BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Games

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I read this book cover to cover and am looking forward to the da

I read this book cover to cover and am looking forward to the day that there is a movie adaptation of this book. The Games is an exceptionally well written book with a foundation in sound biological scientific research. Although this book is classified as Scifi, I wou...
I read this book cover to cover and am looking forward to the day that there is a movie adaptation of this book. The Games is an exceptionally well written book with a foundation in sound biological scientific research. Although this book is classified as Scifi, I would dare to say that Kosmatka writes in a manner that has grounding in truth and therefor lends believability to the scenario established in the story. I highly recommend this book.

posted by Webbed12 on April 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

amazing premise...unfortunately, it couldnt live up to what I fo

amazing premise...unfortunately, it couldnt live up to what I forsaw

posted by AmericanVA on June 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    I read this book cover to cover and am looking forward to the da

    I read this book cover to cover and am looking forward to the day that there is a movie adaptation of this book. The Games is an exceptionally well written book with a foundation in sound biological scientific research. Although this book is classified as Scifi, I would dare to say that Kosmatka writes in a manner that has grounding in truth and therefor lends believability to the scenario established in the story. I highly recommend this book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    In the near future, the Olympics as we know them are preceded by

    In the near future, the Olympics as we know them are preceded by a Gladiatorial event where genetically engineered creatures fight to the death for their nations' glory. Those who support the games refer to them as the ultimate science fair. Those against the games refer to it as bloodsport.

    This is the world where Ted Kosmatka's THE GAMES takes place. The US has won the first three gladiatorial contests, and this year is the favorite again. Silas Williams is the head of the US program, and one of the top geneticists in the world. But unlike the first three contests, where the gladiator was "built" to his genetic design, this year he has been given the genetic blueprint to which to build. The result is a killing machine the likes of which the world has never seen, with physical abilities and intellectual capacities beyond comprehension. And when it escapes the killing arena, all hell breaks loose for Silas in particular and the world in general.

    This is a well written, fast moving and very entertaining story. The science is not overdone, but is totally believable. The characters are well developed, and the hero and villain both are well described and easy to understand. All in all, one of the better science fiction stories I've read in a while.

    Fans of JURASSIC PARK or CONGO (both by Crichton) will find a lot to like here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Good quick read

    Very gripping. tuff to put it down, but very perdictible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2012

    amazing premise...unfortunately, it couldnt live up to what I fo

    amazing premise...unfortunately, it couldnt live up to what I forsaw

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Great story

    Very intriging. Definitely recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    "The Games" is a decent book. It has a well-developed

    "The Games" is a decent book. It has a well-developed story but it could have better.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Locke

    This book is so far amazing i have read to adout page onehundred in one day and i would compare it to hunger games because of the tournament in which they put the animals they bevolpe

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    To katniss

    I am a female and ur from 12 not 13 so i can volenteer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Annabeth Odair

    *The twelve-year-old girl from Four sits in her train car nervously.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Jennifer Hadiro

    A girl feom district 8 walked in (which is the ine wuth technology?) She looked around wondering about the other tributes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    J

    J

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Kaileh to Jennifer

    (District 8 is Textiles. District 3 is Technology and Factories.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Kevin

    Walks in..a screen the number 4 decorated with seashells and seaweed with waves crashing in the background displayed behind him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    LET THE GAMES BEGIN

    3,2,1... May the odds be evr in your favor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Good premise, well-researched, but needed better organization an

    Good premise, well-researched, but needed better organization and fewer subplots. It is clear that the author researched this well, and I enjoy scientific thrillers in the Crichton style as this is. However, there were distracting and unnecessary subplots and characters which could have been dropped to allow greater development of the main story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Page-turner

    Kosmatka has a knack for bringing complex scientific concepts down to earth and making them even more thought-provoking than they already are, and THE GAMES is no exception. Set in a near-future world where one Olympic competition is focused on genetic engineering, the author explores the potential ramifications of "playing God." This book is by turns hopeful, grim, and horrific and always tense. This is a stay-up-past-your-bedtime, read-with-one-eye-closed kind of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Great story!

    Great story. Think...Frankenstein meets Jurrasic Park.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2