BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Girl Who Came Home: A Novel of the Titanic

Average Rating 4
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Ever since the movie, Titanic, came out I have been obsessed wi

 Ever since the movie, Titanic, came out I have been obsessed with things Titanic.  My son even loves watching the movie, but I suspect that was just because he liked watching the ship sinking.  It wasn't until we read a kid's book about Titanic together that he realize...
 Ever since the movie, Titanic, came out I have been obsessed with things Titanic.  My son even loves watching the movie, but I suspect that was just because he liked watching the ship sinking.  It wasn't until we read a kid's book about Titanic together that he realized that it actually happened and that there were a lot of people who died.  




So anyway, when the offer to review this book came out I jumped on it!  I like the way the story is told between the events that led up to Maggie and her companions traveling on the Titanic back in 1912 and how finally sharing her story comes to affect her great-granddaughter Grace and the path that her life takes in 1982. 




There were times when I was reading about when they were all on the ship that I wanted to wring the necks of some of the first class passengers and how cavalier they were towards the third class passengers in steerage.  I would say the majority of the story was told from the 1912 perspective, as it should be, as that was when the tragedy occurred. You don't really learn much about what happened between 1912 and 1982 other than to know that Maggie survived and went on to have a family of her own. This made it kind of fun at the end when you did get a glimpse of those years. 




Though Grace wasn't involved in an ocean liner sinking, she did have tragedy befall her when she was just a little older than Maggie was while on the Titanic, and some of the things in her life paralleled Maggie's in that they were derailed for a short time before being able to put the pieces back together. 




I enjoyed the way the author used the cherry trees back in Ballysheen to represent people and how cherry blossoms figured heavily throughout Maggie's life. 




I would like to share one of my favorite passages from the book:




It was a moment Grace would never forget, watching this dignified old lady whom she loved so much, as she stared into a small case which she'd last seen when only a girl.  A lifetime of memories flooded Maggie's lined face; a lifetime of forgetting was washed away.  It was a moment of silent reflection; a moment laced with poignancy. (p70, Advance Reader's eproof of The Girl Who Came Home).

posted by kherbrand on April 12, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Plot spoilers and kids

Between all the plot spoilers giving away every detail of the story and all the the kids using the book review site as a play room its hard to get a true review anymore. Please bn, do something with these plot spoilers and kids, please!

posted by 8888649 on May 17, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Plot spoilers and kids

    Between all the plot spoilers giving away every detail of the story and all the the kids using the book review site as a play room its hard to get a true review anymore. Please bn, do something with these plot spoilers and kids, please!

    22 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

     Ever since the movie, Titanic, came out I have been obsessed wi

     Ever since the movie, Titanic, came out I have been obsessed with things Titanic.  My son even loves watching the movie, but I suspect that was just because he liked watching the ship sinking.  It wasn't until we read a kid's book about Titanic together that he realized that it actually happened and that there were a lot of people who died.  




    So anyway, when the offer to review this book came out I jumped on it!  I like the way the story is told between the events that led up to Maggie and her companions traveling on the Titanic back in 1912 and how finally sharing her story comes to affect her great-granddaughter Grace and the path that her life takes in 1982. 




    There were times when I was reading about when they were all on the ship that I wanted to wring the necks of some of the first class passengers and how cavalier they were towards the third class passengers in steerage.  I would say the majority of the story was told from the 1912 perspective, as it should be, as that was when the tragedy occurred. You don't really learn much about what happened between 1912 and 1982 other than to know that Maggie survived and went on to have a family of her own. This made it kind of fun at the end when you did get a glimpse of those years. 




    Though Grace wasn't involved in an ocean liner sinking, she did have tragedy befall her when she was just a little older than Maggie was while on the Titanic, and some of the things in her life paralleled Maggie's in that they were derailed for a short time before being able to put the pieces back together. 




    I enjoyed the way the author used the cherry trees back in Ballysheen to represent people and how cherry blossoms figured heavily throughout Maggie's life. 




    I would like to share one of my favorite passages from the book:




    It was a moment Grace would never forget, watching this dignified old lady whom she loved so much, as she stared into a small case which she'd last seen when only a girl.  A lifetime of memories flooded Maggie's lined face; a lifetime of forgetting was washed away.  It was a moment of silent reflection; a moment laced with poignancy. (p70, Advance Reader's eproof of The Girl Who Came Home).

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Great story

    I just finished reading this book today and am so sorry the story had to end. A tale of a young girl traveling on Titanic to America with 13 fellow travelers from her village, told from the perspective of an 87 year old and her 17 year old self. I couldn't put it down. After reading it, I learned that so much of it was based on actually fact and real people woven seamlessly into a riveting tale.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    AWSOME!

    This books is awsome! A must read for Titanic lovers!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    THE GIRL WHO CAME HOME by Hazel Gaynor is a fascinating Historic

    THE GIRL WHO CAME HOME by Hazel Gaynor is a fascinating Historical Fiction set in 1912-1982 in Ireland and Chicago. A novel of the Titanic. *Inspired by true events*

    "A Voyage across the ocean becomes the odyssey of a lifetime for a young Irish woman."(From the back cover)

    Set sail on the RMS Titanic. Meet, seventeen-year-old Magggie Murphy, Grace Butler,and so many others. Some survive the iceberg, some do not. A heart wrenching tale of survival, sacrifice, unexpected reunions,secrets, second chances and new revelations.

    While, THE GIRL WHO CAME HOME, may have some inconsistency in some details,but it is in fact, fiction with actual facts included. A tale that blends fact with fiction very well, and the reader can only be in awe of the Titanic's tragic lost and the lost of so many lives. If you enjoy reading Historical Fiction and the tale of the Titanic, as so many are, than you will enjoy THE GIRL WHO CAME HOME. Very emotional tale of family, grief, lost and the secrets that some survivors bare for a lifetime. I can't say it was an enjoyable read, because, there was or is so much lost, but, it was an inspiration and glimpse into the lives of the survivors of the Titanic and the tragedy of that fateful date, April 15, 1912. Well written with engaging characters, that will tear at your heart. It has several different writing styles, including flashbacks, actual telegrams from the Titanic, letters from a lover, memories, and Maggie's private journal. Of the "Addergoole Fourteen", a small group of men and woman from a village near Killala in Co Mayo, Ireland, only 3 survived the ordeal. A great addition to any library. I would recommend this tale of so much lost, grief and survival. Well written! Received for an honest review.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: Sweet

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2014

    Fabulous

    Loved the characters and maggies story

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    THE GIRL WHO CAME HOME by Hazel Gaynor appealed to my intellec

    THE GIRL WHO CAME HOME by Hazel Gaynor appealed to my intellect as well as my emotions and is the most satisfying compelling novel I have read in quite some time. I enjoyed the unfolding of the story and the introduction of the characters with as much anticipation and pleasure as I've had from having a rosebud open into full bloom.To tell you my description of the roses thorns, the silky feel of the petals and the tantalizing perfume would be nothing compared to the actual experience. As you turn the pages, enjoy having this book bloom for you.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Review

    I thought this was a great read. I highly recommend it. Knowing that Titanic was such a terrible tragedy I enjoyed the storyline created by this author.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Awesome

    This book was so inspiring it held me to my nook the whoe ltime

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Bittersweet - Inspired by true events, blending of facts and fiction

    The GIRL WHO CAME HOME is a story about the Titanic with the main character, Maggie, a seventeen year old woman leaving her sweetheart behind in Ireland to travel to a new life in America, along with 13 others in the little village.

    Having led a sheltered life, there were many experiences while on board which were described in depth.

    Maggie was a young Irish woman in 1912 about to travel on the ill-fated Titanic and is intertwined with Grace her granddaughter in 1982. Maggie’s story motivates Grace to move on with flashbacks between 1912 and 1982, with multiple points of view from travelers of the same Irish village.

    When her great-grandmother Maggie shares the painful secret about Titanic that she's harbored for almost a lifetime, the revelation gives Grace new direction—and leads both her and Maggie to unexpected reunions with those they thought lost long ago.

    A fictional account inspired by a real group of travelers who left Ireland to visit relatives in America. Maggie's parents have both died and her aunt Kathleen has come to Ireland, taking Maggie back to Chicago with her. While there, others have decided to join them in making the journey. Maggie is sad to be leaving her boyfriend, Seamus, behind. His father is sick so he won't be able to come, but tells her he'll be waiting for her to come home.

    Lucky Harry, and Grace Butler, Maggie's great-granddaughter are also part of the story, as Harry is one of the stewards on the ship --Maggie and her friends get to know and later helps her get into one of the last lifeboats to leave. Grace's story takes place in Illinois in 1982. Grace's life was going well until her father died. She left college and her boyfriend, Jimmy, to help her mother. Maggie starts to help her get her life back, starting with telling her about her journey on the Titanic, a story she has never told anyone. Learning her great-grandmother's story gives Grace the courage to move on with her life.

    When disaster strikes, Maggie is one of the few passengers in steerage to survive. Waking up alone in a New York hospital, she vows never to speak of the terror and panic of that fateful night again.

    Grace was able to learn what was important to her and to go for it before it was too late and Maggie was able to do something she longed to do and was able to make peace. I did enjoy the section at the end of the book as the author shares the story behind the book and which parts were based on fact.

    Inspired by true events, THE GIRL WHO CAME HOME, blends fact and fiction, exploring the Titanic tragedy's impact and its lasting repercussions on survivors and their descendants, which was bittersweet.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Won't open!

    Mine won't open! Read the sample just fine, then once I paid for th full book, I can't read anymore.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Wont't open!!

    This book sounds interesting but I can't open! It says it downlaod but when I try to open it, NOTHING!! How can I get my $ back???

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Sounds like a great book...

    It's a shame i won't be able to read it. It won't open! :-(

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Anonymus

    I WAS UNABLE TO READ BECAUSE I ONLY RECEIVED THE COVER OF THE BOOK-NO READING PAGES!!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    This is an exceptionally written book!  It is the story about a

    This is an exceptionally written book!  It is the story about a group of people from a small village in Ireland who make the decision to sail to America to begin new lives.  They are both excited and nervous about sailing on Titanic, the largest and most amazing ship of the time.  The story not only focuses on the actual sinking of the ship, but on this group's preparation prior to leaving Ireland, the bonds formed between each member of the group, and one of the survivors, Maggie, as she tells her story to her great-granddaughter.  It is definitely a must-read!  I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book!      

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Ripoff!

    Same as others... After paying for the full version, the book will NOT open! Are you listening, Barnes & Noble?

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    Disappointed

    The book won't open.
























    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    Excellent!

    I really enjoyed this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    With ¿The Girl Who Came Home,¿ Hazel Gaynor takes readers on an

    With “The Girl Who Came Home,” Hazel Gaynor takes readers on an incredible journey through time, exploring how the effects of one tragic event reverberates for generations. As a seventeen-year-old girl, Maggie Murphy leaves her home of Ballysheen, Ireland with thirteen others from her village to travel to America onboard the Titanic. Harry Walsh, a young steward assigned to the steerage deck, likewise departs from his own hometown of Southampton, England and does his best to take care of the third-class passengers—Maggie and her companions among them. As the catastrophic events of April 14 and 15, 1912 unfold, the lives of each passenger are irrevocably changed, and Maggie vows never to speak of the ill-fated ship afterward. Until, that is, her great-granddaughter’s twenty-first birthday—seventy years to the day that the Titanic sank into the ocean depths. Telling her story at long last sets into motion a chain of events that will again change lives, perhaps this time for the better.

    Gaynor crafts a poignant and engaging tale sure to delight and mesmerize fans of historical fiction and light romance. The novel, based on true historical persons and told partly in epistolary format, develops through a series of flashbacks and alternates between the years 1912 and 1982, interweaving the lives of the various characters in an unforgettable saga. Appended to the story is a section entitled “P.S.”, which includes a short author bio, the story behind the novel, a glossary of Irish terms with pronunciations, and sixteen Reading Group Discussion Questions to be pondered after reading the novel in its entirety.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Boring

    To much of a romance book

    1 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6