Customer Reviews for

The Geneva Decision: Pia Sabel #1

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    You can definitely judge this book by it's cover. Nothing better

    You can definitely judge this book by it's cover. Nothing better than a hot lead character packing a gun. The action is nonstop throughout this novel as Pia Sable kicks ass and looks great chasing the bad guys.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2013

    Good for first time author, particularly like the "Google&q

    Good for first time author, particularly like the "Google" links to pictures of places the story takes place. As stated in other reviews, hope there is a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Geneva Decision is a fast-paced action thriller that will ke

    The Geneva Decision is a fast-paced action thriller that will keep you rapt with attention from beginning to end. 




    Author Seeley James of Scottsdale, Arizona begins his tale in Geneva, Switzerland where his primary character, Pia Sabel surprises guests at a Banque Marot reception. After witnessing an assassin blow the head off banker Clément Marot, a gown-clad Pia burst into action in her high heels by single-handedly tackling the man.




    “The assassin crashed face first onto the concrete pathway. She jumped into the air above him, her gown billowing around her like an unfurling parachute and came down hard. Her knees drove into his back on either side of his spine, halfway between the ribs and the hipbone. The impact forced the air from his lungs and pounded his kidneys.”




    Pia took it upon herself to bring down this assassin, as she had just become head of her father’s firm, Sabel Security. However, the clever killer managed to escape police custody and immediately sought revenge. Pia became his primary target.




    Although her father wanted her to stick to a desk job, the spunky Pia, who had become a well-known and wealthy soccer star, could not contain herself when several other bankers met the same fate. She followed her instincts and the assassin from the Swiss Alps to the jungles of Cameroon in hopes of finishing him off once and for all.




    Despite beginning her new career green as the grass, Pia was determined to garner the admiration of the agents under her, who had years of experience behind them. Her initial goal was to track down the killer but in the process, discovered a massive web of treachery and deceit.




    If you love a good mystery with plenty of action, The Geneva Decision will not let you down. The author displays a unique talent for keeping the story moving at a lightning fast pace right to the final page. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    GENEVA DECISION by Seeley James is the first book in the 'Pia Sa

    GENEVA DECISION by Seeley James is the first book in the 'Pia Sabel' series with more to come. This is a well-written, fast-paced, suspense, mystery that is packed with action and a dab of humor which is refreshing after some intense scenes.

    Pia Sabel is beautiful, just 25 years old, tip top shape, Olympic Soccer Star, rich and was just appointed the head of Sabel Security by her billionaire father. This in itself has caused hundreds of security employees to resign. Sabel Security is internationally renowned and many of the agents are given high profile and dangerous assignments in hotspots all over the world. Many are upset with having an inexperienced leader.
    When a Swiss banker is assassinated right before her eyes, Pia is determined to find the killers. She enlists a top ranking employee Jonelle, (the Major) to mentor her. The author takes us on a high speed chase from Geneva, Maryland, Zurich to the African jungles with action on land and sea.




    Pia's goals are to catch the killers: earn the respect of the employees, the business community, and prove that she isn't just a spoiled rich brat.




    I really enjoyed this story and look forward to future books by this author. 5.0/5.0 stars.




    Bestselling and Award-winning Author,
    RJ Parker

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    The Geneva Decision was AWESOME! Seeley James is an incredible a

    The Geneva Decision was AWESOME! Seeley James is an incredible author! I was sitting at the edge of my seat reading this book and I couldn't put it down! I loved all the twists and turns. I hope there are more books about Pia Sabel. I would love to know what other events life has in store for her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I loved The Geneva Decision. The main character, Pia Sabel has t

    I loved The Geneva Decision. The main character, Pia Sabel has taken on a job where she may very well be in over her head. But she's not willing to admit defeat and she is not going to give up. This is a refreshing change to the mystery/thriller concepts where the protagonist can't do anything wrong. Pia is new at this. She makes mistakes. She learns as she goes along. She makes friends and enemies along the way, and people get hurt. All of this adds up to a reading experience that is both fun and engrossing. The title indicates that this is only book one of a series. I'm looking forward to book #2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    Female leads in bestselling thrillers are rarely this realistic.

    Female leads in bestselling thrillers are rarely this realistic. She’s not panting over a man, not whining all the time, makes her own decisions - and still kicks ass. Pia Sabel must be the love child of Suzanne Collins’ Katniss Everdeen and Lee Child’s Jack Reacher. The Hunger Games meets James Bond.

    In this first book, your heroine has been forced out of international soccer and into a role as president of a security company by her overbearing, billionaire father. (There is something off about the relationship and you learn half of it by the end of the book... tbc). First problem: assassins killed her first client. Bad for business and a challenge she takes on despite having no qualifications. She rises to the task but makes some mistakes along the way. By the time you get to the end you'll be rooting for her big time.

    The story felt a little awkward at first but really picked up a couple chapters in. it kept gaining speed and was blinding fast towards the end. Best book I've read in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    I read this one in one sitting, from the subway to home until ma

    I read this one in one sitting, from the subway to home until maybe 2am. After getting in a few chapters, I was hooked. The pace is just right, fast with some breaks. The main character is a woman who chooses a woman as her mentor--that's got to be a first. Then there is a questionable sidekick who is a lot of fun.

    The protagonist sees a banker get killed then chases down everyone involved. She runs all over Europe and Africa and back to Geneva. The ending was exciting. i had no idea who it was until the end, then it made sense. She kept referring to "the chain of custody" and that was the clue we'd had all along.

    Highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1