Customer Reviews for

The Gardner Heist: The True Story of the World's Largest Unsolved Art Theft

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book, with a caveat

    This is a great book for art lovers and mystery lovers, and it's a true story. Mr. Boser brings the case to life with his beautiful writing. Here is my caveat, however. If you have followed the case or have conducted extensive research into it, then, unfortunately, the book does not add much new information to the discussion; save for an interesting new suspect worthy of investigation by local law enforcement.

    This book is definitely worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2009

    Superior Reporting

    Ulrich Boser's book of the Gardner Heist is a must-read for anyone who is interested in true crime and who appreciates excellence in journalism. Ulrich combines good old-fashioned reporting (which means interviewing people in person, not just the telephone or trolling the Internet) with first-rate writing. The result is a book that grabs your attention immediately and stays with you long after you've finished. Note to the writers of the Madoff books (that's you, Andrew Kirtzman, Jerry Oppenheimer, Erin Arvedlund: Do your legwork in person. It makes a huge difference in your research and writing. Note to editors: Use Boser as a standard for writers whose books you acquire. This is what superior journalism is all about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2009

    Excellent

    This is an excellent book and whole-heartedly recommend it to others. My only wish is to find those paintings, especially the Vermeers. An excellent documentary to watch regarding this subject is called "Stolen" and came out in 2005.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Where's Whitey?

    A fascinating story, and being from Boston it was a kick reading about all the old neighborhoods and the hoods who inhabited them. The author stepped across the journalism line as he became obsessed with the Gardner theft, and it was a hoot reading about him trekking to Ireland in the hopes of catching the FBI's Number Two Most Wanted man, Whitey Bulger.

    The book sheds some light on the Gardner and offers a reasonable theory of the crime, but after almost 20 years the paintings seem to be taking on the title of another Boston crime novel; Gone Baby Gone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    What Happened to the Gardner paintings?

    As an enthusiastic reader and writer I love a good mystery. The Gardner Heist is one of the best I have ever read. Some booksare very good, but a little stilted, pedantic, often over the top with factual material. Boser had found theright blend of mystery, fact, and just plain great descriptions. There is nothing boring about his work. I will set the book aside for about six months, then go back in and read it again. It is one of thefew books, along with the entire Sherlock Homes series, I will read over, and over, and over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    Looking for Who Done It

    I found The Gardner Heist by Ulrich Boser a fascinating mix of who done it, the Boston underword and the author's search for the missing art and himself. The uncontroverted facts of the Gardner robbery of a Vermeer, two Rembrandts and other priceless painting would only fill a chapter. What makes this book an interesting and provocative read is the author's speculations and his tour of the Boston underworld filled with colorful and lethal characters. Moreover, the author has a real talent for quickly sketching them in a way that brings them to life. Boser's own experience playing junior shamus for three years is fine, but not nearly as good as his frequent and highly insightful comments about art, crime and human nature. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Intriguing story

    This book provides insight into the world of underground art thievery and the characters who deal in it. Fascinating true crime story that is still eaiting to be solved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    If Vermeer had painted the way Boser writes...

    The Vermeer painting would still be on the wall at the Gardner if Vermeer painted as poorly as Ulrich writes.
    A careful heavy editing might have helped thopis intrinsically interesting story to rise above the journeyman level of the prose. Very disappointing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    Incredibly Interesting

    I never even heard about the Gardner theft until I read this book. Now I want to stay informed. There are a lot of facts and they are presented in a way that the reader can follow with ease and stay interested in the details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    READS LIKE A NOVEL

    an extremely riviting read that is well researched. Its a real life whodunit!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    If you like art or a good mystery this will satisfy both!

    I really enjoyed this book. I read it in a day! The facts about stolen art are very interesting! What a terrible tragedy! All that art gone. If you have never been to the Gardner, it is a great place to spend the day! But first read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2