Customer Reviews for

The Ghosts of Varner Creek

Average Rating 4
( 460 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(232)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(53)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Awesome read

This is a well written story that twists and winds and leads the reader on a roller coaster ride of the main characters life and family horrors. The ending has a great twist that rips at your heart and wraps all the threads up compleatly if not tragically. Read it duri...
This is a well written story that twists and winds and leads the reader on a roller coaster ride of the main characters life and family horrors. The ending has a great twist that rips at your heart and wraps all the threads up compleatly if not tragically. Read it during our recent total blackout and it was a nice way to spend a quiet dark night. If you like mild horror of the real kind, semi historical type settings around the turn of the century then grab this book, sit down and get comfy 'cuz you won't be puutting this down til you're done

posted by romFrankenstein5 on September 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

Wow..... what an amazing book! I amaddicted to sci fi teen novels and took a chance on this one. Could barrly put it down!!! Amaxing and well writtrn! Ending was spectacular! Kudos to this author

posted by Jesscook3 on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Great Book

    Wow..... what an amazing book! I amaddicted to sci fi teen novels and took a chance on this one. Could barrly put it down!!! Amaxing and well writtrn! Ending was spectacular! Kudos to this author

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Depressing

    I wanted to stop reading this book about 20 pages in, but then I just had to find out what happened next. In the end, I felt very depressed, not because the story was not good, but because the story was so sad. I love to read books over and over, but this, I will not read again. You may not find it depressing like I did. It did keep my attention and was kind of predictable, but over all, it was a good story.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Good read

    This is a good story that's well written but it's not the scary kind, and scary is what I was hoping for. Call me old fashioned.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    RONNY TSUNAMI RECCOMENDS THIS BOOK

    This book is phenomenal and is very detailed to the point where i felt like i could imagine every scene in my head, as if i was watching a movie! The reason i didnt give it 5 stars was because the beginning started off great, but then a large portion of the middle of the book went too much into detail of other things, and i thought it would never get back to what the book was really about! But most of all, the book is easy to read and takes you on an emotional rollercoaster! Its a must read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Mhe

    I heard it was good so I thought I had to check it out but it wasnt the great as it was thought out to be..kinda made me sick to everything that happened, and I didnt like the ending but it wasnt bad

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Well written but not the most interesting story

    When the book began, it was a little misleading of a setup. It starts in a very interesting way but then goes off into something very different, basically throwing the ghost piece aside. I didn't feel the plot of this book deserved to be turned into a novel - it would have been better suited as a short story. I like the concept of rehashing life events after death, but I think rehashing mainly sadness made for a a less interesting read than something more positive. I gave this a 3 because it is well written in that it paints good picture, it's just not that interesting. Mostly a slow and depressing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Had a difficult time getting into the book and stopped reading t

    Had a difficult time getting into the book and stopped reading to move on to other books that piqued my interest. After reading other reviews I will consider giving it another chance as many say that it started slow but was a great story. Three stars given as a neutral response.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Good

    This was slow taking off,but the last few chapters made up for the slow start. I did consider putting it down and not finishing, but am glad I finished it. Others have commented that it was too predictable....I didn't see that ending coming, and the author did an excellent job with the twists and turns with the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Started off great

    The begining pulled me in, but when the story went back to the early 1900s it was a bit slower. Good story, but not written to keep you wondering about what will happen next. I'd have given it another half star if I could, since the ending was very unpredictable. "Border Crossings" by this author was much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was a decent book. Well worth less than 2 dollars. Kept me

    This was a decent book. Well worth less than 2 dollars. Kept me interested, wanted to know what was going to happen.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    An enjoyable read

    An interesting perspective on life and afterlife

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Interesting storyline

    Interesting, with some good twists. Serious need of editing, though. Grammatical errors and poor construction was at times quite distracting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    ok

    the book started off very slow. After i got into about 100 or so pages it got good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Dark

    This isn't the type of ghost story that I was expecting. It is a good but very dark story. It does start off a little slow but stick with it. Once I got into the story I didn't want to stop reading because I wanted to learn more about tje characters. Like I said before just beware it is a a good story but very DARK.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This was a very interesting story, and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to curl up with a good book. I look forward to reading another book by Mr. Weems.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    it was good

    enjoyed it and loved how it had atwisted ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    A Surprisingly Okay Read! Details to the surprise inside!

    So, iGot this book as a freebie and based on the title and description made all kinds of assumptions about the story, the direction, the outcome, etc. All of that was put on hold by the 2nd or 3rd chapter. As I read further, I just wasn't sure this was the book for me. Honestly, I only got halfway through it because I'd already invested the time and wanted to know how it ended. By the time I'd actually finished the book, I was surprised to find I actually cared what had happened to the characters. I was interested in their secret motivations.
    When I finished the book, I fully appreciated the journey and felt humbled by the subject matter. I've recommended it to friends because some of the concepts here are thought provocative but familiar. All in all, not a bad read. That'll do book ... that'll do.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Worth a look.

    Had a very slow start and about 200 pages in the beginning and middle could have been deleted. However, interesting twist at the end, and the last 150 pages I could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2011

    Great!

    An easy read, but nonetheless pretty powerful. The dialogue rings true as well as accurate. The story never once got confusing, as some tend to do when introducing flashbacks/forwards. So sad, but hauntingly real. Give it a shot..promise you won't be disappointed!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3