BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Friend Request

Average Rating 3.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Of its time. Really enjoyable

There are some really funny parts in this book. I enjoyed it from start to finish, especially as I'm a Facebook Whore - the same as the lead character. Although the plot isn't ground-breakingly original, it takes the familiar theme to a new level by basing it around Fac...
There are some really funny parts in this book. I enjoyed it from start to finish, especially as I'm a Facebook Whore - the same as the lead character. Although the plot isn't ground-breakingly original, it takes the familiar theme to a new level by basing it around Facebook and most peoples' obsession with sharing their info and broadcasting their thoughts. Definitely recommended.

posted by TobyBaker on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Awful

The idea was interesting but the execution was an epic fail. If I was not distracted by the multitude of typos and grammatical errors, I was trying to figure out how certain parts were remotely relative. If this is what passes for literature today, I will stick with ...
The idea was interesting but the execution was an epic fail. If I was not distracted by the multitude of typos and grammatical errors, I was trying to figure out how certain parts were remotely relative. If this is what passes for literature today, I will stick with the classics!

posted by 10512248 on December 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 8, 2010

    Of its time. Really enjoyable

    There are some really funny parts in this book. I enjoyed it from start to finish, especially as I'm a Facebook Whore - the same as the lead character. Although the plot isn't ground-breakingly original, it takes the familiar theme to a new level by basing it around Facebook and most peoples' obsession with sharing their info and broadcasting their thoughts. Definitely recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Awful

    The idea was interesting but the execution was an epic fail. If I was not distracted by the multitude of typos and grammatical errors, I was trying to figure out how certain parts were remotely relative. If this is what passes for literature today, I will stick with the classics!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just too long

    The story would have been more enjoyable if it was a bit shorter. At times I was hoping it would get to something good already because some parts just dragged on and on.... But great concept, point taken...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    The editing job on this book is absolutely horrible.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    I dare you to put this book down long enough to change your profile status

    This book will make you laugh, feel smug, tickle your superiority complex and then have you feeling bashful all in the space of ten pages.

    Anyone who has ever been on a social networking site needs to read this if only to see, and laugh at, themselves.

    Alex Ford has managed to capture the beguiling way that sites like Facebook play on our narcissistic nature and the dangers that may very well lurk in such vanity.

    This fun, yet scarily plausible, read will make you think (if only for a minute) about the consequences that a few seconds vanity might hold.

    It has been said before, on Facebook (by me), but Ben Elton had better watch his back. It looks like there's a new writer in town.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    The Friend Request

    This new novel by Alex Ford is a brilliant read.
    It's thought-provoking,funny,entertaining and topical.
    I couldn't put it down.
    I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting story line! Very enjoyable book, fast paced and I w

    Interesting story line!

    Very enjoyable book, fast paced and I was positively surprised. The internet and social media can be a good or bad thing. This story will get you to thinking about what is out there and what can happen with shared information. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Realistic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Great book, fun to read

    I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. I figured the plot would be fun, since I think FB is silly, but I also enjoyed the author's style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    VERY GOOD BOOK

    Makes u think about your status..... enjoyed the story also

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Be careful who you request

    A very "real" out look in our social network lives. Do you truly know all if your facebook friends even if you have 1,000 or + friends? All your information is at there in the world wide web for the taking- as well as for the manipulating back- stabing people. Being guilty of the facebook culture- this book gives you a semi realistic outlook on what could happen when your live is out in the open for all.... Do you accept or ignore .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    a Good read

    I got this book free and it was a good book. It read fast. Makes one wonder about who we accept as friends on facebook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    A definate page turner

    I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    What a great book!

    Wow. This book hooked me from the start. It kept me on the edge of my seat. I couldnt wait to see what happened next. I really enjoyed reading it. As a Facebook junkie, it really does make you think about what you share online.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well worth the read.

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Good read

    I liked this book! It makes you think how easy the whole idea would be. There was only one part in the book that was a bit silly where the bad guy keeps passing gas. No idea what importance it had. Other than that it's a great read...Get it while its free because I'm sure it won't last long! You'll be glad you did :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great story!

    The reality of how much personal information we post online, especially to social networking sites, is brought vividly home to the reader of this book. I loved reading this book; it was a really good story. It was also terrifying in a way because if you use social networking sites, you know there is a good chance that this story is being played out in real life more often than we would like to think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Awesome!

    Very good! Makes you think about your own status updates. Fun to read, highly recomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Enjoyed the book.

    I enjoyed the book. There are many editing mistakes, but I still liked the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Easy and enjoyable read. A Worthwhile Read

    I downloaded this book to read while on a beach holiday. A nice easy read, entertaining, amusing, topical and with a good amount of drama and intrigue. Believable characters and a good plot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3