BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Gargoyle Prophecies, Part I, The Savior Rises

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    A MUST READ!!

    Without a doubt one of my favorite books I have read this year! I read the whole thing within 2 hrs. I just couldn't stop!!

    Amazing storytelling with twists and turns that left me reeling. What was truth, what was a lie? Everything told and retold until I couldn't tell what reality was. The story is superbly told and wrapped and twisted around until you are not sure which way is up and what is good or bad. LOVED every minute of reading this story!!!

    The characters are rich and full and the descriptions were right on. The blend of innocence and kick but action in our heroine was a masterful touch. You can't help but identify and sympathize with her. The other characters were told so well, you couldn't help but have a connection with them. Even when you aren't sure who is good or bad. The lines blurred and switched and then switched again so many times.

    Truly one of the best books, I highly recommend to anyone who wants to be entertained.

    Can hardly wait for the next part, I have to know what is going on desperatley!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Waiting on Book 2

    I'm trying to decide exactly how to review this book. It was written extremely well. The story was not dull, and it was not difficult to read. It is a book that young adults and adults can read for an interesting, complex story and not struggle through tedious wording.

    The book left me scratching my head in several places. I thought I had it figured out, then suddenly, I didn't. This happened more times than I care to admit. I usually do not get thrown off the scent so many times, especially in a book so short! The plot is very well written. Our heroine is not exactly lovable, but you desperately want to know what is going to happen with her next.

    I hope the story becomes longer as the series progresses, I was left feeling like a few hundred pages were missing. It did the job it was intended to do in 219 pages on e-book, but I felt like I was missing a few things in many of the characters and some of the scenes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    OMG AMAZING!!

    The story is superbly told and wrapped and twisted around until you are not sure which was is up and what is good or bad. LOVED every minute of reading this story!!! My mind is reeling, I think this has to be one of the greatest and most mind boggling stories I have ever read!! My mind is spinning over and over again. I don't know what to think. What was the truth in this book and what was part of a hoax. Amazing book with alot of great characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    if you don't read this or start to and don't finish you are missing out

    I won this book on goodreads first reads. I just finished this book and I am in awww. I have never read a book where I didnt know which way was up. the author did a amazing job I went through all of the same emotions as stefani did in her twisted tale. I felt like I was stefani for most of the book. christopher had a truly original story to tell and ever time you think you have figured it out. you are wrong. I must say this book teeters from a paranormal to a psychological thriller. pyschological thrillers are not usally my forte but this book held me to the end and I honestly cant say that I know which direction he is going to take this series. I hope in the next book he grounds it one way or another because I am not sure for me that I could read much more without having that grounded, without losing some intrest. overall I have to hand it to this author he has a amazing story to tell and I can not wait to read his next book. I am extremely greatful that I won a copy of this book it was amazing. If you don't read this book you are missing out. thumbs up to this author. hope he keeps this series coming. seriously, I can't just leave it at this one. I have to know more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    Highly Recommended- Give it a chance

    The story told in this book is good and original. I like the idea of gargoyles living among us. It was a nice change from Vampires, witches, werewolves, faery, and immortals. The book isn't very thick, but the author manages to get a lot of informatio across to you. The writing is clean and simple not complex. I can't wait for the next book. The characters are not really that developed yet. You know just enough about them to get by. I can't wait to see where the author will go with the story. I highly recommend this book if you want something fresh, new, and simple. The book doesn't start off slow, but jumps right into the action. Give this book a try you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    Hard-charging, twist-filed plot

    I'm a mom of two kids under age 4, so it takes a lot these days for anything other than their antics to hold my attention for longer than a few minutes. This book was one I virtually couldn't put down. The plot is hard-charging, going a mile a minute, and the twists keep you guessing from one page to the next about what is coming. You find yourself being tossed back and forth between two possible realities, and you can't help but wonder which one is real for the main character Stefani. Is she really becoming an inhuman creature or is she delusional? Either way, something bizarre and interesting is happening in her life. For me, the confusion in Stefani's world was intriguing because she seemed like a lost soul with a good heart. She was trying to be strong, but everyone seemed to want to prevent her from using that strength. The ending is poignant and well worth the mental energy you expend trying to keep up with all the plot changes. If you're looking for a book that will be an instant page-turner, this will definitely satisfy your desire.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I received this book from the author, Christopher C. Payne. If

    I received this book from the author, Christopher C. Payne.

    If this book were a movie, it would be something along the lines of Groundhog Day meets Resident Evil...with gargoyles instead of zombies. The protagonist, Stefani, spends her childhood plotting and preparing to take revenge on her mother's murderer. As her 21st birthday nears, she discovers that what she knows about her life is pitifully little and mostly wrong. Each day brings more knowledge and less understanding, more need of a strong ally and less reason to trust anyone, more violence and less of the peace she desperately needs. The stress and uncertainty lead her to question reality and her own sanity but when she is forced to seek within herself for the strength to move forward, she finds it in abundance.

    The drama and action begin on the first page and don't let up. If you're one who likes to "figure out" the story you're in for some frustration because just when you think you know what's going on, Payne takes you on a U-turn...or a complete 360 that leaves you trying to catch your breath. The writing makes this a candidate for the quick-read category but the story asks you to linger over it for a while. The twist at the end is so simple and so unexpected that you'll be asking yourself over and over, "How did I not see that coming?" while you wait for the sequel so you can find out where Stafani goes from here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Falls A Little Short

    I love reading about anything paranormal, so I was excited when I won a copy of The Gargoyle Prophecies from goodreads. But after reading the book, I realized that this book wasn't entirely what I expected. We know from the premise that Stefani witnesses her mother's murder and because of this experience, she wants to get revenge and find the killer. Her solitude is very evident, having lost her mother and she doesn't trust anyone. She only has comfort in her Raggedy Ann doll that she had ever since she was a kid. But as she nears her 21st birthday, she meets Dennis, who she opens up to. But he tells her that he is a gargoyle and so is she. There is a prophecy that is involved and the whole story develops further from here.

    I liked that Christopher Payne uses a female as the lead heroine fighting against gargoyles. Even though I admired Stefani for being a strong character, I was never able to fully attach myself or really connect with the characters. The reason being that the whole aura of the book, the style of the writing is such that you question what is reality, or rather that Stefani questions this. I felt this hindered me from really getting to know the characters well since the plot is not straightforward, it's very perplexing. And I wanted to know where the plot was going and understand it, so reading through this book was a little challenging for me. While the author purposely wrote the book this way because he had a very good reason for this, since it played into the heart of the story, it didn't make it less confusing to read through style wise. There is a fine line between reality and the possibility that Stefani might be nearing insanity. But with the many twists and turns in the story, you just don't know for sure. But then the final twist in the ending was so unexpected and powerful, that I had to redigest the book as a whole. This made the whole story much more meaningful. You will definitely be in for a surprise. Even so, I didn't feel that the strong ending was enough for me to really love the book. I thought the majority of the story was just ok, but the ending was better - it was good. So the ending did help improve my rating for this book just a little.

    The book was definitely full of adventure and action, but the gargoyle fight scenes were a little too graphic for me, being too gory for my taste. I also wasn't very fond of the quality of writing. While this book wasn't for me, I really do appreciate the author's bold and unique attempt at a different style of writing. If you like reading clear cut books, this is not the book for you. But if you would like to try something different and dynamic, this might be the book for you, especially if you like reading paranormal books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2010

    A Bit of a Waffler for Me

    I have mixed feelings about the book.

    On the one hand, I like Mr. Payne's take on gargoyles and Stefani's role. On the other, it does not entirely work for me.

    Another aspect of the book that both does and does not work for me is the setup. First, you have Stefani finding out more about herself. Then, after the episode ends, the "opposition" makes it look like she is losing her mind. I understand why Mr. Payne uses this element in the book, but it tends to sound too cyclically repetitive.

    One final note of contention I have is the ending. The book would have worked a lot better - for me at least - if it ended on the last chapter. For me it was a brilliant setup for the next book. Then, I read the epilogue and.....the effect was ruined.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    sure fire winner

    Christopher Payne's first novel, The Gargoyle Prophecies, is a sure fire winner, a five star blast that assuredly marks this new author as a person to watch for. Christopher not only makes his characters come to life, he put the reader right into the mix. I could not put this novel down and am hoping that the next installment comes out soon.
    From page one the reader is slammed into the mixed up world of Stefani Hernandez. You follow this young lady as the world that she thinks she has known is flipped upside down, and the world that could only exist in your imagination comes to life.
    This novel is a must read for every fan of horror, fantasy and science fiction. Christopher crosses all three aspects and does it very well.
    Shawn Weaver - Co-Author Ripper's Row

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    Amazing Book

    This book was amazing. I loved how realistic Stefani was in the beginning. I could believe the confusion and state of mind she was in. It was pretty cool. It got a little confusing the way it would switch back to what was going on in the beginning, so you really had to pay attention to understand what was going on. The major twist in the last part of the book, made me stop in my tracks. I was like "what just happened?" It's been awhile since would recommend it to anyone who wants to read a book that provides a little bit of a challenge.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2010

    Great Read

    I found the first half of the book a real page-turner and had a hard time waiting to get back to it when I had to stop reading. There are many twists and turns in the plot. I found myself routing for Stefani as her powers grew. The struggle between the good gargoyles and the bad gargoyles left me sometimes wondering which were which. The famous examples of gargoyles in human form and how they influenced history were thought provoking. The second half of the book gave me doubts about weather the events happened or were a dilution. I sure hope they happened because I would like to see Greg punished for what he has done. It is the struggles of good vs. evil - who will win?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    warning--may contain small spoiler

    I just finished reading this book, I don't want to spoil it too much, but I do want to say I liked Stefani's decision (at the end), as well as the twists that let to her decision. I definitely questioned what was real and what wasn't and I really enjoyed the fantasy of the gargoyles (and roguls). It was packed with action and it was fast paced, which I enjoyed. I also liked the visual descriptions and her travels (always full of surprise). On a side note, I have never walked into a bar and then suddenly discovered it was actually a stripclub; but I think that might be a touch to intrigue the male readers. lol. I'm not sure if the sequels have already been written but I'd love to see Greg go through what Stefani has, I think revenge is well deserved, and after all the tribulation she went through, her soul needs to be put at rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2010

    Action packed with lacking descriptions

    This book is an action-packed psychological thriller with some touches of fantasy content. It is about a young woman with a tragic past that a lot of bad things happened to and continues to happen to. At least on the surface, as the book goes on the author tries to make you doubt the story told from the beginning. At least three separate stories are told that arrive at the end of the book from different directions. Which one that is true is still not shown at the end of the book.

    What I disliked about this book was the lack of descriptions. I often found myself wondering what things looked like. It felt like the background areas were sketched in, the author instead choosing to focus on moving the action and plot forward. For some this might lead to them sitting on the edge of their seat and breathlessly turning the pages. For me it led to a break in immersion when I tried to create the surroundings the action took place in.

    I would recommend this for people that want a psychological thriller with a lot of action, not for fans of epic fantasy or similar genres.

    I think I will read the next part just to find out how it continues, the completionist in me strikes. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    gerne fiction that's better than the genre

    This book has a lot of weird annoying plot structure "issues" (they are for me not for a lot of people I'm sure). It at points read heavily like genre fiction and I mean I'm really not a giant fan of genre fiction.

    The female character was a no for me for a lot of the book. I mean I'm sorry but the chick is just downright stupid.

    Okay I don't want to be mean though cause I did like this book a lot. The end is great and the last 40 pages makes up for everything that I disliked in the rest of the book.

    That bit in the prologue actually now becomes relevant to the review. Stefani has a tendency to love only in the destructive manner, and to get there very quickly. I mean there is a serious problem for her as a person because she can't actually manage any real type of relationship. You can't just jump into the intense fear/obsession stage of love you have to start with something a hell of a lot more banal like acquaintance. Basically there is something wrong in this chicks head. I think if you can accept this early in the book you will enjoy the book a lot it took me a long time to get over the fact she just downright bugged me as a human being.

    Afterward:
    I can't tell you any of the really awesome stuff about this book cause it is all spoilers, but I can tell you the book is totally awesome and definitely worth a read. and has a Mr. peanut worthy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ever had one of those days? Stefani has and its only getting worst

    Stefani has had a bad day that turns into a bad week. If it would just get to her birthday already. Betrayed by one guy and witnessing the death of another all while dealing with the monsters of her past should be enough for any girl but throw into the mix finding out you your dead mom isn't dead and you may be a gargoyle and you might find yourself thinking you went crazy too.
    The Gargoyle Prophecies by Christopher C. Payne is a fast read for those who need a little fantasy but are burnt out on the same old vampire story. I received my free copy from Goodreads First reads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2010

    Must finish to fully appreciate.

    This book surprised me in every chapter. I did not know what to expect and I highly recommend this book for anyone looking for a "ride" through a book. Looking forward to the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Awesome

    Awesome twisted tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Very Trippy Read!

    This was a fun and twisted ride with lots of action and confusion to keep the reader guessing. Another Goodreads author gets my thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2