Customer Reviews for

The Gatekeeper's Sons

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

I love Greek Mythology and covers always lures me to want to rea

I love Greek Mythology and covers always lures me to want to read the books first. As you can see the cover in my opinion was chosen beautifully and is linked with what the story is about. When I started to read this book the Author included everything that I love in my...
I love Greek Mythology and covers always lures me to want to read the books first. As you can see the cover in my opinion was chosen beautifully and is linked with what the story is about. When I started to read this book the Author included everything that I love in my books, Greek Mythology, adventures, and of course romance. She kept the mythology close to what the real mythology is said to be with the gods and goddesses and then also the way the Furies are. The detail in the books is enough to make you understand what going on with the story is but not overly done to where it makes you want to skip pages. As the description says Theresa has obstacles that she has to overcome including revenge for her parent’s death and the fight for her and Thanatos to be together. Will they be able overcome and find the murderer, which you will have to find out in the book by reading it. I truly loved the Gatekeeper’s Son and will continue to read the others. This is at my top recommendation for anyone looking to sit down and read an awesome paranormal romance with Greek Mythology.   ~ Sue Ellen Robertson GirlyGirlBookReviews

posted by 18225794 on July 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not too bad

Not too bad. Once I finished reading this book, I found, I wanted to see what happens and if they get together; how they get together. Decent teen book..

posted by yiayia13 on August 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great YA Fantasy Read!

    Take one immortal Greek god of Death, add a fifteen-year-old girl who barely survived the murder of her parents and blend well and we have a nice take on a YA paranormal romance by Eva Pohler!

    Thanatos, the god of death, who looks around eighteen, but is, in fact, an ancient immortal son of Hades, twin brother of Hypnos, the god of dreams falls instantly in love with Therese, a mortal girl who gave him his first kiss. Actually, she gave him his first taste of being around humans, because, really, who WANTS to be visited by death, you know?

    Therese and Than have a few weeks together in the Earth Realm, they are in love. Than must find a way to make Therese his immortal wife, a goddess, but it usually doesn't work out too well for humans, but Hades has made an offer Therese cannot refuse. If she is able to kill the man who arranged for her parents' murder, she will have earned the right to become immortal. Being a truly 'nice' kid, Therese has won the hearts and support of many of the gods. But, is she capable of committing murder, even if it means losing Thanatos forever?

    At first, I was sucked right in, then, the story got a little too detailed for me, with too many 'mini' details tucked in the story. Instead of blaming the story, I tried to read it from the eyes of a young teen, and, tada! Suddenly, what the characters said and did made complete sense! I already loved the plot idea, not too many books out there that toss in tons of gods, not only their names, but who they are! A real mini mythology lesson!

    Therese's day to day life was real! Her friends and family felt real! Her emotional reaction to different situations was real!

    I completely enjoyed this escape from reality and have recommended this book to a couple of teacher friends of mine, for their students.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    **This review may contain a spoiler or two** First off, I¿d lik

    **This review may contain a spoiler or two**

    First off, I’d like to say that The Gatekeeper’s Sons is the first book in the Gatekeeper’s trilogy. Also, I won all three books in a contest, and they have been signed by the author.

    Now…on with my review.

    The Gatekeeper’s Sons is about a 15 year old girl named Therese. It starts out with Therese leaving a college with her parents; her mother had been celebrated for some sort of antidote. As they are in the car getting ready to leave, Therese sees a man’s face in the window. But no one else does. Then gunshots ring out, and her father takes off. he ends up swerving the car off a bridge and into the water. Therese’s mother has been hit by a bullet, and even though she tries to save her parents, she cannot. They drown, and before Therese blacks out, she sees someone swimming towards her.

    After that, the book delves into Greek mythology, using two gods that aren’t usually discussed or very well known: Thanatos and Hypnos, both sons of Hades.

    Therese is in a coma, but she meets Hypnos in her dreams. He finds Therese fascinating and wants to make out with her. She refuses, but then she sees her parents on a ferry with another boy. That boy is Hypnos’s brother, Thanatos, the god of Death. Still believing she’s in a dream, she wraps her arms around Than and kisses him. But because he’s the god of Death, being around him will kill Therese, so both brothers have to let her go back to the waking world.

    Now out of the coma, Therese realizes that her parents really, truly are dead, and she ends up going back home with her aunt Carol, who has agreed to take care of her.

    Meanwhile, Thanatos goes to his father, Hades, and asks if he can give up his duties as the god of Death and become human so he can try and win Therese’s heart and make her his queen. Hades agrees to give Than 40 days, while making Hypnos take over Than’s duties.

    Than ends up working for Therese’s friend Jen at her barn. Therese, who is also helping out, is immediately drawn to Than, but thinks she’s being ridiculous believing that she already knows him or that he’s the god of Death.

    Slowly, but surely, things start to click with her, though, and she realizes that the Greek gods really are real. But then comes the hard part. With the help of Than’s sisters, the Furies, Therese must avenge her parents’ death by killing the man who had them killed.

    She earns gifts from certain gods and goddesses because of her kindness to nature and animals, but when the time comes to face off with the murderer, she realizes that perhaps she isn’t cut out to be a goddess of Death after all.

    There is a lot more to the book, but I don’t want to give it all away. I found it fascinating, although I did think the romance with Than was just a little rushed. After the ending, though, I thought a bit differently.

    The ending did remind me slightly of The Hunger Games, but only because it was a ‘kill or be killed’ sort of event Therese had to be involved in, and the gods and goddesses were merely spectators, only allowed to give yes or no answers in response to Therese’s prayers to them.

    Eva Pohler does seem to have a firm grasp on the mythology, and even though her interpretations of the gods may be different than yours, it’s definitely well written and researched. I enjoyed it immensely.

    If you’re a fan of Greek mythology and like reading about gods you normally wouldn’t see as main characters, I’d say give this book a whirl. I’m currently reading the second book and will be reviewing that as soon as I finish.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    For teenage/young adult very highly recommended. Lots of twists in the plot. Creates an understanding of Greek Mythology which is always a good thing. Very well written

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    really enjoyed

    really enjoyed hoping to read the others

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    The great task of which guy?

    This book was very on point with the mythology aspect of the story, but great overall with the romance, danger, and plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Very interesting

    I would give this book a 4.5 if I could. The story is very interesting. It is based of off Greek mythology and involves many legendary characters. The story is very unique and imaginative with likeable, real characters. The main character is a girl who is very likeable and authentic. I really related to her and the emotions she experiences through the story are very real. If you like unique paranormal romance, which is not that dark, you would like this book. My only complaint was that the author decided to continue the story in other novels. Not only do I not have money to buy these books, I feel like the story could have been completed in one novel. That is just my opinion, I recommend you read the end before you make a judgement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1