Customer Reviews for

The Ghost Bride: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Read this book in about 12 hours, upon reading this book I was e

Read this book in about 12 hours, upon reading this book I was expecting a fictionalized historical account of Chinese culture, but was pleasantly surprised that it was a fiction with historical details. The story is haunting and easy to get lost into. I find myself roo...
Read this book in about 12 hours, upon reading this book I was expecting a fictionalized historical account of Chinese culture, but was pleasantly surprised that it was a fiction with historical details. The story is haunting and easy to get lost into. I find myself rooting and surprised by the choices that our main character, Li Lan makes. I am going to strongly recommend this book, to anyone looking for a good quick read.

posted by ModernMomma on August 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

All 5 & 4 Star reviews prior to 8/8 are nook/texters and hav

All 5 & 4 Star reviews prior to 8/8 are nook/texters and have no bearing on the book. It would really be great if all the clans demolished each other technologically and there wouldn't be any left to mess with the book review process. I can only dream.

posted by Anonymous on August 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Kat games

    I wish bn would put a stop to these children playing these kittykat games on tge book review site. This is not the place for them. Take them to facebook or a website or a chat room, but get off the nook. Adults here want to read reviews about the book in question, not scroll past dozens of posts about stupid clans and cats with stupid names.

    10 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    All 5 & 4 Star reviews prior to 8/8 are nook/texters and hav

    All 5 & 4 Star reviews prior to 8/8 are nook/texters and have no bearing on the book. It would really be great if all the clans demolished each other technologically and there wouldn't be any left to mess with the book review process. I can only dream.

    10 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Read this book in about 12 hours, upon reading this book I was e

    Read this book in about 12 hours, upon reading this book I was expecting a fictionalized historical account of Chinese culture, but was pleasantly surprised that it was a fiction with historical details. The story is haunting and easy to get lost into. I find myself rooting and surprised by the choices that our main character, Li Lan makes. I am going to strongly recommend this book, to anyone looking for a good quick read.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    This book was a very good read - I couldn't put it down.  The im

    This book was a very good read - I couldn't put it down.  The imagery was fantastic, the plot swift and surprising, and the ending left me wanting more.  I hope to see more work in the future from Ms. Choo!  

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    This book was exceptional. An amazing journey into historic Mala

    This book was exceptional. An amazing journey into historic Malaya (Malaysia) and the fantastical world of the Chinese world of the life beyond. It was beautifully written. The characters were enjoyable and nuanced. If I would fault it at all, it would be that the ending seemed a bit short. I would love to see a sequel and this will definitely be a book I want to share with others! Cheers!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Worth reading

    Excellent work for a new author with a unique voice. One hopes that the author will continue to explore the world crafted in this tale.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    A Fabulous Book! This is a beautifully written, imaginative tal

    A Fabulous Book!

    This is a beautifully written, imaginative tale that takes place in Malaya in 1893. The story is told through the eyes of a young woman named Li Lan. Her once wealthy family has gone almost bankrupt and her father must decide if his daughter is to become a ghost bride to the recently deceased son of the wealthy Lim family. The marriage contract to Lim Tian Ching would secure a future for Li Lan and save the family. But Li Lan is horrified by the prospect. She becomes very ill and is near-death.
    What follows is a coming-of-age story for Li Lan as her spirit weaves from the known world to the afterlife. She hopes to learn more about the Lim family, their connection to her family, and ultimately about herself. Li Lan travels to the Plains of the Dead. It is like purgatory where the dead await judgment for their eternal life. She meets people along her journey who are sometimes very kind to her and help her and others who are just plain evil. In particular, I loved the character of Er Lang, who is unusual and not quite as he appears to be at first. It adds a small amount of comic relief to read the banter that goes on between he and Li Lan. The author, Yangsze Choo, is a gifted storyteller. Her descriptions of everything: from the flora and fauna, to the countryside (above and below ground), to the people and customs of the living and the dead, are just remarkable. Her characters are fully fleshed-out and well-developed. There is a small section at the end of the book that further explains some of the Chinese myths and customs. Full disclosure: I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway.
    This is truly an exceptional book and I highly recommend it!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    I couldn't put the book down once I started. Wonderfully writte

    I couldn't put the book down once I started. Wonderfully written, enchanting and compelling. I'd recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good paranormal story with romantic elements.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Get lost in a ghostly world beaming with Chinese culture and lur

    Get lost in a ghostly world beaming with Chinese culture and lure. Ghost Bride is an imaginative story with grasping characters, suspense, death, romance, and dramatic twists and turns that keep you turning it's pages Great story, only downside is that it leaves you wanting so much more!! Hope there's more of Ms. Choo's work to come!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Fantastic!

    Didn't know what to expect when I started to read but I was surprised on how I couldn't put the book down! Beautiful imagery and a great plot! I would recommend to anyone!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    great book

    i love these kind of stories because it blends fact with fiction, which i find very interesting. i would recommend this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    The author blends everything very welling this book. Part murder

    The author blends everything very welling this book. Part murder mystery, love story, and supernatural makes for a great book. My only complaint is that the book ends rather abruptly. It felt like the author just put down the pen without leaving a good wrap up. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2014

    What a delightful find!. This book is adventure, Chinese folklo

    What a delightful find!. This book is adventure, Chinese folklore, and paranormal all rolled into one. It ended too soon!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    More

    I read this book when it first came out and have loaned it to several friends. Another please. I will be checking for this author to do another book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Please I want more!!!!!!

    This book was great! I will admit the first section of the book took me a little time to get through but after that i was completely intrigued! I am amazed and left wanting more. This book was so imaginitive and I always love stories with a little history and cultural lore. I honestly hope to see more by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    I enjoyed this book. It was a paranormal without being in your

    I enjoyed this book. It was a paranormal without being in your face about it until things worked up to that.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    Nice to find something really different!

    Chinese culture fantasy. Why not?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Beautiful imagery!

    Read fairly quickly and yet stayed with me whenever I put it down. I definitely wanted just one more chapter or even a few pages at the end.(read it and see why). I really enjoyed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Not what I was expecting so it kept me interested. Nice change.

    Not what I was expecting so it kept me interested. Nice change.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Ethereal and Seductive

    Spellbinding read. Couldn't put it down once I started.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4