BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Future: Six Drivers of Global Change

Average Rating 3
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

48 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

I am delighted to see this new book from Al Gore. His leadership

I am delighted to see this new book from Al Gore. His leadership on these issues, despite so many attacks orchestrated and directed at him, has been inspiring to me personally. This effort is a great contribution to critically important discussion and decision making at...
I am delighted to see this new book from Al Gore. His leadership on these issues, despite so many attacks orchestrated and directed at him, has been inspiring to me personally. This effort is a great contribution to critically important discussion and decision making at this time in history. I'd caution any good folks looking at "reviews" here to realize that there are many people and groups on a mission of pure hatred against Mr. Gore. People threatened for whatever reason by his leadership. I don't know if B&N can moderate the so called "reviews" that will be coming in from people who are just taking another opportunity to malign this good man. Ignore them and read the book.

posted by Reader1976 on January 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

I strongly suspect that none of the commenters to date-none- has

I strongly suspect that none of the commenters to date-none- has actually read the book. I found the book very difficult to plow through, although it is heavily annotated. Would serve well as a reference book for further research and exploration. Please note that it is ...
I strongly suspect that none of the commenters to date-none- has actually read the book. I found the book very difficult to plow through, although it is heavily annotated. Would serve well as a reference book for further research and exploration. Please note that it is extremely speculative. It supports a global universe which ignores the fact that excessive government regulation, crony capitalism, complex governmental structures and politics itself ( which often does not make good policy), may have had a hand in creating the "bad" which exists with the "good" in many of the issues he addresses including healthcare, energy, and other environmental issues. Not highly readable, however.

posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    I am delighted to see this new book from Al Gore. His leadership

    I am delighted to see this new book from Al Gore. His leadership on these issues, despite so many attacks orchestrated and directed at him, has been inspiring to me personally. This effort is a great contribution to critically important discussion and decision making at this time in history. I'd caution any good folks looking at "reviews" here to realize that there are many people and groups on a mission of pure hatred against Mr. Gore. People threatened for whatever reason by his leadership. I don't know if B&N can moderate the so called "reviews" that will be coming in from people who are just taking another opportunity to malign this good man. Ignore them and read the book.

    48 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    *A full executive summary of this book will be available at newb

    *A full executive summary of this book will be available at newbooksinbrief dot com, on or before Monday, February 11.

    Our world is becoming increasingly integrated and complex, and changing faster and faster. Out of the morass of elements involved here, Al Gore identifies 6 themes or factors that are emerging as the major drivers of change. The factors are 1) Work: the movement of labor from West to East (outsourcing); and, at the same time, a shift towards much more automation (robosourcing); 2) Communications: the rise of the internet that has led to a wild proliferation of information, and the ability of the world’s population to instantly connect with one another for a host of purposes—and the increasing reach of the internet from the developed to the developing world; 3) Power: the shifting of power from West to East; and, at the same time, the shifting of power from national governments to smaller players, such as businesses and corporations, but also rogue players, such as guerrilla and terror organizations; 4) Demographics: the enormous increase in the world’s population, and the movement of peoples both within and across national borders (as the result of numerous factors); 5) Biotechnology: the increasing manipulation of DNA to produce not only new organisms with novel features, but new materials and fuels as well, and 6) Climate Change: the increase in world temperatures caused by the continuing build-up of CO2, as well as the numerous other climate effects that this entails.

    While several of these drivers of change have the potential to bring great benefits to the world’s people, all are fraught with potential dangers, and it is this that is Gore’s focus in the book. This, as well as Gore’s own advice as to how best to deal with the potential dangers.

    Regardless of our political views, Gore’s book does contain a lot of very interesting information about the world today, and the forces that are guiding change. It is of value to anyone who is interested in gaining a big-picture view of what is going on now, and where the world is potentially heading. It should be noted, though, that Gore is very single-minded (unduly, I believe) in what he believes are the solutions to the world’s problems. They virtually always involve government interference and regulation. In other words, they are fully top-down. Gore gives very short shrift to the potential of bottom-up solutions (and is rather black and white in his thinking), which, I believe, is a major shortcoming of the book. Again, though, a worthwhile read no matter our political views. A full executive summary of this book will be available at newbooksinbrief dot com, on or before Monday, February 11; a podcast discussion of the book will be available shortly thereafter.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    I strongly suspect that none of the commenters to date-none- has

    I strongly suspect that none of the commenters to date-none- has actually read the book. I found the book very difficult to plow through, although it is heavily annotated. Would serve well as a reference book for further research and exploration. Please note that it is extremely speculative. It supports a global universe which ignores the fact that excessive government regulation, crony capitalism, complex governmental structures and politics itself ( which often does not make good policy), may have had a hand in creating the "bad" which exists with the "good" in many of the issues he addresses including healthcare, energy, and other environmental issues. Not highly readable, however.

    9 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    JUST WHAT I' VE BEEN LOOKING FOR

    I suspect VP Gore sold his network to raise money for the coming cause, I wanted answers to a lot of these questions Great read

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    Al Gore has proven himself to be a liar and a fraud. At the very

    Al Gore has proven himself to be a liar and a fraud. At the very least, his is a hypocrite of the highest order. He writes books and makes movies about "global warming" (which has since been admitted to be a scam), yet his home is mansion, with a wasteful footprint that would choke a Kardashian. He flies everywhere in a private jet. He lives the lifestyle absolutely contrary to what he tells all of us to live.

    Gore is a fraud, a charlatan, a scam artist. Nothing he says about the future interests me because he's already done much to ruin the present.

    Reader beware.

    6 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    The guy is just brilliant. You need to read this.

    The guy is just brilliant. You need to read this.

    5 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    I just threw up in my mouth. Al Jazeera Gore is a fat fiction pi

    I just threw up in my mouth. Al Jazeera Gore is a fat fiction pimp. 

    5 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Don't waste your time or money

    Don't waste your time or money

    5 out of 78 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Hypocrisy thy name is Gore

    The former VP continues to grift the public with his climate change alarmism. I totally agree we should be good stewards of our planet. But Mr. Gore continues his do as I say not as I do sham as he laughs all the way to the bank. He travels the world in private jets, owns a home that by some accounts uses 20X's the energy of the average US home, sells his failing t.v. network to an oil kingdom, and does so prior to tax laws changing, saving himself millions as he screams for the wealthy to pay their "fair share". Al Gore is an elite in the mold of politburo members. They drove around in their big vehicles as Ivan Q. Public walked or took a bus.

    4 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Great read

    Great information.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    If you don't like it just say so.

    If you don't like it just say so.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    It was a gift so I tried to read but all I could thinks about th

    It was a gift so I tried to read but all I could thinks about that he makes fools of all of us as he goes to the bank! I'm embarrassed that I used to admired him.

    3 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Nice income for Al!

    Nice income for Al!

    3 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Ah, here it is!  I was looking in the "Fiction" sectio

    Ah, here it is!  I was looking in the "Fiction" section.    

    3 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    There are a lot of Right Wingers making comments here, that have

    There are a lot of Right Wingers making comments here, that have obviously not read the book, or just don't get it, or obviously, just do not care. Al is a visionary man, and I haven't read anything that we haven't been saying for some time. It's too bad that our politicians are driven by the big money they get from special interests, or we might be focusing on solving these issues. It saddens me to think about the world we are leaving for our children, and grandchildren...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    A very precient book from someone who understands our world. Don

    A very precient book from someone who understands our world. Don't let politics keep you from exploring this amazing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Liberals suck

    So much for everythings free. Nit that i want to read it anyway i just want to mock al gor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    V.good One Lot of information

    Algore had mentioned the Six important Drivers for Global Change
    Coined the "Earth Inc" which has lot of insights

    Really worth Reading! :-)

    Thanks & Regards,
    Vijay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    A nice book to read

    It help me to know am oin to do in mylife

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Frank

    I need help i just found out my gf was cheating what do i do?

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2