Customer Reviews for

The Ghoul Next Door (Ghost Hunter Mystery Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 7 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I love this entire series, it is eerie and creepy and keeps you

    I love this entire series, it is eerie and creepy and keeps you reading. I am a very picky person when it comes to books, but I love these. They are just the right amount of horror and a back story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    Great Book! No, surprise¿ I love all her books! Both adult serie

    Great Book! No, surprise… I love all her books! Both adult series are wonderful!

    I do have one complaint…

    SPOILER ALERT! It bothered me how she acted about seeing Steven again. Like she had been the one left totally
    distraught over the break-up with him. And, being around him, brought up the pain of losing him. She left him! She was already having a
    relationship with Heath. And, she mentions Stevens charter flaws that are not evident in the novels that included him. He was written as a
    good guy. (I have to admit it drove me a little crazy, in the book where she is bordering on cheating on Steven). As much as I love ALL
    her books. MJ's school girl, teenage attitude about the whole thing, was hard to read. I couldn't wait to get to the next part that was not
    about her thinking she made a mistake!  Thankfully once you get further along she snaps out of it & it is again the ghost hunter I love! I
    know he is based on a friend & she tells you all about it in the acknowledgements. It's very sad. And, I am sorry… But, this just wasn't
    along the lines of how MJ has acted throughout all her novels. And, this made it hard to decide between 4 or 5 stars. Because I still really
    enjoyed the book & it was very good! Took me totally by surprise! Thankfully the wishy washy attitude did not take up TOO much of the
    novel.

    I did like learning more about her Dad. I don't remember him really being mentioned in previous novels.

    I can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    You will like this book

    I have read all of these book and really think other will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Great Book!!!

    This is a must read. If you like to have the suspense this book is for you. If you like the hair on your neck to stand up this book is for you. I could not put this book down it was so good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    I love this series

    I just love this series I couldn't get enough. Once I started reading I had to read them all. I can't wait until the new one comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Stimulating, Bittersweet Mystery

    The thoughts of ghouls can be frightening, but when psychic medium M. J. Holliday and her crew are on the job it can be oh so much more. M. J., her boyfriend, Heath, and her best friend, Gilley, return to Boston for a well-deserved rest from their TV show, Ghoul Getters. The rest doesn’t last long when M. J.’s ex, Steven, ask for her help. It’s seems his fiancée’s brother, Luke, is being possessed by a sinister spirit. Reluctant at first, M. J. agrees and the group sets up surveillance equipment to observe Luke while he sleeps. He wanders out during the night, returning covered in blood. They fear he’s been attacked, but quickly learn a young woman was murdered in the neighborhood and Luke is the prime suspect. M. J. and the crew must stop the menacing poltergeist before more lives are lost. In addition, M. J. has to deal with her feelings for Heath, as well as returning feelings for Steven. THE GHOUL NEXT DOOR offers a vast array of intrigue for readers from cozy mystery, paranormal, romance and even a bit of humor. Author Victoria Laurie blends all the elements together for a well-balanced entertaining read that will be hard to put down. The core cast of characters, including the protagonist, are delightful, zany and realistic. Their interaction flows smoothly and makes for interesting twists and turns. Laurie’s eye for detail and extensive research adds to the story’s depth. While this is the eighth installment in the series, it can be read on its own. New readers won’t be left in the dark and returning fans won’t be overwhelmed by too much repeated information. I found THE GHOUL NEXT DOOR to be a stimulating bittersweet mystery that held my attention from beginning to end with moments of hair-raising surprises along the way. This is a fun cozy murder mystery that will have you believing in the paranormal. FTC Full Disclosure - This book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    LOVE IT!

    I look forward to her new books each and every time! My parents and sister all read these books. Characters are wonderful and story line is fun and exciting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I've just finished reading "The Ghoul Next Door" and e

    I've just finished reading "The Ghoul Next Door" and enjoyed it enormously! Victoria Laurie has done an exemplary job in developing both her characters and their lives through the eight books in the series. This book is a natural progression in the series. The writing and the characters are at a new level of maturity. I enjoyed that MJ is finally back in Boston and we see some of the original supporting characters returning. I also like how the author unlike others has brought some earlier threads together in this book. (Don't worry, no spoilers!) I recommend this book to all who enjoy a good paranormal mystery. My only regret is that I'll have to wait another year and a half for the next story! Also, while this story works well as a stand alone tale, the reader will appreciate and enjoy it more if the earlier books have been read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Onyx

    He bore down upon a young buck, leaping up he bite the bucks hind quarters earning himself a swift kick, but he held on. The buck fell and he finished it over by snapping its neck with his powerful jaws.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Great!!

    Love thus series! Can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Victoria Laurie always brings readers a good scary mystery. Her

    Victoria Laurie always brings readers a good scary mystery. Her latest in the Ghost Hunter series, The Ghoul Next Door doesn't deviate from the pattern. The creepers are a little closer to home in this one and Laurie brings back a past lover to add another dimension to the story. Readers who love paranormal cozies will fall in love with this one. Laurie does a great job of adding some pretty scary situations into this book, so readers beware... this one just might scare the pants off of ya! It's paranormal + mystery and it = a great read!

    What I liked:

    I like the author's commitment to her subject in this series. The author, Victoria Laurie is a psychic and she knows her stuff. That's what gives this series a ring of authenticity that other writers can't quite pull off with their paranormal cozies. Laurie uses a lot of over the top hijinks and a bit of humor as well, to bring it altogether. Basically, I like her style of writing in the Ghost Hunter series and especially in this book. She makes the sometimes unbelieveable seem like par for the course. That takes some talent.

    As always M.J. is a great heroine. I liked the fact that she was having a bit of personal history making things difficult in this one. She and her boyfriend Heath are asked for help from her ex. which leads to a bit of confusion on M.J.'s part, that I thought made her seem more like a real person. Like everyone else that has issues in their lives. It made her easier to relate to and maybe even a bit more normal. Not that, that is necessary. In a paranormal cozy it's usually the weirder the better. But liked seeing her in a realistic situation.

    The mystery in this one was a bit on the creepy side. Who wants to think of someone being possessed and possibly committing murder because of it? But it certainly made for some good reading. I liked Luke and I was really worried about what was going on with him. He was a good character. There was a lot going on in this one but Laurie has a knack for pulling it altogether so that the reader doesn't have a problem figuring out how she got there, when the big reveal comes. I liked the way the clues were placed and the way M.J. sorted them out in her head. Probably my favorite of this series so far.

    What I didn't like:

    Heath and M.J. seemed to take a bit of time figuring out just how serious this case really was. I felt like maybe they weren't taking things as seriously as they should have and were putting themselves in more danger by showing more attention to Gilley's feelings than was necessary. It's a beastie of the worst kind... what's more important than that?

    Bottom Line:

    Despite the lack of urgency in the first part of the book. I still really enjoyed this one. It is one of the best of the series and I think readers will enjoy M.J. getting back to her roots and her struggles with the mystery, and her personal life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    The Ghoul Next Door is the 8th book in the Ghost Hunter Mystery

    The Ghoul Next Door is the 8th book in the Ghost Hunter Mystery series.

    This is the 5th book I have read in the series and must say I think it is the best. A very engaging and exciting book.

    M.J., her boyfriend Heath and Gil have just returned from overseas after filming some shows for their Ghoul Getters TV series and looking forward to relaxing before they need to start work on the next season.

    But before they can Steven, M.J.'s ex boyfriend, stops by and asks for their help with his fiancée's brother, Luke, is apparently possessed by an evil spirit. M.J. is all for saying no to helping, but Heath and Gil change her mind. It seems Luke has some kind of spirit that is occupying his mind and can barely function and has moved in with his sister. M.J. and Heath set up their cameras to watch Luke as he tries to sleep. Hopefully they will be able to get some clue as to what kind of spirit it is. As they watching Luke sleep, it suddenly gets up and leaves the house. They attempt to find Luke, but can't and head back to the house. A short time later returns covered in blood. Thinking Luke had been attacked they start cleaning him up and call 911. When the police arrive, M.J. learns that there has been a girl just killed nearby. Luke is arrested for the murder and M.J. and Heath are considered as accomplices for a while. M.J. and Heath feel that Luke is innocent of the murder set off to learn more about the spirit. They soon find that there have been several murders in that area and some that have never been solved. It's when they find a connection to a certain address that M.J., Heath and Gil's lives are put in danger.

    This book is not particularly gruesome, but still will cause the hair on your neck to rise. Definitely a hard book to put down.

    Looking forward to continuing with the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2