BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The German Suitcase

Average Rating 4.5
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The German Suitcase is exceptional. It is a thriller that start

The German Suitcase is exceptional. It is a thriller that starts today
and quickly flashes back to WW-II and the horror of Hitler and Germany.
Amidst the story itself moral questions come up that case you to think:
So, what really constitutes a war crime when war itsel...
The German Suitcase is exceptional. It is a thriller that starts today
and quickly flashes back to WW-II and the horror of Hitler and Germany.
Amidst the story itself moral questions come up that case you to think:
So, what really constitutes a war crime when war itself is hell on Earth
and is essentially a crime against humanity in the first place? In the
midst of the story your mind is forced to think about those questions.
I enjoyed Red Ink and was pleased to see a new Dinallo title come out.
If you love suspense thrillers, you will enjoy this one.

posted by AReaderCA on August 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Interesting idea- two and one half stars

Book was enjoyable but very predictable. Once again pages did not turn easily and there was often mistakes in the printing. Someone should pre-read and edit these books before they are sold.

posted by 6907938 on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    The German Suitcase is exceptional. It is a thriller that start

    The German Suitcase is exceptional. It is a thriller that starts today
    and quickly flashes back to WW-II and the horror of Hitler and Germany.
    Amidst the story itself moral questions come up that case you to think:
    So, what really constitutes a war crime when war itself is hell on Earth
    and is essentially a crime against humanity in the first place? In the
    midst of the story your mind is forced to think about those questions.
    I enjoyed Red Ink and was pleased to see a new Dinallo title come out.
    If you love suspense thrillers, you will enjoy this one.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Fabulous story. Deserves a write-up. Very well written, story f

    Fabulous story. Deserves a write-up. Very well written, story flows
    with flashbacks from the present to the past, really hard to put down.
    Lots of mystery and intrigue. Loved the book!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Interesting idea- two and one half stars

    Book was enjoyable but very predictable. Once again pages did not
    turn easily and there was often mistakes in the printing. Someone should pre-read and edit these books before they are sold.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Absolute Must Read!

    Another great Greg Dinallo novel that spans two time periods alternating between chapters. While it doesn't actually answer whether a "Nazi War
    Criminal" can actually be a hero, this is a scary, heartwarming, brilliantly written novel juxtaposing the Nazi concentration camp and SS experience with Madison Avenue advertising. Don't run away from this great piece of fiction based on the cover or the title. If this is your first Dinallo, it won't be your last!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Not so great.

    Very predictable. Dialog and story were pre-teen level.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    It was good, but not great.

    `--it was a good book, but I kept feeling it was not all it could be. I also predicted the "surprise" ending long before I reached it.
    All that said, it was an entertaining read if one didn't know what to pick up next.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Excellent

    Very well written keeps ur attention

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Very interesting story!

    The title of the book got my attention and after the first page I was hooked. The author took a terrible time in history and turned it into a thought provoking story with a surprise ending. The story shifts from present day to the past and each story line is interesting and the reader is left wondering how they are connected as a mystery unfolds. While the book deals with disturbing events of Nazi Germany, it is told from a unique perspective that I had never thought of before I read the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Best book ive read in at least a month or two, and i read every day or two.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Thought Provoking

    This was a good read and left me with something to think about. It has you looking at a situation from different generations' perspectives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    When a young New York advertising executive pulls a vintage suit

    When a young New York advertising executive pulls a vintage suitcase from a trash pile to use in a new advertising series, she pulls a string that links the Holocaust to a prominent New York doctor. Then her boyfriend, a journalist who agrees to write a story for the times, spots some idiosyncrasies in the artifacts pulled from the suitcase and the Doctor’s story. Attempting to discover the facts without alerting the Doctor or smearing his reputation becomes a suspenseful walk through history. As a young man, the doctor fell in love with a Jewish doctor in Germany, so when an SS officer came, demanding that two Jews must go to a camp, the doctor tries to help them escape, endangering his family in the process.




    Anything that has a connection to Germany and World War II, has the potential to be exciting, but when I realized that two of the characters where Jewish and likely headed to a concentration camp, I tried to slow down my fascination. I knew it would be emotional. I have a fascination with stories of this era because it was such an incredibly difficult time to live through. Once I read a few chapters, I could not put it down. What seemed to be the likely conclusion from the beginning kept twisting and kept me guessing. 




    One of the themes gave me much thought for contemplation, when a good Christian man had to make life and death choices for the people arriving at Dachau, or have his family killed. Somehow, I believed that the people in those positions chose those positions of their own free will, something very naive on my part. After I finished the book, this kept my mind busy for hours, with thought of, “What would I do?” Life is never as simple as we believe. The story reinforces my opinion that evil exists.




    This is the first Greg Dinallo novel I have read, but it will not be the last. It took me a couple of days to surface from this deeply suspenseful and emotional novel. This is a well-researched novel, with many compelling facts, including people and dates, both contemporary and historical. If you enjoy the era, suspense, and romance, you should pick this one up today.




    Received from NetGalley.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Very compelling - a must read

    I very much enjoyed this fictional story. It was a good mix of mystery and history - coupled with present day drama. I found myself not being able to put this down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Verygoodu Very good

    Well written enjoyed the storyj

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    This story grabbed me quickly and tied me to it until I finished

    This story grabbed me quickly and tied me to it until I finished the last page and was looking for the next event to begin.
    Very sensitive to the issues of the period and connects the familial characters across time and events.I enjoyed every minute from the first to last
    page.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Loved it from start to finish. It was one of those books where you do not want it to end. I look forward to reading more by this author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    It did not keep me interested.

    I only read about 50 pages and I lost interest in the book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Well written mystery

    I enjoyed this one. More ethical and moral issues raised than my standard tripe. Not always comfortable to consider what any one of us might do when faced with similar circumstances. Good to think about it though...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. It is a novel, but there were parts

    I really enjoyed this book. It is a novel, but there were parts that you know happened which breaks your heart that these horrible things happened to people. Hitler and the SS were masters of manipulation yet, some people were able to be true to their values and were punished severely for it. Ending somewhat predictable but still engaging.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Loved this book. finished over a year ago and still think about

    Loved this book. finished over a year ago and still think about the story. Personalizes the horror of the Holocaust and pushes reader to consider the dilemmas faced by the Germans who did not want to follow the Nazi regime. God protect us from ever falling under such a blanket of evil again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Great story

    The story was a bit predictable but interesting none the less. Took a couple chapters to get into but the charector development is quick. The charectors are also witty and humerous with compassion and an everyday sense of duty intertwined with the story. Definatley recomend this book, its a afternoom read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8