Customer Reviews for

The Future of the Mind: The Scientific Quest to Understand, Enhance, and Empower the Mind

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

EXCELLENT!!! i HAVE BEEN SO INTERESTED IN THE HUMAN BRAIN SINCE

EXCELLENT!!! i HAVE BEEN SO INTERESTED IN THE HUMAN BRAIN SINCE I HAD A BENIGN BASEBALL-SIZED TUMOR REMOVED FROM MY LEFT TEMPORAL LOBE AND WAS ATTACHED TO THE PONS AREA OF MY BRAIN. THIS BOOK HAS EXPLAINED SO MUCH ABOUT THE WORKINGS OF THE BRAIN AND FUTURE POSSIBILITI...
EXCELLENT!!! i HAVE BEEN SO INTERESTED IN THE HUMAN BRAIN SINCE I HAD A BENIGN BASEBALL-SIZED TUMOR REMOVED FROM MY LEFT TEMPORAL LOBE AND WAS ATTACHED TO THE PONS AREA OF MY BRAIN. THIS BOOK HAS EXPLAINED SO MUCH ABOUT THE WORKINGS OF THE BRAIN AND FUTURE POSSIBILITIES OF TREATING PROBLEMS. ITHE BOOK IS WRITTEN WITH WORDS THAT CAN BE UNDERSTOOD BY AN ORDINARY PERSON WHO IS NOT SCIENTICALLY EDUCATED. A MUST READ FOR ANYONE INTERESTED IN THINKING MORE ABOUT ADVANCES AND UPCOMING WAYS TO COMPREHEND WHAT THE BRAIN IS CAPABLE OF DOING. RECOMMENDED-PHANTOMS IN THE BRAIN & THE TELL-TAIL BRAIN BY V.S. RAMACHADRAN.

posted by SharynR on March 13, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Michio Kaku is full of self-congratulation. That gets old fast.

Michio Kaku is full of self-congratulation. That gets old fast.  He is also flogging the "carbon" scare, telling us that global warming is gonna getcha.  That gets old, too.

If you want really good science books, get those by Harvard Physics Prof Brian Greene...
Michio Kaku is full of self-congratulation. That gets old fast.  He is also flogging the "carbon" scare, telling us that global warming is gonna getcha.  That gets old, too.

If you want really good science books, get those by Harvard Physics Prof Brian Greene. They are MUCH more interesting, and very easy to read [almost no mathematics].

I've read both Kaku and Greene.  Greene... good!  Kaku... bad.

posted by Anonymous on March 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    EXCELLENT!!! i HAVE BEEN SO INTERESTED IN THE HUMAN BRAIN SINCE

    EXCELLENT!!! i HAVE BEEN SO INTERESTED IN THE HUMAN BRAIN SINCE I HAD A BENIGN BASEBALL-SIZED TUMOR REMOVED FROM MY LEFT TEMPORAL LOBE AND WAS ATTACHED TO THE PONS AREA OF MY BRAIN. THIS BOOK HAS EXPLAINED SO MUCH ABOUT THE WORKINGS OF THE BRAIN AND FUTURE POSSIBILITIES OF TREATING PROBLEMS. ITHE BOOK IS WRITTEN WITH WORDS THAT CAN BE UNDERSTOOD BY AN ORDINARY PERSON WHO IS NOT SCIENTICALLY EDUCATED. A MUST READ FOR ANYONE INTERESTED IN THINKING MORE ABOUT ADVANCES AND UPCOMING WAYS TO COMPREHEND WHAT THE BRAIN IS CAPABLE OF DOING. RECOMMENDED-PHANTOMS IN THE BRAIN & THE TELL-TAIL BRAIN BY V.S. RAMACHADRAN.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2014

    I¿m a fan of Michio Kaku after seeing him on various Discovery C

    I’m a fan of Michio Kaku after seeing him on various Discovery Channel and Science Channel programs so I was really glad to get an advance reading copy of his latest book from Doubleday and NetGalley.
    The subtitle of the book is “The Scientific Quest to Understand, Enhance and Empower the Mind”, and as I read Dr. Kaku’s descriptions of ongoing and future research into the human brain I kept running across things that made me say “Wow! I didn’t know they could do that!” The book is, in the jargon of the ‘60’s, “mind blowing”, meant with highest praise. Dr. Kaku summarizes the current state of scientific exploration of our brains and the current understanding of how our minds work in an eminently readable fashion that is understandable by a non-scientist.
    The book is divided into three sections; Book I: The Mind and Consciousness, Book II: Mind Over Matter, and Book III: Altered Consciousness. In Book I, Kaku gives the reader a brief history of brain research, beginning with Phineas Gage, the railroad worker who had a steel rod driven into his brain by an explosion in 1848. That incident was the first time that doctors could see that damage to the brain could change a person’s personality and led them to think that certain areas of the brain could be traced to certain behaviors. The chapter continues with a brief course in brain physiology which is useful since he refers to the parts of the brain extensively throughout the book and finishes up with a listing of all the ways our brains can be scanned and probed today to allow researchers to see what might be going on when we are performing tasks.
    Book II is where the mind blowing begins to happen; he recounts research that is aimed at allowing paralyzed people to control a robot hand to pick things up or even an exoskeleton to allow a paralyzed person to walk again. He also discusses the possibility of erasing and creating memories, and looks into whether or not it will be possible for science to make us more intelligent.
    In Book III Dr. Kaku explores the science fiction area of possible future brain research such as mind control and uploading our minds into artificial bodies so we can live forever, or even transmitting our consciousness across the galaxy by laser beam.
    Perhaps some of us alive today will live to see some of the things he discusses come to pass. If I don’t I really enjoyed at least finding out what some of the possibilities of the future might be. This book gives me hope that our species will continue to progress and grow.
    I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in current brain research, science in general or fans of Michio Kaku. He does not disappoint.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Michio Kaku is full of self-congratulation. That gets old fast.

    Michio Kaku is full of self-congratulation. That gets old fast.  He is also flogging the "carbon" scare, telling us that global warming is gonna getcha.  That gets old, too.

    If you want really good science books, get those by Harvard Physics Prof Brian Greene. They are MUCH more interesting, and very easy to read [almost no mathematics].

    I've read both Kaku and Greene.  Greene... good!  Kaku... bad.

    7 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great book from Kaku!!!

    I'm only four chapters into the Book. He had me when He talked about the "ID" from my favorite move "Forbidden Planet". A MUST read!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Kaku is very recognized as a result of his  frequent TV appearan

    Kaku is very recognized as a result of his  frequent TV appearances. I suppose there are more accomplished physicists around, but he is here. I am not hearing arguments against the correctness of his thoughts, so criticism seems petty.   

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2014

    Highly recommended--informative-

    Future of the Mind is an in depth look at the many possible pathways the mind may possibly take and does! Kaki does all this in a way that one can understand without being a scientific genius, The book triggers our excitement while at same time brings about a high sense of anxiety!
    I believe the book should be read by every one who can read, it is scientific mystery dealing in reality,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Though this book looks a little too far into the future for my t

    Though this book looks a little too far into the future for my taste, the author does stretch the limits of science to explore where brain technology could go in the next century. Science has learned more about the mind since I was born, and there's a long ways to go.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book! I also recommend Biocentrism and Hector's Juice!

    Great Book! I also recommend Biocentrism and Hector's Juice!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Herd about him on the newis

    LOVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Great book!

    I love this book. It is so informative. As a speech-language pathologist, the knowledge from this book helps me in my profession. Easy to read, informative. The neurological information is superb, up to date. I've also highlighted my favorite parts throughout the book for quick reference. Worth a look if you have a curious mind about the MIND!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Great book

    This book gives a clear understanding of the mind, especially the human mind. Dr. Kaku's writing is erudite and comprehensible.
    I would recommend this book to anyone, over 16, maybe.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2015

    I really like it

    This Sientifical Excperamental Dizulvmrntal Sience book or do it mentally or you can note it or do it ocasally on Sisposific days whatevers best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2015

    Excellent

    Very insightful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2015

    Michio Kaku does a great job romanticizing and opening the door

    Michio Kaku does a great job romanticizing and opening the door of physics to the lay man. Throughout the book you will be introduced to
    many possibilities of the future, but topics are only grazed, and sometimes incomplete ideas are put forth as if they are truth.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book for it's great breadth, and I would recommend it to anyone, but readers, do yourself a favor and form your own
    philosophical ideas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2014

    Do you "mind"?

    Enjoy the tour de force on this mind bending brain freeze.
    Uh, I mean the future of your brain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    Incredible book. It lays it all out. Easy to understand. The ple

    Incredible book. It lays it all out. Easy to understand. The plethora of information is compelling to see the wonder and awe of the brain and mind. Those who one star the book do it over politics, which this book is not about. It is a five star all the way. Job well done Dr. Kaku..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    Quetion

    Was Michio Kaku that guy that look a bt like an asian Einstein?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2014

    Recommend

    This book was a gift to my husband and he has enjoy it very much. Truly his type of reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Micho kaku

    Sorry again please for give me please bye

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2