Customer Reviews for

The Ghosts of Varner Creek

Average Rating 4
( 462 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(233)

4 Star

(143)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Awesome read

This is a well written story that twists and winds and leads the reader on a roller coaster ride of the main characters life and family horrors. The ending has a great twist that rips at your heart and wraps all the threads up compleatly if not tragically. Read it duri...
This is a well written story that twists and winds and leads the reader on a roller coaster ride of the main characters life and family horrors. The ending has a great twist that rips at your heart and wraps all the threads up compleatly if not tragically. Read it during our recent total blackout and it was a nice way to spend a quiet dark night. If you like mild horror of the real kind, semi historical type settings around the turn of the century then grab this book, sit down and get comfy 'cuz you won't be puutting this down til you're done

posted by romFrankenstein5 on September 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great Book

Wow..... what an amazing book! I amaddicted to sci fi teen novels and took a chance on this one. Could barrly put it down!!! Amaxing and well writtrn! Ending was spectacular! Kudos to this author

posted by Jesscook3 on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    Awesome read

    This is a well written story that twists and winds and leads the reader on a roller coaster ride of the main characters life and family horrors. The ending has a great twist that rips at your heart and wraps all the threads up compleatly if not tragically. Read it during our recent total blackout and it was a nice way to spend a quiet dark night. If you like mild horror of the real kind, semi historical type settings around the turn of the century then grab this book, sit down and get comfy 'cuz you won't be puutting this down til you're done

    20 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Interesting story

    The characters came across as real people and the philosophy about the afterlife rings true

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Creatively written

    Don't expect a typical ghost story. Ghosts play a special role, allowing this exploration of the human condition to unfold. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    a want to keep reading book!

    You'll find the ending a head shaker and a wow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    New perspective...

    Deals with some harsh family issues. But written from a child's perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Dark, twisted, and wonderfully unpredictable!

    After making it through a slow beginning, I couldn't read this book fast enough!! It took me a while to connect family ties, and the lines between flashback, senility, and the afterlife...but once I did, a rich and inventive story unfolded! Just when I thought I had it all figured out, a new twist was thrown at me, and I was forced to rethink everything!

    Moreover, a book of this length and quality is FREE? I would have paid for this. It was a blissful break from the all-too-ephemeral free short stories, and it's never, ever leaving my nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A good read

    While sad and kind of depressing, this story is realistic and the reader can really connect with the characters. It was definitely a page-turner and I couldn't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Not your normal ghost

    Interesting twist to the normal ghost story. It mmade me want to keep reading after the first 20 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Very good

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Great read

    This was the second book I have read of Michael Weems and they both were excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    abigailparker0123123@gmail.com

    Add me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Very Good Read

    I was pleasantly surprised with this book. The characters were well developed, but not overly so. The story line had many twists and turns, with dashes of humor and the ending was a surprise. This is the first book that I have read by Michael Weems, but will not be the last.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Not your usual ghost story

    Keeps you till the very end, disturbing in a tastful execution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Very good-recommended

    This was a very good suspensful story...kept my interest which can be hard to do...bittersweet, emotional and eerie!...would love to read more from this authot...worthwhile free read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Good one

    I really enjoyed this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Great

    Wonderful well written story that makes you feel like your on an emotional rollercoaster

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Pretty good

    It had enougrh action, mystry to keep me interested...if ya know me at all that's saying something! Lol

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    When Sol Mayfield passes away at the age of 87 ¿ he is finally


    When Sol Mayfield passes away at the age of 87 – he is finally given the answers that have weighed heavily on his mind and heart for most of his life.

    The Ghosts of Varner Creek is well worth the time to read: please take time to get through a few of the slower parts of the book’s narrative. At first I was wondering why we had a glimpse as far back as how his Mama and Pap eventually married. With that bit of information – I was able to read on and sadly, had a gut feeling as to where the book was headed. As Sarah and Sol watch events unfold, a tear graced my cheek – and I understood and kept reading hoping for the characters sake, I was wrong.

    In the more period parts of the book – it was nice to go back to a simple time when boys found adventures in the oddest places imaginable – like an armadillo hole!

    A solid 3.75stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Tiggo

    This was a great read for a free book! There's a family history lesson which causes the book to get a little slow temporarily, but it is necessary for the plot and the ending! Wouldn't consider it a horror, which is the genre I found this in... It definitely has some creepy, sad, and moving patrts! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Nice Read

    I enjoyed this tale, especially the way the author takes you back to the times before modern technology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8