BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Gate

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME!

    Jason Brant outdid himself this time! The Gate is twice the length of his other books, and though I liked them all, this one is my favorite.

    The Gate starts off with two college boys, Bryan and Kyle, being accepted as interns on a television show called The Specter Slayers. Bryan is the studious one and his fiancé just broke off their engagement, leaving him depressed. Kyle is the hot football player that scores all the chicks. The Specter Slayers is a show about paranormal investigators that go into supposedly haunted churches and prove that there is paranormal activity in them.

    Bryan is not thrilled about this opportunity, but Kyle talks him into it with the enticement of what airtime will do to his resume. This starts their journey to the Danver church, a church that an eccentric old man bought, and then supposedly killed a whole group of his friends in.

    They get to the church after a long drive, and not being able to find it, through woods that seem to get mysteriously darker and creepier the farther they drive into them. Once there, they meet the Specter Slayers, two creeps that do not believe in the paranormal, they just like to cash in, plus their nerdy tech guy. Bryan and Kyle are told that famous horror author, Katie Upshaw, will be joining them for their night in the Danver church.

    But Katie has secrets that she is hesitant to share. Secrets about the church…secrets that might get them all killed…

    I really cannot tell you more because if I do, it will ruin the surprise. And believe me, I never knew what was coming! It is not at all what you will expect, I will tell you that. It is about as far from normal as you could ever imagine.

    This book is full of humor, at least in the first half. I laughed my way through it, never knowing what was waiting for me right around the corner. When I did get passed the humor, I spent the rest of the book with my jaw hanging open, not knowing what to expect next. I will admit to my heart jumping up in my throat a time or two as well. Delving into Satanic rituals and biblical theories (NOT in a boring way!), The Gate will have you holding your breath, and pulling the covers up to your eyes at night, fearfully hoping you are not the next to get sucked in.

    Quotes from the book:

    “First, I never want to see you swivel your hips like that again. Second, you stepped in my mashed potatoes.”

    “Jesus jumped up Christ, look at the size of that crack!”

    “We saw something that she couldn’t handle…”

    “We don’t need it coming back because it heard you.”

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dare to Open the Gate! I thoroughly enjoyed this story, even wi

    Dare to Open the Gate!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story, even with the editing errors. I must admit, though, that it wasn't quite what I expected. I expected a haunting and a gateway to hell or the spiritual realm, with paranormal phenomena. Paranormal, check. The rest? Not so much. This book didn't give me what I expected, and that's perfectly okay, because the story I did get was unique and thrilling all the same. This was a wild ride, full of believable characters that I could picture clearly, even some with not clear motivations. There were spooky elements, specters, and even other worlds or planes of existence with truly horrific sci-fi creatures. If you enjoyed this book, you will also enjoy The House on Mayberry Road by Troy McCombs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2014

    I enjoyed the read, overall: creative and witty. Without spoilin

    I enjoyed the read, overall: creative and witty. Without spoiling it for anyone who wants to read it, I'll say that I appreciated the Lovecraft nuances. In addition to that, I appreciated the way Brant portrays certain TV shows that are popular these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    TERRIFYING RIDE

    FANS OF THRILLING HORROR WILL ENJOY THIS BOOK. TERRIFYING SURPRISES AND GREAT TWISTS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Lit Amri for Readers' Favorite Two college buddies

    Reviewed by Lit Amri for Readers' Favorite

    Two college buddies who are on the verge of graduating, Kyle Detwiler and Bryan Armstrong, win the contest to be in The Specters Slayers, a paranormal reality show for one night. They get to join the investigation team at the haunted Danver Church, where legend has it that the man who purchased the church forty years before, Charles Danver, massacred all his friends there. Joined by Katie Upshaw, a famous horror novelist, the team has no idea that they will get more than they bargain for. A chilling horror novel, The Gate is written by Jason Brant.

    Kyle is the type of character that I don’t like; a lazy jock who thinks he’s God’s gift to women, and always brings trouble to their friends. Subsequently, the college age of the two main characters made me feel as if I’m reading a young adult novel, which somewhat dampens the excitement. Nevertheless, it didn't take the story that long to really grab my interest and I absolutely loved the plot. Author Jason Brant definitely shows that this genre is his area of expertise. It is fast-paced, entertaining, and definitely has a great spine chilling quality that will satisfy hardcore fans of the genre. The sarcastic description of the paranormal team is hilarious and does ring some realistic facts about ghost hunting shows. 

    Overall, I dare say that The Gate has a better quality than any Stephen King’s works that I've read before. I intend to read Brant's other works and I’m confident that they won’t disappoint me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    I really, really enjoyed this book.  It was scary, as expected

    I really, really enjoyed this book.

     It was scary, as expected, but not soul destroyingly so.  The thought of the existence of a gateway to hell, or even another dimension inhabited by the creatures depicted in this book is enough to send shivers down my spine.

    The story was well written, and the description of the church and the surrounding area was so well described, it felt as if I had actually seen it myself. It was also fast paced and kept me interested right through to the surprising end. The characters were great too – the good and the bad, so much so that I wanted to give the ‘Ghost busters’ a slap, on more than one occasion.

    What I really enjoy about Jason Brant’s writing is that I end up thinking about the story long after I have put the book down. I always walk away with the feeling of ‘what if’ ……………nah too scary to go down that route.

    A really good read, highly recommended. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Starts slowly, ends with a bang!

    When I began reading this story I have to admit I wasn't immediately hooked. The main characters seemed a little flat and the stroy line familiar. I might not have stuck with it but a friend said it would be worth my while. They were not wrong. Whatever the characters may have lacked was more than made up for by the incredibly creative and terrifying world which surrounds them. It is difficult to describe without those terrible spoilers but let me just say you will see things (Jason does make you see them) you would be afraid to imagine on your own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    Terrifying and fun!

    I don't typically read books in this genre but decided to give this one a try. I loved it! There was a creepy build-up and then sheer terror when all was revealed about what was going on at the Danver church. Brian and Kyle are very likable characters, while the Specter Slayers are guys you love to hate. And this book is also infused with humor, like Jason Brant's other books, ECHOES and GEHENNA, which is what I really enjoy about his writing. Give THE GATE a try. You will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1