Customer Reviews for

The German Suitcase

Average Rating 4.5
( 143 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

The German Suitcase is exceptional. It is a thriller that start

The German Suitcase is exceptional. It is a thriller that starts today
and quickly flashes back to WW-II and the horror of Hitler and Germany.
Amidst the story itself moral questions come up that case you to think:
So, what really constitutes a war crime when war itsel...
The German Suitcase is exceptional. It is a thriller that starts today
and quickly flashes back to WW-II and the horror of Hitler and Germany.
Amidst the story itself moral questions come up that case you to think:
So, what really constitutes a war crime when war itself is hell on Earth
and is essentially a crime against humanity in the first place? In the
midst of the story your mind is forced to think about those questions.
I enjoyed Red Ink and was pleased to see a new Dinallo title come out.
If you love suspense thrillers, you will enjoy this one.

posted by AReaderCA on August 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Interesting idea- two and one half stars

Book was enjoyable but very predictable. Once again pages did not turn easily and there was often mistakes in the printing. Someone should pre-read and edit these books before they are sold.

posted by 6907938 on February 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Posted May 1, 2013

    I enjoyed this book very much and found it hard to put it down.

    I enjoyed this book very much and found it hard to put it down. Present day chapters and flashbacks went together very well
    (usually not the case).  This is my first book by Mr. Dinallo and I will definitely buy another one. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    highly recommened

    very believable and good story, being from europe and having my dad in a german workcamp during world world II. it also tells that not all Germans where nazis and evil

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Read and think about the world today and how people think about others.

    Excellent presentation of a highly complex and emotional issue. Being Jewish I really appreciated this book. Good book for high school HOLOCAUST class to read and contemplate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    good read

    really really good story line

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Enjoyable

    I did enjoy this book very much. However, when I was about 3/4 of the way through it I had figured out the ending. I do recommed this book dispite that. Very interesting plot idea.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    I loved this book! Great story!

    I loved this book! Great story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Highly recommend this book

    The first chapter had me wanting more! The story jumps back and forth to WW II and the present in a creative story about the Suitcase. Greg Dinallo is a captivating author and I am looking forward to reading more of his novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    a really good one!

    This book is excellant. I enjoyed it very much. Good characters, great story and totally spellbinding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Rubbish - don't bother reading

    I stopped reading when this implausible story spiraled down through brutality to a disgusting, detailed description of a rape.

    Even the so-called "plot" didn't make any sense.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Highly recommended- check this book out

    If you liked Sarah's Key and The Red leather Diary, you will be hooked on the German Suitcase. Written with every other chapter being the present, this book will peak your interest with a unique plot twist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    A spellbinding read that you can't put down.

    This book is well written, and the story is very engaging. I can't put it down. Additionally, I appreciate the historical facts about this era and the masterful way in which the author weaves them into the back drop of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Keeps you guessing

    this is an excellent book with a great storyline. Don't let the title fool you into thinking this a typical WWII story. It combines WWII with a modern day twist. It will keep you guessing right up to the ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    A different slant

    Reading this book will make many a person sit back and think before they act if they were in the shoes of the journalist who was going to change many lives with his revelations. It was a good idea for the author to alternate chapters when he was writing this tale. I don't doubt many evil people "got away" and lived their lives in other countries after the war, but Max and Eva deserved to be able to continue their time together-they were pivotal in their community and helped many.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    A moral dilemma.....

    How could a 2009 luggage advertising campaign and the American liberation of the German death camp of Dachau be linked together. Author Greg Dinalleo has has solved the question with this extremely fascinating story. Please enjoy for yourself this wonderful piece of writing.

    J M LYDON

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2014

    This is a really good story, but there are a bunch of grammatica

    This is a really good story, but there are a bunch of grammatical errors (including punctuation errors) and typesetting errors. Doesn't he have an editor/proofreader?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Lest We Forget

    A compelling, heart wrenching story of human suffering,the fight to survive and to set aside what they can never forget. At least that's what I took from it. It's well written, not just the usual Nazi/Jew story. It's very touching. I will never forget it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    This is one of the best books that I have read in a while, and I

    This is one of the best books that I have read in a while, and I couldn't put it down. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Couldn't wait to turn the next page!

    The threads of this novel are woven across time as well as within each time period. The author is a master weaver , creating a believable fabric within which the reader will discover enjoyable, yet thought provoking, patterns of human behavior.

    The little details that are seemingly "just thrown in as filler" contribute to the believability of the story. Those same details also caused me to pause and reflect on the implications of those details. This novel can be read on more than one level and I thoroughly enjoy that.

    I would have given 5 stars except for the fact the I can't get the book to close and I can't get any other book to open. (Trying to open any book results in this one being opened to whatever page I was last reading.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    Highly recommended

    I loved this book. I had a hard time putting it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    I cried and cried reading this book. It was an excellent book an

    I cried and cried reading this book. It was an excellent book and the story it told was done superbly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8