best. A must have to any cookbook enthusiast or chef

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    Good & Fast

    Product was as described, excellent condition, pretty quick on the delivery (it always takes longer!). Would buy again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2