Customer Reviews for

The Ghosts of Varner Creek

Average Rating 4
( 453 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(227)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(52)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Awesome read

This is a well written story that twists and winds and leads the reader on a roller coaster ride of the main characters life and family horrors. The ending has a great twist that rips at your heart and wraps all the threads up compleatly if not tragically. Read it duri...
This is a well written story that twists and winds and leads the reader on a roller coaster ride of the main characters life and family horrors. The ending has a great twist that rips at your heart and wraps all the threads up compleatly if not tragically. Read it during our recent total blackout and it was a nice way to spend a quiet dark night. If you like mild horror of the real kind, semi historical type settings around the turn of the century then grab this book, sit down and get comfy 'cuz you won't be puutting this down til you're done

posted by romFrankenstein5 on September 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

Wow..... what an amazing book! I amaddicted to sci fi teen novels and took a chance on this one. Could barrly put it down!!! Amaxing and well writtrn! Ending was spectacular! Kudos to this author

posted by Jesscook3 on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 453 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Awesome read

    This is a well written story that twists and winds and leads the reader on a roller coaster ride of the main characters life and family horrors. The ending has a great twist that rips at your heart and wraps all the threads up compleatly if not tragically. Read it during our recent total blackout and it was a nice way to spend a quiet dark night. If you like mild horror of the real kind, semi historical type settings around the turn of the century then grab this book, sit down and get comfy 'cuz you won't be puutting this down til you're done

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    Terrific book!

    This story was haunting and chilled me to the core. I couldn?t read fast enough to find out what happened to the characters. I was definitely hooked from the very beginning. I would recommend this book if you are looking for a great mystery.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Great read!

    It did start off a bit slow but very much worth the read. I thought it was a great story.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Interesting story

    The characters came across as real people and the philosophy about the afterlife rings true

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Great read!

    I absolutely loved this book -- could not put it down.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Creatively written

    Don't expect a typical ghost story. Ghosts play a special role, allowing this exploration of the human condition to unfold. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great Book

    Wow..... what an amazing book! I amaddicted to sci fi teen novels and took a chance on this one. Could barrly put it down!!! Amaxing and well writtrn! Ending was spectacular! Kudos to this author

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Depressing

    I wanted to stop reading this book about 20 pages in, but then I just had to find out what happened next. In the end, I felt very depressed, not because the story was not good, but because the story was so sad. I love to read books over and over, but this, I will not read again. You may not find it depressing like I did. It did keep my attention and was kind of predictable, but over all, it was a good story.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    I tried to get into it.....just couldn't

    After 100 pages i gave up . I knew what was going to happen before it happened....too predictable.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    Couldn't get into it

    I don't bash books that I don't enjoy, just let people know a yes or no really. I usually give a book about 50 pages and this one only held me to 32. Just not a good one for me.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    I don't really know what to say

    I don't know how I really feel about it because I haven't finished it yet.
    It started out okay enough,I kind of liked the old guy and his quirks and his feelings about being old and I was into it, but the language used when describing the parents' lives was...disturbing, and hard to read...I had to put it down. I may pick it up again because I like the story or at least I think I do, but I needed a break. (I'm kind of a softy)

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2011

    Really glad I gave this one a shot

    This is the first review I've ever written - it was that good. A great story line meshed together with a unique unfolding. No quessing in the end. Awesome twist! I didn't have this one figured out halfway through! Thank you, Michael Weems, for sharing your remarkable talent!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Good read

    This is a good story that's well written but it's not the scary kind, and scary is what I was hoping for. Call me old fashioned.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    This is a masterpiece

    Michael Weems is one of those rare writers who defies readers to put it down, effectively structured that the reader can easily fall into its pages. Read it and weep

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Tedious

    Storyline very slow to develop. Did not hold my interest enough to finish it. Don't bother paying for this one!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    RONNY TSUNAMI RECCOMENDS THIS BOOK

    This book is phenomenal and is very detailed to the point where i felt like i could imagine every scene in my head, as if i was watching a movie! The reason i didnt give it 5 stars was because the beginning started off great, but then a large portion of the middle of the book went too much into detail of other things, and i thought it would never get back to what the book was really about! But most of all, the book is easy to read and takes you on an emotional rollercoaster! Its a must read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Awful

    Couldnt get past pg 28. Just too boring.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Absolutely Fabulous!

    I have to admit that I read a lot! I could tell by the first few pages of this incredible book that I was in for a great read. There are certain writers that leave you with an "out of body experience". Mr Weems was able to do this. I was no longer sitting in my room, but felt that I was actually there floating around in his words. The characters, the scenes, the plot.....fascinating! Although it was a tragic story, it was believable and actually made me cry. I live for books like this, and I hope there are many more to come from this great author. Bravo!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    a want to keep reading book!

    You'll find the ending a head shaker and a wow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Great story!

    I absolutely loved this story! Told in a manner that kept my interest from the very beginning, I HAD to know what happens next and couldn't put it down. I greatly enjoyed the authors writing style and well developed characters that I could see clearly in my mind's eye. I found myself caring about them, they seemed so real. I look forward to more from Michael Weems and I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 453 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 23