BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Geneva Decision: Pia Sabel #1

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    You can definitely judge this book by it's cover. Nothing better

    You can definitely judge this book by it's cover. Nothing better than a hot lead character packing a gun. The action is nonstop throughout this novel as Pia Sable kicks ass and looks great chasing the bad guys.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2013

    Against her wishes, Pia Sabel leaves behind a professional socce

    Against her wishes, Pia Sabel leaves behind a professional soccer career to assume the leadership of her adoptive father’s international security company. When a potential new client is assassinated in front of her eyes, Pia rushes headlong into a dangerous and tangled web of intrigue that involves pirates, mercenaries and the highest echelons of the Swiss banking sector. Pia and her team of highly-trained operatives travel throughout Cameroon and Geneva to discover answers and try to close the case. Pia will risk her life to discover the traitors in her midst, and when she finds them they are going down, because Pia Sabel only plays to win.




    The Geneva Decision starts out at breakneck speed and doesn’t slow down a bit from beginning to end. Many readers will admire the tenacity and courage of Pia Sabel, but others (ahem, me) may find her a few crayons short of a full box as she throws her team into gunfight after gunfight and insists on leading the charge despite her lack of experience. Courage and recklessness are two sides of the same coin when it comes to Pia Sabel, and much of her fervor for the case is linked to the mysterious assassination of her own parents long ago. 




    Speaking of gunfights, if you like ‘em, this book has got ‘em. Shootouts, chases and missions gone awry are served up in heaping quantities throughout the book as are tranq darts, close calls and betrayals. Personally, I appreciated the fact that Pia was a poor shot and missed her targets as much as she hit him. Sure, she is your consummate exquisite martial artist, but it was refreshing that she often couldn’t put a bullet or a sleeping dart through the broad side of a truck. Another refreshing occurrence – clips that actually run out during long gun fights. 




    If you want Go, Go, Go and don’t mind an occasionally confusing tangle of bad guys (some of whom go by three different names), then Pia Sabel is your gal and The Geneva Decision is your book. Don’t drink any caffeine before picking up The Geneva Decision, you won’t need it! 

    (This book was provided to Compulsion Reads for review by the author.)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    Good for first time author, particularly like the "Google&q

    Good for first time author, particularly like the "Google" links to pictures of places the story takes place. As stated in other reviews, hope there is a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is the first book in the Pia Sabel Series by Seeley James.

    This is the first book in the Pia Sabel Series by Seeley James.  I first came across this book via some book blogs and saw it again on Goodreads.  So when I ran across it on Netgallery, it was slightly familiar to me and I had read a review or two.  The cover had intrigued me.  I mean a chick with a gun and a title with Geneva in it.  My brain instantly lit up with action, adventure, whoo hoo!  And this book doesn't disappoint.

    The story opens in Geneva, Switzerland with Pia Sabel, ex Olympian soccer player and brand spanking new head of her adoptive father's security company Sable Securities, at an outdoor evening party.  Pia is there to meet a perspective client and do a little schmoozing.  Unfortunately, what she sees is an assassin moving through the crowd.  You may wonder how an ex Olympian soccer player would recognize an assassin?  Well, when she was five years old, her parents were assassinated basically right in front of her.  She was then almost immediately adopted and put under round the clock security by ex secret service agents for many, many years.  She has basically lived her entire life surrounded by the best security agents in the world and has been tought what to look for.  When the assassin's target turns out to be her prospective client, Pia wastes no time in using her soccer skills and training to take him down.  Unfortunately, he escapes while in police custody.  When the assassin takes out 4 more bankers and then targets Pia, that same night, she decides that she is taking this case, one way or another.  No matter how much her father wants her to come home and sit in a corner office.

    Pia is a contradiction in many ways.  She has all the basic knowledge of a specialized security guard, but with none of the in the field training.  She has been taught hand to hand combat and weapons, but never used them in a practical application.  She has good instincts, but without the understanding of how to apply them. Watching Pia learn the difference between knowledge and application was fun and often had some unexpected comedic moments.  But she is more than willing to admit she needs to learn more and put in the work needed to get better.  One thing you can say about Pia, she is no shrinking violet.

    I really enjoyed this book.  It wasn't non-stop action, but there was enough fight scenes and foot chases and shoot outs to make any reading adrenaline junkie happy. There are bits and pieces and hints dropped about Pia's background, that keep a nice mystery arc going and I really hope that we can learn more in the next book.  Just an over great book. I am going with 4 stars on Goodreads. It was nice seeing a female take the lead in this Suspenseful Thrilling Mystery.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Geneva Decision is a fast-paced action thriller that will ke

    The Geneva Decision is a fast-paced action thriller that will keep you rapt with attention from beginning to end. 




    Author Seeley James of Scottsdale, Arizona begins his tale in Geneva, Switzerland where his primary character, Pia Sabel surprises guests at a Banque Marot reception. After witnessing an assassin blow the head off banker Clément Marot, a gown-clad Pia burst into action in her high heels by single-handedly tackling the man.




    “The assassin crashed face first onto the concrete pathway. She jumped into the air above him, her gown billowing around her like an unfurling parachute and came down hard. Her knees drove into his back on either side of his spine, halfway between the ribs and the hipbone. The impact forced the air from his lungs and pounded his kidneys.”




    Pia took it upon herself to bring down this assassin, as she had just become head of her father’s firm, Sabel Security. However, the clever killer managed to escape police custody and immediately sought revenge. Pia became his primary target.




    Although her father wanted her to stick to a desk job, the spunky Pia, who had become a well-known and wealthy soccer star, could not contain herself when several other bankers met the same fate. She followed her instincts and the assassin from the Swiss Alps to the jungles of Cameroon in hopes of finishing him off once and for all.




    Despite beginning her new career green as the grass, Pia was determined to garner the admiration of the agents under her, who had years of experience behind them. Her initial goal was to track down the killer but in the process, discovered a massive web of treachery and deceit.




    If you love a good mystery with plenty of action, The Geneva Decision will not let you down. The author displays a unique talent for keeping the story moving at a lightning fast pace right to the final page. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    GENEVA DECISION by Seeley James is the first book in the 'Pia Sa

    GENEVA DECISION by Seeley James is the first book in the 'Pia Sabel' series with more to come. This is a well-written, fast-paced, suspense, mystery that is packed with action and a dab of humor which is refreshing after some intense scenes.

    Pia Sabel is beautiful, just 25 years old, tip top shape, Olympic Soccer Star, rich and was just appointed the head of Sabel Security by her billionaire father. This in itself has caused hundreds of security employees to resign. Sabel Security is internationally renowned and many of the agents are given high profile and dangerous assignments in hotspots all over the world. Many are upset with having an inexperienced leader.
    When a Swiss banker is assassinated right before her eyes, Pia is determined to find the killers. She enlists a top ranking employee Jonelle, (the Major) to mentor her. The author takes us on a high speed chase from Geneva, Maryland, Zurich to the African jungles with action on land and sea.




    Pia's goals are to catch the killers: earn the respect of the employees, the business community, and prove that she isn't just a spoiled rich brat.




    I really enjoyed this story and look forward to future books by this author. 5.0/5.0 stars.




    Bestselling and Award-winning Author,
    RJ Parker

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    que entertaining

    Very engaging. Good soccer knowledge as well?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Geneva Decision does a lot of things that are different from

    The Geneva Decision does a lot of things that are different from the run-of-the-mill action thriller. For one thing, its protagonist and dominant personality is a woman; she’s not a guy with breasts, nor a cartoon ultravixen, nor does she wear Spandex unless she’s working out. The good guys don’t work for some ultra-secret government agency; they’re private security contractors, and although well-heeled, they don’t have all the resources of the Earth behind them. The bad guys aren’t some other ultra-secret global cabal with limitless reach and resources; they’re bad, yes, they get around, but they’re human. The fate of the world doesn’t even hang in the balance.




    So how does it all work? Very nicely, thank you.




    Let’s start with Pia Sabel, the aforementioned heroine. Not only is she not token eye-candy, she’s also not the standard Special Forces refugee. She’s an athlete – a former Olympic soccer player – dragooned by her fabulously wealthy adoptive father into running the family business. Except for whatever she’s picked up from being surrounded by bodyguards for most of her life, she’s a rookie at this game. She’s not even a very good shot. Being an athlete, though, she’s fit, can run like hell, can beat the crap out of lesser mortals, and has a very casual attitude toward her own mortality. Yes, she has the requisite Painful Past™, but it doesn’t involve alcoholism, gambling, a long-lost love, dead children or serial divorces. If you’re an action-thriller fan, you can already see how this kind of protagonist might change up the genre.




    Fittingly, Sabel Security isn't the standard everybody-united-against-the-dark-enemy place. The firm came undone upon Our Heroine’s ascension to the CEO’s chair, with mass resignations and much political backbiting. This, too, is a refreshing change; it sounds like reality.




    The story's twists and turns flow organically, and the series of action set-pieces are realistically messy and often inconclusive (again, just like in life). In fact, both good and bad guys miss their shots more often than hit, another touch of reality in a genre in which the heroes regularly pull off amazing feats of marksmanship against moving targets. The dialog is naturalistic and believable. Not only are the locations fresh, but the author makes good use of fairly esoteric parts of those locales, such as Geneva’s water system (!).




    The downsides? Pia is a dear, but she’s such a Girl Scout, and the third or fourth time this quality puts her people at deadly risk, I wanted to slap her. While the bad guys are described early and economically, Pia’s accomplices aren’t; for that matter, I still don’t know what Pia herself looks like. As befits a spoiled rich girl – something she gets called at least a hundred times during the story – Pia is stubborn, reckless, and doesn’t take coaching well, which made me wonder (a) how she managed to get on an Olympic team, and (b) how she expects to keep the rest of her employees from walking out.




    The Geneva Decision is a refreshing departure from the increasingly calcified norms of action-thriller fiction, a solid read with a unique protagonist, an array of engaging supporting characters, and a plot that keeps you hooked. If you’re on the prowl for a fresh take on the action-thriller genre, you’re suffering from testosterone overload from too much Reacher, or you just want to see girls kick butt, give The Geneva Decision a try. You won’t be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a wild globe trotting ride that I very much enjoyed tak

    This was a wild globe trotting ride that I very much enjoyed taking.
    Pia Sabel is an internationally known ex-footballer/soccer player turned head of her adopted father’s multimillion dollar private security company.
    The action starts right at the very beginning while Pia is on assignment, when right in front of her eyes the man she is supposed to be guarding is killed and as she goes after the killer she finds herself mixed up with some very dangerous people on an extremely deadly mission with those same people coming after her…
    With her tough as nails employees who are all a little pissed off that daddy’s little girl is at the helm with no real experience, they all go on an international hunt for the gang of money laundering murderous pirates that takes them all over the globe from the Cameroon jungles to Switzerland mansions.
    But have no fear as Pia has Wonder Woman like qualities from her athletic and almost Olympian football/soccer abilities which make her a worthy and extremely fast opponent.
    There is no time to take a breath with this story it moves very fast and quick which can be confusing at times so pay attention! There are a few slow parts and too many wild fight scenes as well but all in all it is a fun and fast read. I will be checking out more of Seely James wild adventures with Pia in the future…:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    The Geneva Decision was AWESOME! Seeley James is an incredible a

    The Geneva Decision was AWESOME! Seeley James is an incredible author! I was sitting at the edge of my seat reading this book and I couldn't put it down! I loved all the twists and turns. I hope there are more books about Pia Sabel. I would love to know what other events life has in store for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved The Geneva Decision. The main character, Pia Sabel has t

    I loved The Geneva Decision. The main character, Pia Sabel has taken on a job where she may very well be in over her head. But she's not willing to admit defeat and she is not going to give up. This is a refreshing change to the mystery/thriller concepts where the protagonist can't do anything wrong. Pia is new at this. She makes mistakes. She learns as she goes along. She makes friends and enemies along the way, and people get hurt. All of this adds up to a reading experience that is both fun and engrossing. The title indicates that this is only book one of a series. I'm looking forward to book #2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    Female leads in bestselling thrillers are rarely this realistic.

    Female leads in bestselling thrillers are rarely this realistic. She’s not panting over a man, not whining all the time, makes her own decisions - and still kicks ass. Pia Sabel must be the love child of Suzanne Collins’ Katniss Everdeen and Lee Child’s Jack Reacher. The Hunger Games meets James Bond.

    In this first book, your heroine has been forced out of international soccer and into a role as president of a security company by her overbearing, billionaire father. (There is something off about the relationship and you learn half of it by the end of the book... tbc). First problem: assassins killed her first client. Bad for business and a challenge she takes on despite having no qualifications. She rises to the task but makes some mistakes along the way. By the time you get to the end you'll be rooting for her big time.

    The story felt a little awkward at first but really picked up a couple chapters in. it kept gaining speed and was blinding fast towards the end. Best book I've read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    ¿She thought the man was an assassin the instant she saw him.¿ T

    “She thought the man was an assassin the instant she saw him.” The Geneva Decision written by Seely James is a well-choreographed international mystery. Pia Sabel a retired Olympic soccer player has a new team, her billionaire father’s security company. Pia Sabel has to prove to her new team that she's more than a spoiled little rich girl. With privilege comes responsibility, has Pia taken on more than she can handle, can she gain the respect of her team and solve the murders? The Geneva Decision is a satisfying “Whodunnit” with all the right elements that will keep you guessing with each page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    I read a lot of crime novels. One of my favorite authors is John

    I read a lot of crime novels. One of my favorite authors is John Sandford, and it’s because his character, Lucas Davenport, is different from most of the other detectives out there. I picked up The Geneva Decision based on a recommendation and I’m glad I did. I ended up liking Pia Sabel, the female lead, for the same reasons I like Lucas; she’s different. It took me a while to buy into Pia Sabel, but once I did, I found myself liking her. 




    The pacing was good and the story moved along nicely, although at times I would have liked a few of the secondary characters to have had a little more page time. 




    Seeley James does a good job of creating the setting and taking the reader to new places. The story starts off in Geneva, but the chase leads the reader to Africa and Vienna also. There are a lot of nice specifics, especially in Geneva, that help transport you there and make you feel more of a part of the story. His writing style makes for an easy read, and the book isn’t riddled with errors like so many books are. I think James is a writer to keep your eye on, and I’m looking forward to the next Pia Sabel book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    This review is of an e-book copy provided to me by the author vi

    This review is of an e-book copy provided to me by the author via the Goodreads Group Making Connections, in return for my fair and impartial review. 978-0-9886996-0-1

    James tells the kind of story I enjoy, one with a strong protagonist struggling against heavy odds in a contemporary and realistic setting slotted into an intricate plot that shifts between exotic destinations. The story is fast paced and well written.

    The heroine is unusual, a young soccer star, Pia Sabel, who inherits Sabel Security from her very wealthy step-father. Early in her life, her parents were assassinated and she was adopted. Growing up in this privileged environment she thrived in sports and became a star. The confidence and insights she developed on the soccer field stand her in good stead in her new position.

    When the banker her team is protecting is killed in Geneva, she is propelled into an international chase involving other murdered Geneva bankers, millions in missing money and hijacked tankers. The team of hardened men and women she gathers around her to chase the elusive foe view her as a neophyte who may compromise their safety and the success of the mission. Her father urges her to come home and accept a desk job running the business. She refuses. Along the way she makes mistakes and some enemies.

    The shifts in action from Geneva to the Cameroons to Vienna make it an interesting read. The only quibble I have with the book is some unrealistic aspects of Pia, the protagonist. The book chronicles many fights in which she performs almost super-human feats, albeit tempered by realistic emotions of fear. In my opinion the author should This review is of an e-book copy provided to me by the author via the Goodreads Group Making Connections, in return for my fair and impartial review. 978-0-9886996-0-1

    James tells the kind of story I enjoy, one with a strong protagonist struggling against heavy odds in a contemporary and realistic setting slotted into an intricate plot that shifts between exotic destinations. The story is fast paced and well written.

    The heroine is unusual, a young soccer star, Pia Sabel, who inherits Sabel Security from her very wealthy step-father. Early in her life, her parents were assassinated and she was adopted. Growing up in this privileged environment she thrived in sports and became a star. The confidence and insights she developed on the soccer field stand her in good stead in her new position.

    When the banker her team is protecting is killed in Geneva, she is propelled into an international chase involving other murdered Geneva bankers, millions in missing money and hijacked tankers. The team of hardened men and women she gathers around her to chase the elusive foe view her as a neophyte who may compromise their safety and the success of the mission. Her father urges her to come home and accept a desk job running the business. She refuses. Along the way she makes mistakes and some enemies.

    The shifts in action from Geneva to the Cameroons to Vienna make it an interesting read. The only quibble I have with the book is some unrealistic aspects of Pia, the protagonist. The book chronicles many fights in which she performs almost super-human feats, albeit tempered by realistic emotions of fear. In my opinion the author should have reduced the number of these encounters, and deepened those threads that sketched her character. Nevertheless, a good holiday read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    An heiress wants to know who killed her customer and goes all ov

    An heiress wants to know who killed her customer and goes all over the world to find out. I always hear people say "gripping story" but in this case it fits. She's a spoiled rich kid who retired from soccer (although we don't know why). I've never seen a soccer player in a thriller before. The first move she made is one I've done on the pitch (you will get a yellow card though) so I know it works. After that, she's pretty resourceful in using her strengths against a bunch of killers. What I like about her is she makes time to help people. She's a nice person.

    The story starts out a little slow for my taste but gets into the action about a third of the way in and never stops after that. The battle in the jungle had me speed reading to see what happened. I can't say without a spoiler, but it was good. The ending was pretty amazing too. Fast and furious.

    If you like women in lead roles, this is a great book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    I read this one in one sitting, from the subway to home until ma

    I read this one in one sitting, from the subway to home until maybe 2am. After getting in a few chapters, I was hooked. The pace is just right, fast with some breaks. The main character is a woman who chooses a woman as her mentor--that's got to be a first. Then there is a questionable sidekick who is a lot of fun.

    The protagonist sees a banker get killed then chases down everyone involved. She runs all over Europe and Africa and back to Geneva. The ending was exciting. i had no idea who it was until the end, then it made sense. She kept referring to "the chain of custody" and that was the clue we'd had all along.

    Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1