BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Genius and the Muse

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 4, 2014

    Absolutely Beautiful & Touching Journey of Love Found, Lost

    Absolutely Beautiful & Touching Journey of Love Found, Lost & Reclaimed! Every time I read a book by Elizabeth Hunter, I am reminded again why is at the top of my MUST-READ Author's list. Her stories evoke so much real and heartfelt emotions, that the reader becomes deeply invested in the journey. This story was so unique in that as the narrator discovers a remarkable love story in the subject of her thesis, she discovers a romance of her own that is quite remarkable too. I laughed. I cried. I grieved. I rejoiced. A moving story that will stay with you long after you read it! I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    The Genius and the Muse by Elizabeth Hunter is a very unique and

    The Genius and the Muse by Elizabeth Hunter is a very unique and intriguing story.  I love how the author developed the main character, Kate, and her relationships while simultaneously revealing pieces of the past--a romantic mystery that Kate was uncovering.  I think her investigating while becoming part of the story was my favorite part.  Past and present were resolved and melded into one.  Beautiful storytelling.
    Anyone artistic or creative will identify with the characters (who are photographers, painters, and potters) and relate to their depth and moods.  I totally recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Great Read!!

    Loved all the characters. Loved that it was a love story about 2 people, neither of which was the main character. It's about how the people in your life influence you, sometimes without you realizing how deep the influence goes. Wouldn't have minded these characters being a trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Emotional, poignant and achingly beautiful story

    This book is wonderfully written and heart-breakingly tender. I had to stop reading at times because the feelings the author engendered were so intense. The characters are warm and funny. I laughed and cried and became wholly invested in their lives and loves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Refreshing read

    I really enjoyed this story. The caracters were well devoloped and interesting. i would love to see more compelling love stories like thus one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This book has aced the "love-on-a-whole-other-level" factor. 4.5 stars!

    Written incredibly well! The little surprises and details were woven into the plot and revealed at just the right times. For me, I tend to pick apart books for the littlest things (There are so many writers' quirks that annoy me). But with this book, I don't have anything bad to say. You can't. There's no way you would read this and say "It was a waste of my time." No way. It was romantic in profound kinda way.-And it was sans the "cheese" factor, which not a lot of writers can pull off. Usually, I see writers get stuck in all those typical cliches when they are trying to paint the picture for the reader that this is some "special" kind of love but in the end, they only screw it up and leave you thinking "oh, brother. REALLY?!" Not here, E.H. just gives it to you beautifully, artistically raw and there's still that "love-on-a-whole-other-level" factor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was taken back by how wonderful this book was. When I set out

    I was taken back by how wonderful this book was. When I set out to read it I was expecting just story about an artist's journey to find out the story behind a photo. I learned that this book was more than that. It was a journey of love lost and found and lessons learned.
    The author did a great job of bringing you in to the art world without overwhelming you. I have a new appreciation for art and the beauty that is is there if you take a second look. The story is compelling and well written.
    We see the world through Kate's eyes in present day but Reed and Sam's eyes in flash backs of the past.When Kate found Reed's photograph and Sam's painting I don't think she anticipated the outcome. The findings took her beyond finding out what made these two people tick but finding out if love can survive it all. As the love story of Sam and Reed unfold, Kate's own life changes. In some ways she is experiencing a similar path as them but with the advantage of learning from their mistakes.
    I love Kate and Javi together. They are each others perfect match. Javi comes off harsh but Kate complements him with her softer side.She meets up with Javi when she is researching Reed. The moment they meet you know that that was not going to be the last time you saw him. It took Javi leaving her a message that basically said the said that that her dad did, that she needed some one who would get that she was one of a kind, that maybe he was the one for her. It isn't until Kate finally gets to meet Reed during a trip to NY that she realized how much she wanted Javi in her life.
    Reed and Sam are great too. They are the past to this story. Their relationship is the one that Kate learns from. The two of them have a love that is full of energy. Those lucky enough to be present when they were together feed off of it. It is a relationship that when it was good it was great. When it was bad it was awful. Thanks to Kate basically forcing them to rehash what happened, they were able to come back together.
    I loved every aspect of this book. This was a great story about love, loss and rebuilding. I enjoyed every minute reading it and couldn't put it down till the end. If you love romance I recommend this book to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2012

    A wonderful read. I loved the characters in this book. Wish ther

    A wonderful read. I loved the characters in this book. Wish there was more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Someone once told Kate 'To understand Reed O'Connor, you have to

    Someone once told Kate 'To understand Reed O'Connor, you have to understand Samantha Rhodes'. And that is exactly what Kate set out to do while trying to finish her thesis on Reed O'Connor. While talking to her friend and Professor, she learned that there was a story to Reed and she figured if she could find that story, she would understand a little more what make's Reed tick. She would be able to understand his work a little more too. What she didn't bargain for was the journey her own life would take.

    Ok so I am not an art fan by any means. Yes I can appreciate a good painting or photograph, but I am not one to look deep and find its hidden meaning. But after reading The Genius and the Muse, I can see how people can get caught up in it. It takes a special person to be artist...to see the beauty in things that a lot of us just overlook.

    Ok, now about the book...yes this wonderful book. I do believe this is my 2nd favorite book of 2012..well it's fighting On the Island (Tracey Garvis Graves) for the top spot. It didn't take long into the book before I realized I was falling in love with these amazing characters. And how could you not? They all hold such wonderful qualities it makes it easy to just adore them and want to read all you can about them. True, one of them may not be the most attractive of the bunch, but that is who stole my heart the most. Flat out loved him. Would so love if there was another story wrote about him.
    *cough* take a hint Elizabeth *cough*

    And the storyline, don't get me started about the storyline. Truly amazing, crazy believable, and the story kept my interest the entire time. Do you know it actually hurt me to lay the book down? I didn’t want to be away from it. I think hubby can go to work one day without ironed pants, right? Sure I took a second to tweet Elizabeth to let her know she had a winner on her hands, but then it was right back to reading. I loved how Elizabeth portrayed the story. One chapter we are reading about Kate and her quest to know Reed, the next it was Reed or Sam giving us bits and pieces to how the relationship ended. Very emotional towards the end...so be forewarned!

    Yep, the morning after finishing the book I was still gushing over it; wanting anyone and everyone to read it. But alas you cannot, well at least not until next week (May 2nd). I want you to read this book; I need you to read this book. I want you to get to know these people, to see their story unfold before you. Remarkable read…absolutely remarkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    My summary: Kate Mitchell is getting ready to graduate from Foot

    My summary: Kate Mitchell is getting ready to graduate from Foothill Art Institute. Her final project is her thesis on well known photographer and alumni, Reed O'Connor. Reed is known as a genius in his field, but is somewhat of a recluse. She learns there is a link between O'Connor and her mentor on the project. Kate has been fascinated by one particular photograph that she is convinced is Reed and a woman. Her mentor tells her that she needs to understand the relationship Reed had with another artist, Samantha Rhodes, so that she can understand Reed better. As Kate begins to unravel the mysteries of Reed, she is surprised with a love of her own.

    My Take:
    When I was asked to read this book, there was absolutely no hesitation. I love EH's writing style and knew that this story would be nothing less than exceptional. Once again, I was right!

    I often feel like book synopsis' short change the story. Now, I know that the author doesn't want to reveal too much of the story, because then what's the point in reading the book. MY point is, I read the synopsis and was intrigued, but this story takes you on such a wonderful journey. That is not to say this is a hearts and butterflies type of book. It's a story of love, self discovery, loss, and trying to heal.

    I liked getting the history of the relationship between Reed and Sam, but the book for me was really about Kate. Or I guess I should say that I had a deeper connection to Kate. She is on the brink of starting her career after graduation, is stuck in a dead end relationship with a loser of a guy, and ends up becoming so emotionally involved in her project, which ultimately I think became her muse.

    Then we meet Javi. Javi is a friend of Reed's and is also a famous sculptor. He's rough, not overly friendly, not particularly handsome in the traditional sense, covered in tattoos, but he is oh so lovely. I want a Javi of my own. (Do you think my husband would mind?) When we're first introduced to Javi, I wasn't really sure what his role was going to be in the story. Kate sees Javi in a different light and is intrigued by him immediately. No doubt that they have a connection, but Javi is reluctant to pursue anything with Kate for many reasons. She's younger, pretty, and about to start her own career in the art world. Needless to say, neither of them can fight their attraction and that's all I will say on that. ;) I could have read about Javi and Kate the whole time.

    This book is Elizabeth Hunter's first Contemporary and I must say that the transition was effortless. I've read EH's paranormal series and am a huge fan of that as well. The Genius and The Muse is such a lovely story. It's the type of book where you want to re-read it, because you may find more little delights you missed the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1