BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Garden of Happy Endings

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Barbara O'Neal is one of the best women' fiction writers out the

Barbara O'Neal is one of the best women' fiction writers out there.. Her stories are warm, compassionate, romantic, and full of rich texture of places and food and pets and friendship. In Garden of Happy Endings, she weaves in a marvelous thread aof spiritualit since ...
Barbara O'Neal is one of the best women' fiction writers out there.. Her stories are warm, compassionate, romantic, and full of rich texture of places and food and pets and friendship. In Garden of Happy Endings, she weaves in a marvelous thread aof spiritualit since one of the protagonists, Elsa, is suffering a deep crisis of faith. The story isn't about a specific religion, but rather about faith and healing and forgiveness--and also love. HIGHLY recommended.

posted by EclecticReaderMD on April 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

In this one a very good book goes quickly to below average with

In this one a very good book goes quickly to below average with an ending that was never fleshed out. It is like someone different wrote the last chapters. I think the story at its core is very good. If the ending was rewritten in a professional, complete way that ...
In this one a very good book goes quickly to below average with an ending that was never fleshed out. It is like someone different wrote the last chapters. I think the story at its core is very good. If the ending was rewritten in a professional, complete way that fit with the way the rest of the book was written it would be a 5 star book.
Very disappointed.

posted by to-read-is-to-live on May 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The Garden of Happy Endings is a story of momentary confusion of

    The Garden of Happy Endings is a story of momentary confusion of loss, regret, betrayal, fear and love, all emotions that we can relate to and understand. The characters are Elsa, Tamsin, Father Jack and Deacon McCoy. Elsa Montgomery is a minister. A shocking death in her community triggers a crisis of faith that sends her packing from Seattle, WA back to her hometown of Pueblo, CO. Shaken and disillusioned, Elsa confides in her sister, Tamsin, and her dear friend, Father Jack, looking for answers and seeking spirit. Struggling through her grief, she finds her sister also struggling having lost everything because her husband was caught juggling books in his favor. They turn a vacant rundown lot across from the church into a community garden. Elsa volunteers to work in the soup kitchen and wants to help get the garden ready for spring planting. Then there is Deacon McCoy, who lends an expert hand in the garden and so on and so forth. Good story. Will keep you entertained.


    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Barbara O'Neal is one of the best women' fiction writers out the

    Barbara O'Neal is one of the best women' fiction writers out there.. Her stories are warm, compassionate, romantic, and full of rich texture of places and food and pets and friendship. In Garden of Happy Endings, she weaves in a marvelous thread aof spiritualit since one of the protagonists, Elsa, is suffering a deep crisis of faith. The story isn't about a specific religion, but rather about faith and healing and forgiveness--and also love. HIGHLY recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, what a thought provoking book this is. Elsa is a minister i

    Wow, what a thought provoking book this is. Elsa is a minister in a Seattle church who finds herself questioning her calling after the murder of one of her parishioners. Elsa has had a long history of being disappointed by God, starting with her run in with a misogynist Catholic priest in her youth.
    After being told by her church council that she needs to take a sabbatical, she ends up working with her lifelong friend, Joaquin, now a priest in their home town. She has a history with Father Jack, which led to one of her breaks with God, but they have both worked through it... or so they think. Elsa finds herself working on a community garden and developing an attraction to Deacon, the landscaper who is helping the church set up the garden.
    I read this book the same week a young child was killed in a horrific accident in our state. I had a discussion with two co-workers about how hard I found it to believe that God would have a plan for us that could include such a terrible thing. Elsa has the same questions in this book. She has kept her faith in God for most of her life even when it has been hard to do so-she has turned her back on Him but came back every time. I think that Ms. O’Neal does an excellent job in portraying the anguish that a person with a religious calling would have when they question whether their own faith is strong enough to keep going. That said the book is hopeful and positive even as Elsa is struggling.
    There is a side plot involving Tamsin, Elsa’s sister, who loses everything overnight when her financier husband disappears and is subsequently discovered to have bilked people out of millions of dollars. Tamsin has a crisis of physical loss-she has no money, no home, no job and no hope of getting any of those things in the immediate future. Her daughter is overseas and has no idea of what is happening so Tamsin has the additional burden of keeping her circumstance a secret from her own child.
    As always, Ms. O’Neal gives us a story with many layers that we can relate to even if our situation is not the same as the main character. Her characters survive life’s vagaries and find their own brand of happiness. Isn’t that what we all strive for?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Loved this book. She is the best you can't go wrong with a Barba

    Loved this book. She is the best you can't go wrong with a Barbara O'Neal( Barbara Samuel) book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    highly recommended

    as usual, barbara o'neal doesn't disapoint. the characters were interesting, with enough twists and turns in the story to keep you guessing. i didn't want the book to end-can't wait for her next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Another great read by Barbara O'Neal

    I have loved all this author's books, reading them over and over. I really enjoyed the religious aspect of this book. Very interesting change of pace. This book will make you happy. All her books are uplifting. Women finding themselves and becoming stronger in the process. Of course like all her other books this one made me hungry! Great read. You can't go wrong with this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Liz

    Yeah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    Zack

    Hello? Are you here?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    NEW RESTERAUNT!!!

    mimi res2!! NOW HIRING!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    GO TO IZZYS PARTY

    Its my bithday go to my party at isabella res.5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Bjorn

    So hows life?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Jenni

    Anyone wanna chat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    JAKOB TO ALL

    Thnx for wishing me happy early bday

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Pushbutton

    Al<3>lo?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Johnna

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Mya B.

    Happy Birthday to the person thats turned 15 on monday! And dude with the comment below her, did u really just ask that? Anyway i am so exited about this book! I bet its great! Thanks for all ur info people! I think im ganna get the book! Thanjs again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1