Customer Reviews for

Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Kleenex please

    Real tear jerker. Loved every bit of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by: Rachel Book provided by: NetGalley Review originall

    Reviewed by: Rachel
    Book provided by: NetGalley
    Review originally posted at Romancing the Book








    I’m all for time travel romances, and I’d never read a book by Gina Lamm so I was thrilled to pick this one up and give it a try! I mean, earls? Geeks? Romance? A guy who looks like Colin Firth? Where do I sign up?!




    I liked Jamie from the start. She’s smart, sassy, and a nerd. Whats not to like? She’s a total gamer, and when she wakes up in the past nearly sets the whole of England on it’s ear with her forward ways. Running through a park? Talking to a courtesan? I think not! The only thing I had issues with, was how she wasn’t aware of how her actions would affect Micah or anyone else she met during that time period. In my mind geeks are smart right? And she constantly referred to herself as one. So why did she act so stupid?




    Jamie agrees to stay in that time period for a certain amount of time, in order to appease the “witch” that brought her there. After all, Micah could very well be her soul mate. So what does she have to lose? But in all that time she never once thinks about how her actions affect him, as I said previously….anyone would know that things were different in that time, women had no rights, so when he’s trying to protect her, she thinks of it as him being a man and controlling. Really, Micah had her best interests at heart the entire time, but her responses a lot of the time were really selfish.




    Micah on the other hand was just getting ready to propose to a very acceptable woman when Jamie comes bursting onto the scene. He falls for her even though he doesn’t want to. The banter between them is hilarious (Angry birds anyone)? But it’s also quite strange how quickly he accepts everything. I applaud the author for bringing the whole cell phone thing into the picture becuase it made it easier for Micah to grasp that she was from a different time.




    As their relationship grows, they both realize they have feelings for one another but it seems that Micah is the one making all the sacrifices whereas Jamie, even though she’s being herself, is somewhat disrespectful. She gets herself into trouble a lot, but I guess any girl from our era would!




    Once their relationship moves into uncharted territory, Micah suddenly freaks out that he’s going to lose Jamie, so in all his fear he sends her back to her time, but luckily that isn’t the end of the story.




    All in all I liked this book. It wasn’t my favorite, but I think it had more to do with Jamie’s character than the actual plot. The plot was very solid and Miss Lamm did a great job as a storyteller. I think anytime you mix contemporary with historicals there are bound to be a lot of feathers ruffled so that’s just the way of it.




    I would have liked Jamie to be more understanding of Micah and the position she was putting him in by staying at his home and by walking around London talking to courtesans. 




    Micah was by far my favorite character. I loved how in the end he was willing to sacrifice himself for her safety. Swoon.




    There was minor swearing and a few heated scenes but nothing explicit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book in the Geek Girls series and the first bo

    This is the first book in the Geek Girls series and the first book I have read by Gina Lamm. I am not normally one for historical romances. It takes something special to have me traipsing back in time to the Victorian, or Edwardian, or hell, whenever Era. Early on, I knew that pages upon pages of description of what the women (and men) were wearing and how often they changed clothes for each and every different activity of their day, did absolutely nothing for me. That said, this book title and description grabbed my attention. Geek Girl! An Avid Gamer! Throw in time travel and a hunky guy? Okay, sign me up. :)

    The book opens with Jamie Marten playing with her guild on her MMORG (Massive Multiplayer Online Roll-playing Game AND I didn't have to look up the acronym *GRIN*) We find out that she has recently broken up with her long time boyfriend Logan and is down in the dumps. Jamie is a music writer and hasn't written a note since the break up. Her best friend Leah, makes Jamie go help out Leah's grandfather at his antique store to get her out of the house and functioning again. (Leah threatens Jaime's Comic Con tickets to get her motivated.) Jamie is not looking forward to moving furniture, but figures maybe a part-time job will help get her back to a pre-Logan normal.

    While working in the heat of a storage unit, Jamie finds a tall bureau, hidden in the back and covered with a sheet. While she is admiring its rich mahogany, she trails her fingers along its lines. Until she gets to the mirrored doors covering the upper portion - and her fingers sink into the glass. She pulls and pulls and ends up being pulled into the glass. And ends up in London England, 1816. Her first reaction upon finding out when she is? Vomiting on the Earl of Dunnington's boots. Loved it!

    This was a fun read. For such a far out and improbable story, it felt true to life. From trying to describe angry birds and how to make pizza, to complaining about the type and amount of clothing, to worrying about the lack of a real toothbrush and nothing to occupy her time, I could relate to Jaime. Even when she was whining. There were twists and turns, some predictable, other unexpected. It was a good read. I liked this book well enough that I will be looking for the next book in the series, Leah's story. I gave this one 4 stars on Goodreads.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    The Geek Girl and the Scandalous EarlĀ  I have to be honest, I w

    The Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl 

    I have to be honest, I was expecting The Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl to have more humor.  It is a great concept, full of promise for fish out of water funniness, and while there are some cute moments, for the most part it proved itself to be a straight up romance.  Don’t get me wrong – it is a fantastic story and I thoroughly enjoyed it.  The characters are fun, the writing is great, and the plot line is intriguing. - Full review available at BookTrib or RomanticReadsandSuch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jamie Marten composes music, a computer gamer and is recuperatin

    Jamie Marten composes music, a computer gamer and is recuperating from a broken heart. Helping a family member moving antiques to earn extra cash, Jamie is sucked through a wardrobe into the 1800’s...more specifically into the Earl of Dunnington Micah Axelby’s bed chamber.

    You can imagine Micah’s surprise when a beautiful, scantly dressed woman is discovered in his bedroom. Listening to Jamie Marten’s crazy story about the future and being sucked into his closet made him think the woman daft, until she shows him angry birds on her cell phone. Understanding that Miss Marten needed his protection, Micah keeps her in his household...what he didn’t expect was keeping her in his heart.

    The Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl had time travel, historical fiction, murder mystery and romance all woven together to make the most delightful tale. Watching two people from totally different worlds collide made this story a very enjoyable read. I would love to see what would happen if the positions were reserved and the Earl had to adjust to Jamie’s world. This was a nice historical romance with a sci-fi twist. 

    This ARC copy of A The Geek Girl and The Scandalous Earl was given to me by Sourcebooks - Sourcebooks Casablanca in exchange for an honest review. Publish Date March 5, 2013.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    **3.5 stars, rounding up to 4** The Geek Girl and the Scandalous

    **3.5 stars, rounding up to 4**
    The Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl (whew, that's a mouthful) is a fun, charming story of a time-traveling girl and the man she loves.

    I'm a big fan of time-travel books, of books in which a character is a "fish out of water" and must adjust to the time they are stuck in. TGGaTSE was a fun take on that particular storyline, mostly because of Jamie, the Geek Girl. What made Jamie so much fun was that she is such a spirited character. She is an avid gamer, a regular RPG-er. She swears a lot, asks questions, and doesn't take no for an answer. As you may guess, she doesn't exactly fit in when she lands in 1816 England.

    As for her Earl, Micah...well, any man who's described as looking like Colin Firth gets an automatic pass from me. Micah was given an authentic voice for a man of Regency London. That means he's appropriately stuffy, honor bound, but like a good scandalous Earl, Micah knows how to turn things up behind closed doors.

    The story got off to a quick start, with Jamie landing in 1816 within a few pages. That was good because I like my stories to have a fast pace, but I also felt like I didn't know Jamie and her situation very well. Once she lands in London, the plot continued to move forward quickly, still a good thing, but I did feel the relationship did move a little too quickly, particularly the love. I really didn't see where the feelings were coming from. As the story continued, with Jamie and Micah getting to actually know one another better, I did feel the chemistry between them, particularly in the bedroom. Holy wow! There was some seriously hot bed action happening between Geek Girl and Scandalous Earl! Two thumbs up!

    There is nice secondary mystery involving a woman from Micah's past, and a dangerous woman from his present. That aspect provided good tension and drama between Micah and Jamie, and really moved the plot forward.

    The Geek Girl and the Scandalous Earl was charming and a lot of fun. I look forward to seeing what the future, or past, holds for Jamie and Micah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1