BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Frey Saga Book II: Pieces of Eight

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't put it down!

Pieces of Eight, the second in the Frey saga, picks up right where the first book left off. The well developed characters are charming and unique, and the witty dialogue kept me alternately laughing and holding my breath throughout. Wright's work has the feel of R.A. ...
Pieces of Eight, the second in the Frey saga, picks up right where the first book left off. The well developed characters are charming and unique, and the witty dialogue kept me alternately laughing and holding my breath throughout. Wright's work has the feel of R.A. Salvatore's dark elf series. She has reminded me that I've been away from the world of dark elves for far too long. I am anxiously awaiting her next book.

posted by SLWallaceSY on January 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent story but....

The book is just too short/small. Book one and two could be combined to make a decent sized book. Also the main character has to be about the most dense and whiney heroine I have read in recent decades.

posted by 144188 on October 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    What a jumbled mess

    Is it Frey or Freya? Is it she the Victim or the Criminal?
    Not only does this heroine, have a split personality, so does this disjointed story.
    I was left with more questions than the story could answer. Huhm, a quick ending that made little sense, to me.
    I am not a mind reader. Tell me a story. This includes describing the relationship between the past, current and future players.
    The relationship between the heroine and her {Guards/trainers} is never clear, especially when it comes to Ruby-the half faerie.
    Jumbled, jumbled, what a mess! Will the third book explain anything or will I be disappointed, again?
    It could be a great story, if the author started over again and did not ASSUME that we, who read the story-know what the author is thinking.
    Melissa will do better.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    terrible

    The first one was good. This one stank.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Drags on and on

    This whole book was so disappointing. The only good was the last 5 pages when something finally happened. The rest of the book was Frey fainting, dreaming (which you can't understand), eating, sleeping, and practicing. This whole book was totally unnecessary. It just dragged on about nothing. I will definitely not be getting any more books from this trilogy. This book was a waste of time and money. Sorry!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    You couldn't pay me to read awful book!

    You couldn't pay me to read awful book!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Owl

    Confusing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    This book sucked!

    All the main character says is "i dont know". Well i dont know either. She had to have the same things explained to her and she passed out all the time. The book is from freys point of view you cant have her passed out or not included all the time. Lazy writing. Cant believe i paid for this book! Lots of words about nothing...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Sucky

    This book.ws not written very well. I remember being bored in it and confused and that is all I remember. I would not recommend this book. So not worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Poor story

    Poor story mechanism used to avoid writing elements. Overall this felt like a book that the author was not interested in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Anonymous

    I was disapointed with this book. I read it to find out a bit more background about Frey and the circumstances that placed her in the predicament she and her companions founs themselves in in the first book. This book did not provide that. Frey spent most of her time recovering from one fainting spell or another because of dreams that were never fully explained. What manner of writing style is that? I was left feeling like the author expected me to read her mind in order to follow the plot. I hope the next book is better. If not then I will no longer read any of her books. The only thing I know for certain in this book is that Frey regained some of her lost memories (though she still seems confused about who she is/ was), that her father is dead, and that she regained her stolen powers - most which are ill defined at best. I would not recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1